Edgehill, From the front showing parking area
A Warm Welcome to an Artist's Home.


Private room

2 guests

2 bedrooms

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Edgehill is in a quiet rural location off the A39, 1 mile from the SW coast path and surfing beaches of Widemouth Bay, 2 miles from Bude town. You have use of our garden, and the kitchen for light cooking in the evening. A car is essential, free parking provided.

The space

This accommodation is for 1 or 2 people and is on the ground floor off the entrance hall. It consists of a comfortable double bedroom and the use of a pleasant sitting area that has a sofa, TV, DVD's, games and tea and coffee making facilities in a room immediately next door. The double room has plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, and is adjacent to your own bathroom which has a bath, shower, washbasin and lavatory. We provide bathrobes and ensure your privacy.

We do have a travel cot, changing table and high chair available should you wish to bring a baby.

If you would like to book accomodation for 3 or 4 people you can do so through my other Airbnb listing, (Countryside and Coast sleeps 4). This will enable you to also book the twin room for 2 more people to sleep in.
Each morning we will provide a substantial breakfast but not a cooked one, in our kitchen.
The Artist mentioned is my partner Kevin who paints watercolour landscapes in his garden studio, and exhibits around the UK.

Guest access

Access to the house is through our front door and your bedrooms and bathroom are just off the entrance hall on the ground floor. They can be screened off for your privacy. Breakfast is served in our kitchen and we have a pleasant terrace and a large garden that you are most welcome to use. You are welcome to cook and eat light meals in our kitchen in the evenings but we prefer that you use the sitting room we have provided for you after that and at other times of day.

Interaction with guests

We will be living in the house during your stay, we sleep upstairs. We would not want to intrude on your privacy but consider ourselves to be friendly relaxed people who are happy to chat and recommend things for you to do in the area.

Other things to note

We are situated in a very quiet area, there is one restaurant/coffee bar within walking distance, (10 mins), other than that you need a car. To walk into town from our house is 45 minutes, (beautiful walk) and 30 minutes walk takes you to the beach and the Bay View Inn. Marhamchurch village is one mile away, again a nice walk and a pub.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Please enjoy your stay with us. This is a lovely area for children but we would ask that they be well behaved and reasonably quiet! We do not allow either pets or smoking in our house.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

16 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lizzie User Profile
September 2016
Kate was extremely welcoming and put the kettle on as soon as I arrived, which I loved. Her and her partner were extremely friendly and gave suggestions and where to eat and what to do. The house was extremely clean and tidy and was perfectly situated with just a short drive to the beach and up to Bude. I throughly enjoyed my stay there and if I'm ever in Bude again I know where my first port of call will be.

Louise User Profile
July 2016
From the moment we arrived Kate was a super host. The accommodation was clean and perfect for us. It was quiet and easy to get to. We were able to access the lovely gardens and even hang bathing suits and towels outside.Her breakfast was super and healthy, with lots of variety. She even went out of her way to introduce us to Cornish cheese. Her husband's stunning landscape watercolour paintings are throughout the home. Kate is so knowledgeable about Cornwall. She even has maps, tourist guides and Cornish Magazines. This was our first Airbnb and we were absolutely impressed. Her home is suitable for any visiting person or group. Thanks Kate!
Kate User ProfileKate is a superhost.
Response from Kate:
Thanks for that Louise. I hope you had a good time on the rest of your Cornish holiday.
July 2016

Sarah User ProfileSarah is a superhost.
July 2016
Kate and Kevin were fantastic from the off and made us feel at home instantly. Our bedroom had a very comfortable bed and lots of storage and we had the luxury of our own sitting area and private bathroom. Our hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some excellent tips on where to visit. Coming into Kate's kitchen in the morning was a real treat, the breakfast table layed out with fruits and cereal, toast and jams, fruit juice and coffee...she didn't want us hungry! We would recommend this place to any of our friends for many reasons, but especially because of Kate and Kevin. Thank you both for a fantastic weekend, we will not hesitate to come and stay with you guys again when we come back next year. Sarah and Stretch xx

Kirsty User Profile
June 2016
Friendly, lovely, welcoming homely stay. Can not recommend this place enough or the people. A miniature haven! Lots of space, gorgeous garden and the most loveliest of hosts :-)
Kate User ProfileKate is a superhost.
Response from Kate:
Thanks Kirsty, it was a pleasure having you both stay. Thank you for singing for us, you are both very talented and I wish you luck in your musical careers. Come and see us again some time.
June 2016

Tom User Profile
March 2016
We really enjoyed our trip to Cornwall. Kate and Kevin were fantastic hosts and very knowledgeable about the area - it was handy being able to bounce ideas off them. They also made us feel very welcome in their home. Thanks again for the Easter eggs, Kate! The house was very comfortable and in a great location for our explorations around the northern parts of Cornwall. We hope to be back again sometime to stay with Kate and Kevin, and explore all that Cornwall has to offer!

Genevieve User Profile
September 2015
A very welcoming home from home. Kate was incredible in every way. Delightful area with lots to do.
Kate User ProfileKate is a superhost.
Response from Kate:
Thanks Genevieve, your grandparents were a pleasure to have stay.
September 2015

Sina-Kim User Profile
September 2015
We've had a great time staying with Kate and absolutely recommend her as a host. She is an extremely hospitable person and made us feel well and at home in every way possible. The rooms are comfortable and clean (as can be seen in her pictures); the breakfast is delightful. As a guest, you'll have as much privacy as you want. However, Kate is both a great person to talk to and a very valuable resource for information about the area and what to see. We'd definitely consider coming visiting her again.
Kate User ProfileKate is a superhost.
Response from Kate:
Thanks Sina, it would be lovely to see you again too.
September 2015

This host has 23 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Bude, United KingdomJoined in November 2013
Kate User ProfileKate is a superhost.

I am fortunate to have lived in North Cornwall for over 30 years. We have had many visitors during this time, both friends and family and have enjoyed sharing with them the things we love about the area. I live with Kevin who is a landscape painter, we have four children, all grown up and gone to the cities, hence the empty bedrooms!
I am a retired community midwife happily filling my time with work for a local charity, gardening, walking, books, swimming and travelling. Also the odd bottle of wine with friends doesn't go amiss!
When travelling we like to use Airbnb when we can as meeting local people is often the best part of the trip.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings