Skip to content
Take a swim. 8ft deepest. Locking fenceBrand-new Weber Grill. Two picnic tables, Kayak and paddle. (Croquet too!)
Beautiful, Historical Connecticut Home
Beautiful, Historical Connecticut Home
6 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
2 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

This beautiful country home and 11 acres are ideal for quiet family retreats and laid-back vacations. Enjoy the pool and acres of lush, green space. Take a walk or bike down to the river.

Minutes to downtown, Roxbury Country Store, and fishing and canoeing on the Shepaug River. Recognized historical home surrounded by Land Trust and plentiful parkland.

Your own corner of country land where Roxbury, Washington, and New Milford align on a certified scenic road. Includes a stable for your horse!

Guest access

The whole property is yours for the booking. The main house is yours to stay, and the fields to roam. There is an old writer's cabin we hope to soon renovate, so it will remain inaccessible until next season.

The pool is separated by a fence to safeguard young children. The pool is unheated by choice. We find people love it as an escape from summer heat.

The house is built in 1793, and I ask you treat it with a delicate touch.

No one will be living on the property while you are there.

The lawn is mowed before 3pm on Fridays and the fields too every other Sunday in the summer. Pool is also cleaned and maintained on Fridays before 3pm.

If you desire privacy, I will work with you and my team to schedule pool and lawn around your convenience.

Air conditioning in master bedroom only. Fans in the two additional bedrooms. The downstairs tends to stay cool.

In the colonial fashion, our two stairwells are very steep. This allows maximum use of space, however makes the listing inadvisable for grandparents, or guests who have difficulty walking. All bedrooms are on the second floor. The house is not handicap accessible.

Interaction with guests

When you'd like to book, please ask me any questions, and introduce yourself and your party. I want to ensure this listing is your perfect match, to plan ahead should you have specific requests.

I plan to greet each party, show you around, help you move in. Occasionally I am due elsewhere, and will coordinate with you, and my neighbors to ensure a comfortable checkin.

Please write me during your stay. If you have any doubts or minor issues, tell me while you're there. I may be able to fix it before you depart, and ensure the rest of your stay is even more enjoyable.

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo
Prices
Extra people £31 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee £96
Security Deposit £385
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 couch, 1 floor mattress
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 1PM

Please let me know how many people will be staying.
For every adult after four adults, there is a charge of $40.
For every adult or child after 6 people, there is a $40 charge (adults or children). I will help to work this out in booking.

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 3 nights.

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kagiso User Profile
September 2017
Lovely place! We had a great time. I would def stay here again.

John User Profile
August 2017
Amazing old (1700's) historic house with beautiful pool and room to run around. Nice patio with gas BBQ.

Lori User Profile
August 2017
My family had a really great week at Nick's place. The kids loved the pool and the wildlife (frogs, grasshoppers, wild turkeys) as well as access to Netflix. We appreciated the strong wifi access. We enjoyed eating dinner outside on the patio and short drives to town and to hiking. It must be stated that this is a very special house, that because of its historic nature, some of the windows don't open/shut completely, and the staircase is very steep and narrow. The children (ranging from 8 years old to 2 years old) navigated the steps just fine, but my mother and mother-in-law both had trouble going up and down the stairs. We learned to appreciate the unique quirks about the house and loved the beautiful decor. We really enjoyed our stay.

Adina User Profile
August 2017
This property far exceeded any of our expectations. Nick was a pleasure to work with and the house was outstanding! The house was superclean and had such a wonderful living space both inside and outside. The house had so much character!

Ryan User Profile
July 2017
My wife and two kids (age 3 and 6) went to Nick's place for a long weekend. We all had a fantastic time. The neighborhood is scenic and the house is secluded offering total privacy. The pool out back was the highlight of our trip. Our kids really enjoyed it. Our youngest isn't a swimmer yet, so he spent his time on the steps into the shallow end playing with toys that Nick made available. The house's architectural details and furnishings are charming. The property is totally safe for kids. There were lots of fun things for our kids to safely explore. This beautiful old home has a lot of history. Nick and his family have taken good care of it. We absolutely recommend a stay here.

Courtney User Profile
July 2017
Gorgeous property, amazing host, the photos don't do it justice!

Angela User Profile
July 2017
Nicholas's place was very peaceful, perfect for a quiet weekend away from the city. It's best to have a car if you are planning to have dinner outside or head out for some groceries. The pool was amazing and the kitchen is full-equipped with everything you'll need to cook. You can also watch Netflix if you feel like staying in. Totally recommend this place :)

Fairfield, California, United StatesJoined in August 2014
Nick User Profile

Hello! I'm excited to meet you, and to ensure that you have a great stay at my place. Brooklyn is a whole world of mysteries and possibilities; l look forward to guiding you through the journey...

I enjoy reading, writing, swimming, exploring, sharing new experiences, and meeting new people. Maybe one of them could be you!

I lived in the Philippines before New York City, where I worked as the 1st Assistant Director and Screenwriter on a variety of Chinese language productions. Though my Mandarin is out of practice, I also served as a translator and interpreter between cast and crew in both Chinese and English.

I studied Chinese Language at Oberlin College, and Film at New York University Tisch.

After spending time in China and experiencing the restriction of internet censorship, I was inspired to learn SEO and discover ways to find and be found on search engines. I now work at BrandYourself, a tech startup which helps individuals and small businesses promote themselves and be found online.

I currently work as a writer, director, and photographer in Greater NYC.

Languages: English, 中文
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings