Artsy room: Central location, Best for Fringe

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Artsy room locates at the heart of Edinburgh Old Town.

Perfect location to explore Edinburgh during summer. Next to Edinburgh fringe venues.

Free Wifi and laundary.

The space

Walking: Right next to the University of Edinburgh. 5 minutes walk to the Scottish National Museum. 10 minutes to Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, Arthur's Seat. 13 minutes to Princes Street.

Direct buses to Stockbridge, Dean Village, Royal Botanic Garden.

Guest access

I will be providing tea and other cooking essentials.

Supermarkets: 2 minutes walk to Chinese supermarkets, Tesco.

Restaurants: Surrounding by various cuisines. (Maps are provided)

Interaction with guests

I will be providing a list of restaurants (my favourites) and other hidden locations to visit in Edinburgh.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room


Extra people £10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £17
Security Deposit £80
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price £60 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card

2 nights minimum stay

7 Reviews

Check In
Caroline User Profile
August 2017
We were in town for fringe, and Jiamins place was central enough for us to be within walking distance. But we were never really properly welcomed into the flat, there were other people staying there who told us they were also guests, so it felt a bit more like a hostel than anything else. The bathroom was also a bit messy. The listing should also note that there are no towels available for guests.
Jiamin User Profile
Response from Jiamin:
Dear caroline, sorry if Catherine couldn't show you around during your stay. August is a busy month for edinburgh. There are exams for students and the fringe. Catherine has send her regards. If you had any questions, you could have send it over messages. Cat and I are more than happy to recommend any restaurants and places to go. Regarding other guests in the flat, again, august is a very busy month. All the rooms are in high demand for people around the world. And I am sorry if other guests made the bathroom a bit messy. Regarding the towels, we do have that provided for guests. We clean it everyday so maybe Catherine didn't put it in the room on the first day. If there were more communications I believe your stay could have been more pleasant. Sorry for that.
August 2017

Larry User Profile
July 2017
The room itself is 10 minutes walk away from the famous Edinburgh old town. And if you want to visit the university of Edinburgh it's only few minutes away. Although it was a little room and should be big enough for 1-2 travelers. Catherine gave me a warm welcome and the roommate living here is nice and even shared her dinner with me. Good for budget travelers and easy for ppl want to explore Edinburgh :)

Ed User Profile
July 2017
Great little basic room with nice natural light. Sharing with other residents, who were approachable and respectable. Nice safe area close to some great restaurants. The original host couldn't make it but was communicative about access and location. Would stay again!

Betül User Profile
July 2017
Jiamin was really nice with me, she helped to find place, very smiley.The location is also nice. but my previous B&B experiences were better because the room, the bathroom were very dirty. I asked her to clean and she cleaned. but even this was not enough there were hairy razors in the shower. Maybe it is okey for other people because the location and price are convenient but I care also about cleaning.
Jiamin User Profile
Response from Jiamin:
Hi Betül, thank you so staying with us! Catherine who helped you check in and cleaned the flat gave me the direct response "Was nice to meet you betul. The reason the flat was dirty was because was because I let you check in 2 hours early and give you the key whilst the other guests were still there so you could drop off your luggage. Sorry if the razor offended you. Another girl was staying there at the time and sharing the bathroom with you." Before you checked in, we have told you the toilet is shared with another female in the flat. Sorry if that didn't work out. As for the size of the flat and wifi, I am pretty sure it is accurate. Regarding the storage space, I did provide a completely empty white storage space. Thank you!
July 2017

Daniel User Profile
July 2017
Great place, centrally located. Everything is walking distance. Host was readily available.

Carly User Profile
June 2017
Catherine was a wonderful host, very friendly and available for suggestions about where to go in Edinburgh. The flat was cozy and relaxing in a great location for anyone hoping to check out the University scene.

Fenglai User Profile
June 2017
Jiamin and Catherine are great (URL HIDDEN) is warm and punctual, helping us to settle down. Jiamin gave us some good suggestions about restaurants and bars. Great trip!

Brighton, United KingdomJoined in January 2014
Jiamin User Profile

love traveling around and enjoy meeting different people with their interesting stories.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Jiamin’s place.
Catherine helps host.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings