Casa Verdi - Private Room - n. 5Casa Verdi - Private Room - n. 5
Casa Verdi - Centro Città - Camera Privata n.5
Casa Verdi - Centro Città - Camera Privata n.5

Private room

4 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The apartment is spacious with high ceilings. It was built in the early twentieth century and has been tastefully renovated. It’s located in the heart of the city centre, easily reachable by public transport. The metro station (Stesicoro) which you can use to explore the interesting outskirts of Catania and the airport shuttle bus stops (Trento and Stesicoro) are within a few minutes walking distance. Notable sights in the immediate surroundings are the Via Etnea as well as the ancient market.

The space

This project consists of building an eco-sustainable urban space where travelers, globetrotters, remote workers and backpackers can live, eat, talk, work and create. We are planning on being sustainable in the first place, offering a pleasant place to live and sleep at no more than the cost of our rent. Once we reach this objective, we would like to open a home restaurant as we all love food and chatting :) (and had worked and studied as chef and waiters for many years). Finally we will be able to start with the third phase, which is to be an e-learning centre helping people to up-skill and learn new things.

The house is set to be a creative and cultural space for sharing, studying, having fun eating and getting to know each other. Four of the five rooms were furnished to host people, whereas the fifth, the main, and the terrace are common areas for sharing. Bright, big and comfortable, the rooms are decorated with wonderful antique flooring and typical high vaulted ceilings and equipped with air conditioning and heating. There are double beds and it’s always possible to add a single bed for a little price. There are sunny balconies, three bathrooms, one with disability access, two of them have showers.

The building was built at the beginning of the 900’s, the private terrace is extremely beautiful and peaceful. You are welcome to enjoy it.

Guest access

You are at home, you can use the common areas and the kitchen, just enjoy, chill and respect the space and other people around you (be quiet after midnight:)).

Interaction with guests

We will share the house, I live with Michela, Davide, Valerio, Emanuele and Laura, we share a lot of our time in the house together reading, talking, being creative and studying.. you'll be very welcome if you want to share something of yourself with us :).

According to my previous experiences interaction is the best part of using Airbnb.

Other things to note

If you want to do breakfast here it is possible at a little cost that we can arrange (depends on the kind of breakfast you want: Italian, international, vegetarian,...).
Any advice on quantity as well as on preferences will be helpful as we try to avoid waste.

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 2.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Flexible
Room type: Private room


Extra people £14 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £9
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price £50 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible

- Quiet after midnight


Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

1 night minimum stay

14 Reviews

Check In
Kat User Profile
August 2017
it is an impressive flat and building which the hosts styled and decorated with so much love. everything is spacious and you will find a huge kitchen, clean bathrooms and a nice terrace. the flat is in the middle of the centre, quiet though. it is only 1 minute away from the daily market with local and fresh food and products. the hosts are really helpful and friendly. we can absolutely recommend casa verdi to everybody who wants to explore beautiful catania. thank you! our kids loved that place, too. we will for sure come back.

Rachel User Profile
August 2017
Santo, Guiseppe and Davide made our stay in Catania very memorable. The hostel is perfectly located and the rooms are simply amazing with their high ceilings. We also enjoyed sitting out on the balcony with a fresh coffee in the morning and received some great recommendations for where to go!

Alex User Profile
July 2017
An adorable place with a lot of heart and love put into it. You can tell that Santo and his team are thinking of all the small details here. They kept the place impeccably clean, provide nice breakfast options and are just very kind genuine people. Plue the Wifi was amazing especially for Sicily, great for remote working. The room was gorgeous, very large ceilings and strong aircon. Has a very unqiue vibe to it that makes you feel like you're living a true italian lifestyle with all the comforts of home. Thanks for the fun Santo.

Surya User Profile
June 2017
This was probably the worst place I've stayed through Airbnb to date. This hostel was very poorly run. The two people in charge had no idea about simple things like taxi services in Catania. They were disorganised and unable to help us checkout on time in the morning as they were nowhere to be found, which was a first. To their credit, when we left our bags in the lounge space to collect again before we left to the airport, they answered the door but we spent most of the day thinking they wouldn't open the door as they'd be out. Re: cleanliness: The towels were not clean despite being washed - they stunk of oil. The bathroom had one of the most passive aggressive signs I've seen "don't judge if you can't do better", which left me feeling like I couldn't leave an honest review. I wouldn't waste the money on this place. The building itself was quite pretty and with some better organised staff, I can see it improving.
Santo User ProfileSanto is a superhost.
Response from Santo:
Ciao Surya, sorry for making you feel bad in Casa Verdi, this really means a lot for us, we failed our mission for the first time since we started the project and we are very upset. I have to admit that the day you arrived we were only two instead of five, it was Saturday and the house was very busy. We need surely to improve on this point..being said that, I would like to add something for clarification: 1. You guys were very upset about the room because it was still untidy when you arrived. It was surely a bad start. You have to admit that you arrived straight away after the reservation (in 30´) and so I think you should be more reasonable on this point next time. The Airbnb community is growing steady because more and more people are renouncing to some costly standards in exchange for a reasonable rate. The whole point is choosing to be reasonable and flexible on something which is not to consider a must. It is a classic win-win situation. 2. We were doing another check in at the time you arrived, you were in a hurry and this made us on the pressure, our first thought, when you asked for a taxi, went to (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN), I do not see any problem with it. 3. About the check out process, we explained you could check out flexible the next morning and just leave the keys on the desk. You did not mention any particular need, so you should not complain if nobody was awake at 8 on Sunday (this is one of the standards you should renounce if you want to keep paying less than €15 per person for a same day booking in June) 4. The towels are all clean, we really care about it. Unfortunately, we stained some with a red towel once. We decided not to bin those ones despite they look redish because it would be a real waste. We will buy some as soon as possible and use them for ourselves sorry. 5. Thanks for the passive aggressive tip we never thought about it :) we changed it for "if you can do better, don´t judge and do it! :)". We relly hope to improve and not perform so badly anymore. Thanks for reviewing us!
June 2017

Alexandre User Profile
May 2017
My best Airbnb experience by far! The photos can not describe the historical beauty of this place nor its ambience, 200 m2 x 5m height ceiling to share, 5 private rooms, a very large common room and the inside yard terrace, there are 2 bathrooms on the corridor and a large well furnished kitchen, easy to access. I ve always booked entire flats so far holding it to my privacy, from now on I will look for this kind of places. Valerio, Davide, Santo, Michaela and not at last Chiara, are young, easy going, relaxed, ready to answer to all your questions. I had a complete, wonderful 4 days in Sicily. It helps if you are also cool I am already looking to go back ASAP. Very good vibes.

Emanuela User Profile
May 2017
Santo &Co have an amazing flat, clean and astonishingly beautiful. They are all really nice and welcoming. Strongly suggested!

Łukasz User Profile
May 2017
Everything is in Italian style! I recomend it!

This host has 43 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
IrelandJoined in January 2015
Santo User ProfileSanto is a superhost.

I 'm a curious guy who can't stop to marvel at life. For now, I live in Catania where I just wish to meet the greatest number of people and relate to them in order to let my mind to travel and expand :)

Languages: English, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Santo’s place.
Emanuele helps host.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings