Skip to content
Hallway to bedroomsin sitting room to wards Hallway to bedrooms
2bed bungalow in the pretty village of Cerne Abbas
2bed bungalow in the pretty village of Cerne Abbas
6 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

This is a 1970's bungalow with a garden on 2 sides, very private, with a great view of the village. Private parking for 2/3 cars. Wooden floor, open fire, outside patio warmer, pool table. We will either be off surfing, or in one of the caravans close by. The house can actually take 4 more people on the sofa and on the floor on a blow up bed. It actually has a third bedroom/office but we are keeping that un-let for storage. We have 2 other vintage caravans to let with Airbnb.

The space

2 Bed bungalow in the idyllic and beautiful village of Cerne Abbas in Hardy's Dorset countryside. Close to the beach and county town of Dorchester; we will have to leave the cat with you, would you please feed her for us!!!! She is called Delia is black with a white bib. (There are two caravans which sleep 2 people in each; which you may decide to also hire, each have their own cassette toilets and kitchen areas but no shower facilities or running water, they all run on electric as I would worry too much about everyone’s safety if anyone was using gas – if you want to book the caravans please message me as I will block them off when I receive a booking for the whole house and the same for the double room)
Cerne Abbas Village
The village has three pubs (the new Inn – high quality food – the Royal Oak – a food and drinking pub flagged floor – the Giant – basic food and a drinking pub) all serve food, a shop - which sells everything (say hello to Andrew the proprietor) a cafe, bus to Dorchester and the most amazing soft rolling countryside and stream running through the village and the Chalk Giant man. I have left details in the house in a folder for your use. The church has a fresco dating back to the Norman era, also some historical boards explaining about Oliver Cromwell, that the village chose not to have a railway and Dorchester took over – there used to be 18 ish pubs here and it was really a small town. There was an abbey, the remaining tower can be seen by visiting the main house, a well which is for pagan and Christian worship – very beautiful and near the grave yard, some fantastic walks. The village of Sydling St Nicholas has a lovely pub – fab food called the Greyhound.
You are 20 minutes from the Coast and close to Sherborne, seaside town of Weymouth & Portland, Dorchester, and 20 ish miles from Bournmouth, swannage, Corfe Castle and the white sands of Studland beach. Have a look at Cerne Abbas on wikipedia and the national trust website for the Cerne Abbas Giant.
We have a bus running every 2 hours into Dorchester and Sherborne. Trains from Dorchester and Sherborne to London, and our own reasonably priced taxi company in the village. The buses use a flag it down system, bit like London cabs. bus timetables available on the dorset for you website its the 216.
Dorset is one of the best kept secrets in the UK and Cerne Abbas is one of the jewels. Places to visit Shaftesbury - gold hill - hovis advert. Swannage to Corfe steam railway. Lyme Regis - the French Lieutenants woman was filmed here, great fish and chips Fossil hunting. West Bay near Bridport, famous for Harbour lights TV and rope making, Charmouth fossil centre. Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door, Nanny Mcfee used Durdle Door for filming. Chain link ferry from Swannage to Bournemouth and one of the most expensive places to live in UK Sandbanks, Brownsea Island. Weymouth Ferries to the Channel Islands cheap foot passenger day tickets. There is so much to see.

Guests have the whole house minus the 3rd bedroom/office,
Locks – when locking doors you need to pull the door handle up and then lock or unlock afterwards as they are mortice locks.
Kitchen
An open plan kitchen and sitting room. The AGA is on in the Autumn/Winter, there is a hob and oven, pans are in the kitchen area and cutlery; plates are in the sitting room in a big cabinet next to the grandfather clock. Small breakfast bar.
Conservatory and covered Pergola
This has a dining table, church bench, washing machine and freezer and fridge, toaster and prep area. Extra chairs behind the church bench. Door out to the Pergola which is covered and has white and black vines, and the pool table which of course is available for you to use.
Drive and Garden
There is garden to two sides of the house very private and green, 5 apple trees, rhubarb and an outside eating area. The drive is at the front and will take 3 cars at a push, but please do not block the neighbours as they own the drive but we have access. They are lovely people.
Bathroom
Shower, the bath at the moment is not available for use as I have drained the tank. The electric shower is started with a pull switch at the door, there is also one for the fan and light. Toilet rolls should be in the bathroom and spares in the water closet- towels are here as well. I leave the shower head off because we have a massive build-up of lime scale.
Bedroom 1
King-sized bed, we leave our belongings in the wardrobe so I will leave a shorterm hanging rail in there for you.
Bedroom 2
A small double bed also called a ¾ bed, it takes 2 small people. My partner and I can both sleep in it. Again our belongings are in here there is some hanging space on the outside of the wardrobe.
Open plan sitting room
There is another dining table and chairs in here, an open fire, TV and small leather sofa, which pulls out into a sleeping position but is not a sofa bed, 1 rattan chair. There are two blow up beds that you could use if any guests are staying in the sitting room.
We have Wifi if you need to use it the password is on the back and the hub is in the sitting room near the window.

Guest access

The whole house and gardens (minus the office which will be locked); 2 caravans if you decide to book them. See the space for descriptions.

Interaction with guests

My partner and I are always contactable by phone during your stay and we will either go off, or stay in one of the caravans near by. It is my intention to meet and greet you, but it depends what time you are arriving. Lets just make sure we communicate lots before you come to stay.

Other things to note

The cat Delia, please feed her, she has a cat flap, normally she leaves when guests are around. This also means that you will not be able to bring dogs.

Amenities
Family/Kid Friendly
Free parking on premise
Kitchen
Indoor Fireplace
Prices
Extra people £25 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £30
Security Deposit £100
Weekend Price £120 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 couch, 2 floor mattresses
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in time is 3PM - 6PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

- A group is welcome; but strictly no parties. Please no stilettos on the wooden floor; please park thoughtfully for the neighbours, and just be aware we have neighbors on both sides one with small children so 12 pm to 6am, no loud music outside. Smoking there is plenty of covered space outside to smoke

Cancellations
Availability
4 nights minimum stay

No reviews (yet)

This host has 28 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Cerne Abbas, United KingdomJoined in January 2015
Jo User Profile

Bubbly and outgoing, likes outdoor activities, has small icing business (decorating cakes and running classes) and vintage caravans, partner buys and sells vintage clothing, we all love to cook. We are a family of surfers and love the sea, lots of caravan and camping, walking, bit of rock climbing, lots of entertaining, we have a pool table outside, I do a bit of bell ringing - but I am not strange.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings