Skip to content
Lounge DinerBunk Room
The Little Black Barn overlooking Curio Bay
The Little Black Barn overlooking Curio Bay
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Our Little Black Barn is a tiny house that is small but beautifully formed! It has stunning views over the Bay and is only minutes walk to the beach where dolphins surf the waves in summer and Yellow Eyed penguins nestle in the flax at the Petrified Forest.

The space

Three cozy beds with two bathrooms and an outside shower for washing the sand off. North facing deck to maxamise sun and views. The batch is near the beach, forest and bush walks. Swim with dolphins in summer and view penguins all year round, we think this wild and rugged place is pretty special!

Guest access

This is a holiday house so you have access to the whole space.

Other things to note

Curio is quite remote so it is best to bring provisions, your nearest supermarket would be Invercargill or Gore both an hours drive. There are two local cafes and a beach shop otherwise there a dairy, tavern with bistro and a garage 30 mins away in Tokanui.


Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £5
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 bunk bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 10AM

- No shoes inside please:)
- Thank you for not smoking


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

27 Reviews

Check In
John User Profile
November 2017
This is a remote, gorgeous, peaceful, relaxing spot. We loved seeing and hearing the sheep, and the views are spectacular. The cottage is beautifully appointed and has plenty of space but also has a cozy feel to it. A wonderful place.

Susanna User Profile
October 2017
The little black barn was probably one of the most stylish and coziest places that I stayed in my month in New Zealand. The quality of all the furnishings was very high and even though the wind was *howling* around the place the night I was there, it couldn't be felt inside, which stayed warm. The one quite significant downside was that when I arrived it was to a space that hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests. Bottles and trash, dirty bathrooms, slept in beds.. I had been particularly looking forward to this spot and it felt awful to arrive to that. Sheila responded almost instantly though and sent her cleaner up to take care of it , which she did beautifully. Unfortunately, since the weather was dreadful and there's literally nothing else for miles, that meant I had to sit in my car for more than an hour. Eventually I was able to get into the space but there was a hole where the dishwasher should have been and the clothes dryer had a broken door, rendering it impossible to use. I also had trouble trying to figure out how the oven worked, since instructions weren't evident. I totally get that mistakes do happen and sometimes things get forgotten. But my booking had been on the books for several weeks. Sheila offered to bring me a bottle of wine, which was kind but never materialized. After several days I've received a very small refund on what was quite a pricey night and I'm afraid the whole thing has left me feeling less than valued as a guest and I won't have a happy memory of my stay.
Sheila User Profile
Response from Sheila:
Hi Susanna, Thank you for your feedback. I refunded you $30 on a house that is normally 270 so I feel that was fair. We actually don't make a lot on the house, for guests I suppose it is better value when there are 6 people staying rather than 1:) As I said the cleaner is superb and there is rarely a mistake:( Guests broke the dishwasher last week and so I dashed the dishwasher to town and the dryer handle is on order... the joys of letting out one's house! However I should have mentioned that to you. I will indeed put instructions on the wall for the oven, though of course the book is there too. You are welcome to a free night if you ever come back to NZ. Enjoy the rest of your are very valued but I have to have perspective, one hour waiting for the cleaner is annoyin but what a beautiful car park:))))))) Sheila God Bless
October 2017

Charlotte User Profile
October 2017
The Black Barn is a cute little cottage in the most fantastic location on Curio Bay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Catlins. The location meant it was easy to get to all the main attractions in the area. Highly recommend taking some time to stargaze!

Perri User Profile
October 2017
Magic spot. Beautiful accommodation. Wasted a lot of time watching lambs playing!

Jane User Profile
October 2017
An awesome little house in a super spot. Housed the 5 of us perfectly.

Julia User Profile
October 2017
Absolutely perfect spot to explore the Catlins from!! A true postcard snapshot of New Zealand, we were surrounded by rolling hills and baby lambs as far as the eye could see. Excellent Airbnb for the whole family, with plenty of room to fit everyone! A must visit for any trip to the South Island/ Catlins!!

Laura User Profile
September 2017
Tidy, well designed and thoughtful Bach with everything you need for a comfortable stay, including peaceful surroundings and the most amazing views off the deck!

Tokanui, New ZealandJoined in April 2017
Sheila User Profile
Interaction with guests

I am always available on my mobile if you need help.

About Sheila

Welsh lady who married a Maori farmer.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings