Rear bedroom with single bed.
Original Richmond Stable - up the stairs
Original Richmond Stable - up the stairs
2 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
2 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The stable accommodation is upstairs at the rear of our property, set-up as a self-contained basic, quirky private retreat. The building is very old, so please only book if you appreciate that old buildings might not be as intact as new buildings. The stairs are steeper than a standard staircase - please refer to the photo for clarity. We are opposite a beautiful park and it is like sleeping in the country at night as the stable is at the back of our block, well away from traffic noise.

The space

The space is comfortable, quiet and secure. The double futon is new and very comfy. Amenities are basic and the decor is circa 1970's.

The place is very old and looks old, including the bath. It's suited to people that are not fussed about old buildings and the peccadillo's of old buildings.

Guest access

We like to greet our guests through the front door when they first arrive, which is why check-in time needs to be mutually agreeable. There is also a laneway gate into the property so you can access the stable without coming through the main house. You have access to the whole first floor of the stable, which has a bathroom and kitchen with fridge, toaster and kettle. We are also pleased for our guests to pop down to chat, ask questions, use WiFi and have a glass of wine with us.

Interaction with guests

We are keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and always available to help. You are welcome to socialise with us in the main house or use the WiFi.

Other things to note

I can sometime be flexible around check-in and check-out times.
Our two dogs live on the property, so you need to like dogs please.
The stable stairs are reasonably steep with handrails.
The building is old so there are a couple of peculiarities with taps but this will not impact on your stay or enjoyment.
There is an electric blanket on the bed and we can provide a small heater if required.
We are a quiet family and so are our neighbours.


Amenities
Laptop friendly workspace
Iron
Shampoo
Hair dryer

Prices
Extra people £6 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £6
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 5PM - 9PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We are a quiet family and appreciate the same from our guests.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - One flight of wooden stable stairs - a bit steeper than normal with handrails both sides.
Pet(s) live on property - We have two small dogs and very occasionally look after another two dogs during the day for a friend.
No parking on property - It's permit only parking on our side of the street and 4P 7am-7pm on the park side. I am happy to lend you our parking permit
Amenity limitations - Weak WiFi but you are welcome to come into the main house to use it

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

22 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
John User Profile
July 2017
Melanie and her family are wonderful hosts and were so lovely! They made sure we were warm, comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is in a great location and only a short walk to a tram stop, shops and cafes and a little park. It is a quirky little place and feels like stepping back in time, it has the idiosyncrasies that old places have, but it is very clean, good value and the beds are really comfortable! I'd definitely stay again!

Patricia User Profile
October 2017
Great!! Melanie and her family were very welcoming. She was a superb airbnb host!! Thank you
Melanie User Profile
Response from Melanie:
Thanks Patricia. Lovely hosting you!
October 2017

Mell User Profile
October 2017
Melanie is a terrific and welcoming host. She had excellent recommendations of food and places to see and was very generous with her home and smiles. We also loved staying in the stables. The bed was super comfy, the house was quiet and the bath was nice and deep, but nothing beats how priceless the wallpaper is in the bathroom. Richmond was a fun suburb to wander around and we enjoyed catching the tram down to Prahran up to Fitzroy to explore. What a great trip.
Melanie User Profile
Response from Melanie:
Thanks Mell, great to host you and both too.
October 2017

Kimberly User Profile
October 2017
Thank you Melanie for the warm welcome ! You will struggle to find a lovelier and warmer host than Melanie . Will recommend this charming loft to anyone looking for a stopover.
Melanie User Profile
Response from Melanie:
Thank you Kimberley. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
October 2017

Melanie User Profile
September 2017
The host canceled this reservation 296 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Matt User Profile
July 2017
The place was very clean and cozy, Melanie was very welcoming and hospitable, going above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay!

Benni User Profile
July 2017
Cosy stable that is great value!! Melanie is an amazing host who goes beyond to make you welcome.

Joined in August 2013
Melanie User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings