WELCOME!Entry Gate - Safe and Secure


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

2 shared baths


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

2 shared baths

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

GUEST HOUSE: PRIVATE ROOMS, SHARED BATHROOMS AND KITCHEN
Fall into the arms of mother nature. Refresh the mind, nurture the soul and release life's stress.
1 minute walk to the beach...
5 minute walk to the town of Puerto Viejo, on Costa Rica's Caribbean
Clean, Comfortable, Economical

ALL ARE WELCOME. We value diversity and welcome all people without regard to race, religion, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, age and socioeconomic status. You are welcome in our home.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: £80

Description

The space

PLEASE READ THE FULL DESCRIPTION AND LOOK AT THE PHOTOS TO ASSURE THAT YOU WILL BE COMFORTABLE AT OUR PLACE. (To do this click where it says"more" for more information.)

Tranquil Jungle Setting, surrounded by nature...
GUEST HOUSE: PRIVATE ROOMS, SHARED BATHROOMS AND KITCHEN
Only 4 rooms - no more than 8 people to share the public space. The rooms are SMALL but comfortable. Breakfast is not provided.

At Hidden Jungle Beach House we have ROOMS FOR SINGLES and COUPLES. (A couple is any two people who want to share a bed. There is only one bed per room.) THIS PAGE IS THE LISTING FOR COUPLES. The other Hidden Jungle Beach House is the listing for singles.

Immerse yourself in nature in this tranquil, jungle hide-away, just a 3 minute walk to a breathtaking beach, Playa Negra. Enjoy peace and quiet, yet have access with a 5 minute walk, to the charming town of Puerto Viejo, - cute shops, great restaurants and and a lively night life.

Hidden Jungle Beach House: where nature lovers can socialize around the kitchen table or enjoy solitude in a quiet spot on a hammock.
You fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake to the chattering of a million tropical birds.

Hidden Jungle Beach House is a typical Caribbean style wooden house with three levels. The kitchen is on the first floor. The bedrooms are on the second. And the third floor is my room, I'm the owner, Lisa, and I live here, too.

The first floor kitchen is spacious and open, with jungle all around. The grocery store is only a short jaunt away so you can buy what you need and cook it here. The SHARED BATHROOM with a hot shower is on the first floor.

The second floor of Hidden Jungle Beach House has four SMALL bedrooms and a living room with cable TV. It also has a SHARED BATHROOM with a sink and a toilet. The bedrooms are simple and small. Three bedrooms have double beds and one has a single. Each room has a place to hang your clothes and shelves, desk or table, screened windows and a fan, along with clean sheets and towels.

We are a simple place: The windows have screens; NO AIR CONDITIONING just fans and jungle breezes. We love animals. We have two German shepherds (and a cat) to guard the house and entertain the guests. Smoking cigarettes is allowed only outdoors in the yard.

Hidden Jungle Beach House is truly Puerto Viejo’s hidden treasure. You’ll love it’s relaxed and friendly vibes. You’ll sleep cozy and comfortable in the arms of mother nature. You’ll wake up to the sounds of howler monkeys, cute little geckos and a million different kinds of colorful birds.

Helpful suggestions on where to go and what to do are provided by your delightful host, me! I have lived on Costa Rica’s Caribbean for 8 years and can give you lots of good advice.

If you are looking for a simple, economical place to stay in the quiet tranquility of the jungle but close to all the activity, Hidden Jungle Beach House is the place for you.

BREAKFAST NOT INCLUDED

Guest access

Quiet Comfortable places to immerse in nature...
Shared spacious kitchen with coffee and condiments provided...
2 shared bathrooms, hot shower, toiletries provided
Free WIFI
Bike Rental

Interaction with guests

I am Lisa, the owner, and I live here in Hidden Jungle Beach House with my husband, Christian. We are most always around - accessible for questions or help.

I'm a writer with a website telling you all about my experiences living in Costa Rica for seven years. I'll give you all the details on your options to get here from the airport, along with photos and instructions. I can book your transportation and I also offer personal guide service. Once you have made your reservation, Airbnb will allow me to give you the link to my website.

When you arrive we'll show you around the house. And I am happy to give guidance or recommendations and help you find what you need.

The neighbourhood

Life in the jungle! Our closest neighbors are sloths, often seen in the trees just outside our windows. Stunning Blue Morpho butterflies and colorful hummingbirds flit by as you sit on the patio. The mornings are chirpy and bright with a million melodic bird songs. Afternoons are quiet and peaceful under the cool of the jungle canopy. And the evenings are exotic with the heady fragrance of jasmine, white ginger and ylang ylang and the curious calls of our nocturnal animal friends. This is truly the place to refresh the mind, nurture the soul and release the stress of everyday living.

Getting around

It is easy to get here. From the airport you can take a bus, a private shuttle, a rental car or you can even take a rafting trip! I can give you all the details and book your transportation.

We are a 1 minute walk from the beach and a 5 minute walk to the town of Puerto Viejo. You can access most everything on foot or by bike. The public bus system works well and there are taxis at your disposal. There is also a local car rental.

Other things to note

IF YOU HAVE A CAR: If you are coming by car, please let me know at the time you make your reservation. Parking is limited so I have to make sure there is space for you. Thanks!

DOGS: We have one cat and two German Shepherd guard dogs. They are very sweet. The dogs do not bite. But they do bark to protect the property from intruders. When you arrive the dogs and cat will greet you as part of the family. Most all of my guests love our pets and the pets love the guests as well. Our dogs are not allowed inside the house. They stay in the yard and sleep on the ground floor outdoor patio. The patio is a a central part of our place, with chairs and a hammock for our guests. And most are happy to share the space with the dogs. We bathe and brush the dogs regularly and do our best to keep the patio clean. Our dogs are well trained and essential for the security or our property. IF YOU DO NOT LIKE DOGS, OUR HOME MAY NOT BE THE BEST CHOICE FOR YOUR VISIT.

NOISE: We are in the jungle yet 1 minute from the beach and only 5 minutes from the town of Puerto Viejo. You'll always hear the waves. And now and then, especially on weekends and holidays you'll hear the sounds of the village coming through the jungle - music from the bars and some traffic on the road.

COUPLES: Our place is small and the four rooms are close together. You will have complete visual/physical privacy but you may not have the audio privacy that some couples prefer. Noise at the level of quiet normal conversation is not heard by others in the next room but our walls are not soundproof.

There are NO LAUNDRY FACILITIES available here, however there are lines to hang wet clothes. And there is laundry service available nearby.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

IMPORTANT - YOUR INSTANT BOOK RESERVATION CAN BE CANCELLED IF YOU DO NOT COMPLY WITH WHAT IS LISTED HERE.
IF YOU HAVE A CAR: Let us know AT THE TIME YOU MAKE YOUR RESERVATION. Parking is limited.
1. CONSIDERATION: Smoking allowed only out in the front yard.
2. CONSIDERATION: Quiet before 9:00 a.m. and after 10:00 p.m.
3. SECURITY: Window shutters and doors must be locked when you leave the premises.
4. SECURITY: No person allowed on the property without owner's permission. Reservations for an extra guest in your room must be made in advance.
5. IF YOU HAVE A CAR: Let us know at the time you make your reservation. Parking is limited.
6. ARRIVAL TIME: In advance of your arrival day you must let us know the approximate time you will be arriving. That is so we can be sure to be here to let you in.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

43 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Paul User Profile
March 2017
Lovely colourful place, as the name say's at the beach but hidden in the jungle... very comfortable rooms and a great kitchen. Perfect extra is the opportunity of seeing sloths in the garden. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for having us
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Thanks for the nice review, Paul. We hope you can come back again.
March 2017

Carly User Profile
February 2017
We had a really lovely stay at Lisa and Christians place, as soon as we arrived we were shown Sloths, Iguana's and Abouti's in the garden which was a real treat! The house is walk able to town and also across the road from a beach! There are also a couple of good restaurants near by! You can walk to the house from where the bus drops you in town as well. Our stay was really nice and our room and bed really comfortable! Lisa and Christian are very kind and friendly hosts and it was a great experience!
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Thanks so much for the very sweet review, Carly. We love to share our love of nature with our guests like you, who love nature, as well. I'm so glad you were comfortable here and enjoyed your time in our home and our area.
February 2017

Robert User Profile
February 2017
It is NOT so QUIET as told in the description of this location! The main road is very close and you always hear the sound of cars passing by. The traffic is also there at night, so do not expect to have a night with just nature sounds. You will be disappointed, as we were. It is very SMALL (as descriped). Not enough space for all the (up to) 6 guests if they would like to chill. The provided seats are not really comfortable. You will find lots of accomodations in and around town that are much nicer and cheaper as well. Price-value to our mind is bad. Kitchen is well equipped, rooms are clean and everything is good organised. Lisa was very helpful in the beginning and conversation was pretty good. She also put an extra mosquito net on our bed, what was really nice. Unfortunately her mood changed after arrival. From there on it just felt like business. Be aware that kitchen is not always available, because hosts are using it too and there are just 2 cooking plates (the third one is too small to count). Waiting is no big problem for us as we stayed in several hostals before where sharing a kitchen is common. But it felt like staying in the way. Where we felt extremly unwelcomed. One guest, a professional cook, cooked for Lisa and Christian. This took a lot of time with explanations about what she was doing. Although Lisa recognised that we were trying to cook our dinner at the one plate left she stayed next to the very small burner all the time. Always in the way. She just moved after asking for it (we asked for more than 10 times). And she did not tell us about needing the kitchen for that time, what I expect if someone blocks the kitchen. She also did not ask us to join, what made it very obvious that she did not like us there. This did not feel good. She rents bikes for the double price as you can get it in town. That was especially sad for us as we asked her for snorkeling spots. She just answered it is easy to go there by bike. One great point was Christian, Lisas husband. He was always friendly and told us whenever he spotted another animal in the surrounding garden. Thanks!
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Wow, what a shock! I had no idea you felt this way. And you two bought me a bottle of wine to show your appreciation on the day you left. I have never had an experience like this before. I am really sorry you concealed your true feelings and then told me here. If you had said something earlier I could have talked to you and remedied some of the problems. I feel absolutely terrible! I will address each thing you said one by one: 1. The noise. It all depends on when you are here. Sometimes it is very quiet. On weekend nights there are times the music from the town and the cars on the road make more noise, which carries through the jungle. In our Airbnb reviews, many people comment on how tranquil and quiet it is here. I don't think they are just making that up. And I DO mention in my description that there can be noise from the town and the road. Maybe you did not see it. Obviously that is not in my control. But any place that is located as conveniently as we are and as I say in my description - one minute from the beach and 5 minutes walk from town - will have some noise from those areas. 2. As for being over crowded - there were several days when you and your wife were the only guests here! Then several days when there were 2 more people. And then a few days when the house was full - 6 guests. Two of them didn't use the kitchen. And when the woman was cooking for us as a very nice treat, we had no idea when you were going to be coming back to the house that night. I wanted to invite you both but there was not enough food. I had no control of what time she was going to cook nor what time you wanted to cook. Nobody told me anything ahead of time yet you expected me to make it all work like magic. Robert, I do everything I can to make my guests feel comfortable and happy. But I cannot read minds. (And you did not ask me to move.) 3. As for what you said about me. THIS IS MY HOME - IT IS MUCH MORE THAN A BUSINESS. I treat everyone who comes like an individual, a friend. I am interested in who they are and what they do, if they want to tell me. I also try to give people privacy and not to be imposing. It can be a difficult balance, but I try very hard. And besides that, my husband and I had an argument. This is normal for all couples. What is not normal is to have to hide your personal business in your own home. But of course we do. We do not allow our personal business to come into our work and affect our guests - at least we try not to. But I am human. I think if I seemed a bit different for a few days it was because I was a little sad about the argument my husband and I had. We did resolve the problem and I was in a happier mood after that - while you were still here. I'm sorry that you took my quiet mood personally. It was not meant to be that way and I made an effort to smile and ask you how you slept and how was your day, so as to have you feel comfortable and not notice my solemn mood. I guess I did not do a good enough job at that. 4. I felt bad that I could not give you a better price for a bike rental, Robert. In town there are bike shops who do their own maintenance. I must take my bikes in for maintenance. I don't own a bike repair shop. We keep our bikes well maintained. This is very expensive. I almost decided to stop the bike rental and sell my bikes, but many guests like the convenience. Some of our guests rent bikes in town. We charge $10.00 a day. You can get a less well maintained bike for half the price, no doubt. And that works for some people. And by the way, I absolutely DID tell you where the good snorkeling is. I tell everyone the same things when they first arrive. I show the maps I made to introduce them to the area and I tell them the places good for snorkeling. I have addressed the main points. There are many others I will not go into as they are just not true and I don't want to be trivial. This is really very sad for me. I still can't believe you would buy me a bottle of wine and embrace me so sweetly when you left yet have these awful things to say about me and my place. I'm sure someone else will enjoy the wine more than I am able to at this point.
February 2017

Robert User Profile
February 2017
We had a really wonderful time staying with Lisa and Christian in there beautiful house. The house is located just outside of Puerto Viejo town and is really close the nice beach Playa Negra. The house is well equipped with everything you'll need. Great big kitchen, nice bathrooms and the rooms are in a good size. Lisa is a great host, so helpfull and loving. She gave us very good information about the area and things to do. Christian is a great tracker of wildlife in the surrounding jungle- he showed us iguanas and sloths. The dogs, Sativa and Santos are so nice and friendly. We are so happy we got the chance to stay here and we enjoyed every second of our time here. We really fell in love with the house and area surrounding and would love to come back again! Highly recommend it to others! Lisa and Christian, thank you so much for making our last days in Costa Rica so wonderful. Hope to see you again soon! Lots of love from Julia and Robert
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Julia and Robert - you touch my heart! It was a real pleasure to have you in our home. And I'm so glad you enjoyed it all. I hope to see you soon, as well. Big Hugs! Love, Lisa
February 2017

Christopher User Profile
February 2017
Great little place providing good value. But with a proviso. You must feel comfortable sharing a bathroom and kitchen, and the bedrooms are small. However, premises are clean, secure, and Lisa is very helpful to give advice and respond to questions. To make a small space with shared facilities work requires a degree organization/scheduling re. daily domestic routines by the host that may not be everyone's cup of tea. Remember you are sharing the Host's home and subsequently won't feel as free as if you had the space all to yourself. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests, usually while preparing meals in the shared kitchen space. All of which to say, if you enjoy interacting with others and are willing to respect the realities of sharing common living space/facilities, this place could well meet your needs for a few days. We stayed in a variety of lodgings, some very remote where we didn't have contact with others unless we went off premises. This was a nice change of pace for the last few days of our trip. The proximity to the town centre and many kilometers of fine beaches allowed us to get away on our own whenever we felt the need.
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Thanks for the nice and well thought out review, Chris. Everything you say is true. Yet it varies. Sometimes our place is full and there are more people around. Sometimes they all hang out here at home. Other times most all are out doing things. Often many don't cook, even though they can. And sometimes you may get lucky and have the place almost all to yourself. Regardless, everyone seems to have unique preferences and schedule so there's never a long wait for the shower or use of the stove. There's two sides to everything - yes, you've got to share - but sharing laughs and conversation with people from all over the world - especially the lovely people sent by Airbnb - makes for a fondly memorable time.
February 2017

Adam & Kelly User Profile
January 2017
The Hidden Jungle Lodge was a nice place to stay. It's a 5 minute walk to town, so it's nice and quiet yet close to everything you need. Playa Negra is a 1 min walk away (I would also recommend heading to the beaches further south for some fun waves and white sand). The room looks out to jungle and if you leave the window shutters open (all windows also have insect screens) you can be woken by beautiful birdsong. There is a balcony looking out to the garden. While there we saw lots of birds, blue morpho butterflies, 2 sloths, squirrels and more. Lisa is a very attentive host and Christian was our our wildlife spotter (sloths can be hard to see)! The building is cosy, colourful and full of character. Safe and secure with excellent kitchen facilities. Towels changed regularly, fridge/kitchen and bathroom storage provided for each room. Very well thought out.
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Thanks for the very nice review, Adam and Kelly. You covered just about everything we work hard for to create a wonderful place for people to stay. And I must say, guests like you make it easy and very rewarding.
January 2017

Carole User Profile
December 2016
Lisa & Cristian were attentive, informative & greeted us warmly. Almost as soon as we set our bags down we were pointed to a sloth and huge iguana in their trees. The area is just outside the village but within hearing distance of the ocean's waves. A hidden jungle gem! Everything accurately depicted & ideal for any visitor to take in amazing adventures with easy access to food, entertainment & transportation
Lisa And Christian User Profile
Response from Lisa And Christian:
Thank you for your very nice review, Carole. Yes, we love to show our guests our animal neighbors and we love to share our lifestyle. It was wonderful to have you and your very sweet daughter with us. I do hope you can come back!
December 2016

This host has 302 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica · Joined in March 2012
Lisa And Christian User Profile

I’m Lisa Valencia, a writer and Costa Rica guide who has lived in Costa Rica’s Caribbean since 2007. I opened Hidden Jungle Beach House in 2011, running my guest house alone for 3 years. Then Cristian Montenegro came into my life and has been working with me here for the past three years. We got married in November 2016. So now at our place you have two hosts - one North American and one Nicaragua/Costa Rican.

We both believe in following our dreams and living life to the absolute fullest. And always encourage others to do the same. Many of our guests come here looking for more than a vacation. They use their time here in nature, away from the stress of the "civilized" world to ponder and reflect on their choices in life. Some go back to their lives with renewed energy and enthusiasm. Some discover a new way to live. And some don't go back at all!

Cristian and I are thankful, grateful and appreciative of every aspect of our life here - including our guests. Cristian will show you sloths and iguanas in the trees around the property. He'll tell you stories about the little agoutis who come eat our compost and the time we had a snake for a neighbor. I'll share the story of my discovery of a new life in Costa Rica. And I look forward to hearing your story and encouraging your Costa Rica dreams to come true!

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.