Cozy 4bd 2ba 1923 Bungalow -5 Mins to Downtown
Cozy 4bd 2ba 1923 Bungalow -5 Mins to Downtown
10 guests
4 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
10 guests
4 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
10 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Stay in my 4bd 2ba 1923 bungalow in Denver's Barnum neighborhood. 1500 square feet just 5 minutes from downtown (BY CAR). Washer, Dryer, 2 showers, full kitchen and kitchenette, 1 lofted bedroom, 1 basement studio bedroom, 2 regular bedrooms, 2 couches, front & back porch, full garden. Recently updated but kept its character intact. Pet friendly, sleeps 4-6 comfortably, 8 without much room to spare, and 10 if you're just crashing here at night. Send questions! We love to help!

The space

This is my home of more than a decade. It's not a mansion, but it's personable, functional, and has character. It was originally built in 1923 as a two bedroom home and has had a couple small additions done to it in the intervening century. The main floor of the house is a little short of 1000 square feet. The front entrance is under a covered porch and opens into a living/dining area that is the full-width of the house. There is an antique dining table (from my grandmother's home) in that room along with two couches, a piano, an antique oak desk, and some guitars. You're welcome to play whatever is tuned. The dining area connects to a refurbished kitchen. It's not remodeled because the original flooring and cabinets are left in place. I expanded the counter space to include a butcher top counter that wraps around the entire kitchen. There is ample storage and prep space, a host of cooking utensils and amenities, a double basin sink, a stainless fridge, a microwave, a toaster, and a gas stove. Guests who like to cook will be happy here. We encourage you to use whatever cooking utensils suit your needs while you're here. The kitchen exits into a hallway and a bedroom with a queen sized bed. It's decorated with old handmade folksy farm furniture from my family. The closet has some of my clothes in it but ample space and hangers are carved out for guests. Down the hall, there is another bedroom with a double bed and decor collected during my many forays south of the border. There is an older bathroom across the hallway with a tub, shower, sink, and toilet. The hallway terminates in a kitchenette/mudroom. I recently reworked this part of the house. The kitchenette area has another microwave, toaster oven, and a farm sink which. A staircase-ladder leads to a warm, friendly upstairs sleeping loft. There is a window into the back yard, a micro fridge, a television with arcade games preloaded onto it, and a queen sized memory foam bed. The ceiling is the roof, so it is generally for sitting only as the peak is in the middle at about six feet. The kitchenette also leads to a new bathroom with a nice glass shower, a toilet, a sink, and a stackable washer/dryer. A door at the back of the kitchenette empties into the back yard patio and garden area. Another door leads to the basement studio. It's on the of the largest rooms in the house with a sturdy, quality queen-sized futon sleeper, another table, a work-space counter top, miscellaneous seating, and a lot of cool decor. It is the only carpeted area in the house, too. Even though the basement ceiling is only 6'2", tall guests will still feel at home as we have decorate the basement with art and photographs collected and traded for over the years. Summertime guests will also enjoy a plentiful garden of perennial flowers, vines, vegetables, fruit trees, herbs, spices, and berry bushes.

Guest access

Guests will have access to the entirety of the yard, a covered front porch, a back patio, a large living/dining room, a large kitchen, two main floor bedrooms, an older bathroom with a tub, sink, and toilet, a newer bathroom with a glass-surround shower, toilet, sink, and washer/dryer, a small mudroom/kitchenette, an attic loft/sleeping area, and a large basement studio/sleeping area. A utilities and storage room is locked off in the basement and not accessible to guests.

Interaction with guests

We've hosted hundreds of groups in this house. Truth be told, every group's needs and expectations are a little bit different. If you want guidance on day trips, restaurants, getting around, or other ins and outs of Denver and the Colorado Front Range, we're glad to help and take a lot of pride in helping our guests have a great experience. If you're the kind of traveller who enjoys the adventure of discovering things unaided, we also get it. We'll be available to help or absent if that suits your needs better.

Other things to note

Cats live in the house when guests are not here. If you're allergic, we make a concerted effort to clean between groups, but there will likely be traces of our feline friends that remain. Book with discretion.


PETS: If you're traveling with animals, please disclose them in your inquiry. We work in good faith with guests and expect that pets staying on the property will be in control of their owners at all times. A fee of $40/animal will be added at the time of booking.

Also, we are definitively UN-HOTEL. If you're looking at this home, it's hopefully because you like things that have a personal touch and are, actually, authentically lived-in. Our guests know that booking a home like this one will be a better financial decision for your group than booking three, four, or five rooms at the local kitchenette suites. We'll do our best to make your stay comfortable. Guests should be aware that they will share common spaces in my home with some of my stuff. There will be food left in the kitchen, some clothes in the closets, and personal effects around the house. We make plenty of room and accommodation for your stuff and your own unique experience here, too.

Oh, and WEED. It's legal in Denver. If weed is part of your trip, no problem. Having said that, smoking is STRICTLY OUTDOORS. Not blown out a window, not halfway in the door, not blown through a toilet roll stuffed with dryer sheets. We encourage you to sit comfortably on the porch or patio where you can smoke to your heart's content.

License or registration number

345063
Learn about this number

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed
Bedroom 4
1 sofa bed
Common spaces
2 sofas

Amenities

Prices
Extra people £19 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee £50
Security Deposit £228
Weekend Price £110 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 11PM

Weed: if it's part of your trip, no problem however smoking/vaping is strictly outdoors.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

2 Reviews

Niamh User Profile
September 2017
Matt and Polina were fantastic hosts - check in / out was painless. Polina gave us a run down of the property upon check in and told us of its fantastic history! The property itself is one of a kind, with a loft and downstairs room as well as two other bedrooms and a living room with space for 2. It's perfect for a small group. We absolutely loved staying here and wished we could stay for longer. The decor is literally a work of art, with photos, decorations and artwork in every room! The house was extremely clean and plenty of room for suit cases etc. If you're thinking of hitting Denver, Matts place should be top of your list.

Stephanie User Profile
August 2017
Matt was a terrific host. He was very flexible with checking in and out and he's communication was excellent. His house is very cute and we all felt right at home. I would gladly stay here again and recommend anyone visiting the Denver area to stay here! Thanks again!!

This host has 247 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Denver, Colorado, United StatesJoined in January 2013
Matt User ProfileMatt is a superhost.

I like learning, I like traveling, and I enjoy the work I do. It took me a long time to find a way to live my dream life --I worked as an EMT, as a wildland firefighter, finished a degree in English, and went on to law school, before finally finding my calling as a magazine and commercial photographer. Over the last seven years I've shot photographs and video for clients ranging in scope from National Geographic to the U.S. Federal Government. The work is creative, engaging, keeps me in a position where I can constantly learn new things and meet new people, and affords me the kind of in-depth experiences that I thrive on.

If you're staying at my house it means that I am probably away working on something that I love. It's unlikely that I'm staying at chain hotel and probably not eating at the mall --I prefer to travel for the sake of finding new things to enrich my experience. I tend to travel light which means that I've left most of the accouterments of my existence for you at the house. Feel free to play the piano in the living room; it's (mostly) in-tune. It's a place where I enjoy living and one that, I hope, will offer you the same quality of stay. I'm a regular guest in other's homes and I try to bring that experience to offering a home and amenities that will suit your own choice to find something a little more personal than beige hotel life.

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings