Sitting RoomSitting Room
Clean, Cosy Double Room close to Sea and City
Clean, Cosy Double Room close to Sea and City

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Every traveller needs a peaceful haven that also happens to be bang smack in the middle of everything!

A hop, skip and a jump from the beach in Salthill, my comfortable, spacious apartment is also only a short walk to Galway City Centre, Salthill Village and the University. You won't necessarily need a car, although I have parking if you have one, it's also close to the bus and train stations, making it a perfect base from which to explore Connemara, the Aran Islands or The Burren.

The space

The living space looks out onto a beautifully kept garden and is large and airy and freshly redecorated with is art work on the walls from both local artists and my travels in Bali, Russia, Scotland and elsewhere.

I love reading and the cinema, so there is a bookcase in the room with books and DVDs which you are very welcome to flick through or watch while you are staying. There is also a desk and reading lamp in your room, should you need to catch up on any work while you are on your travels, and WIFI of course!

There is a printer in the living room, just ask me if you need to print anything out, and cosy couches and armchairs to sit down and have the chats. The dining area is tucked away in a bay window at the other end of the space, and, while breakfast is provided, guests are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare their own meals.

The bedroom itself is clean, cosy and full of light, with crisp cotton bedlinen and fresh towels. As well as wardrobe space and a dressing-table unit with mirror, you will have your own bathroom across the hall with a shower and bath, and the basics - soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel provided.

Guest access

Guests have access to their own bedroom and bathroom, the living/dining area and the kitchen. As I mentioned before, feel free to flick through any books or DVDS that catch your interest, and let me know if you want to use the printer.

Interaction with guests

I work a lot from home, and the classes I teach are very nearby so I will be on hand if there's anything you need anything and am very happy to sit and chat about different things to do and see. I love living in the West of Ireland and am very enthusiastic about sharing with others all the wonderful things about the place I'm from. Because I work in the Arts, I am happy to recommend shows, gigs, events, exhibitions, festivals etc.

Other things to note

A little white dog called Anoushka lives with me. She is great fun, and very sweet, gentle and friendly to humans, but is not very fond of other dogs, so, to prevent any noisy inter-canine conflicts, unfortunately I won't be able to accept any pets!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Breakfast

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared - Living Area and Kitchen

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

No reviews (yet)

This host has 17 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Galway, IrelandJoined in August 2016
Sorcha User Profile

I love being from the West Coast of Ireland which has the perfect mix of culture and natural wilderness as well as being within easy travelling distance of the bigger smokes of Dublin, Glasgow and London (all of which I have lived in at different points of time!) What I love about Galway is the strong sense of community we have here, I am connected to so many people here in different ways and I enjoy getting involved in the life and culture of this wonderful city.

I live by the sea with my beautiful dog Anoushka, and while I am often drafted in to do bit of DJing (everything from old school jazz, to vintage pop and groovy, melodic house)I am primarily a theatre-maker involved in many different facets of the business - acting, directing, playwrighting, producing, teaching. My most recent acting job was playing Anne Boleyn in a reading of a play at Cambridge, and I am currently developing my theatrical adaptation of Ingmar Bergman's "Persona" for next year. I'm also half way through a PhD on Irish Femininity and Performance, but am taking a year out.

I'm big into exercise and the outdoors (currently training for my first triathlon) and I am an avid mountaineer with half an eye on the Seven Summits. I've climbed two of them - Kilimanjaro and Elbrus - so Aconcagua is next on the list, though I'd love to sneak the Matterhorn somewhere in there too.

I love eating out in Galway, as there are some fab restaurants here, as well as socialising with friends in one of the many wine bars or clubs. One of my favourite things to do is to head out to Connemara - to Bofin, or hiking in the Bens or the Maamturks or camping in Ballyconneely.

I love going to the theatre and cinema, catching gigs and festivals, but also curling up with a book at home, or doing some yoga, or going for a long walk with the dog, or watching the latest episode of "Twin Peaks - The Return"

My favourite travel destinations are anywhere with mountains and interesting hiking and preferably snow. But I loved visiting St Petersburg, and I'd love to spend sometime on a Greek Island. I'm also well overdue a trip to Australia, and also Italy (which is a shame as I can kind of speak some Italian)

Five things I can't live without are: flat shoes, a pint glass of water by my bed at night, my bike, theatre and my contact lenses!

I like travelling by myself, it's preferable to the wrong travelling companion, but there is nothing like finding that perfect person to travel with. When I'm on the move, I like to have plans with some room to manouevre, and I like time to rest and relax too.

I guess my life motto is "Do it from the heart or not at all. Never just try."

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings