View from above!Sitting Room
Simple Cottage in centre of organic farm
Simple Cottage in centre of organic farm
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This doesn't feel even faintly like a rental property. My family, girlfriend and I sometimes use it ourselves when other people are not doing so. It has the virtues and defects of a real, lived-in, place. It is full of our books, games, cooking equipment and supplies etc.

The cottage is situated in the middle of a 190-acre organic farm on the South Downs, which you are welcome to explore. It is close to Chichester Festival Theatre, Cowdray Park polo, Goodwood, Petworth Park, and HMS Victory.

The space

Billy’s has been recently renovated, but without spoiling it. It is a semi-detached cottage joined to another cottage available for rent. This is now a house more aimed at grown-ups than at families with small children. It has antique rugs, old wooden floors and pretty furniture.

The kitchen is furnished with old pine cupboards, shelves and tables (not a fitted unit in sight!) and an old fashioned sink with brass taps. There is however a modern 'fridge, freezer and cooker.

If you feel brave, there is an old wood-fired Rayburn cooker which can be lit - but it is more use in heating up the room, than at cooking anything! It is more like an open fireplace with a door.

The south-facing sitting room in Billy's has little leather chairs and some other antique furniture, a card table & some occasional tables.

The sitting room opens directly onto the garden (which is shared by both cottages), and has magnificent views to the Downs. The garden is large, bounded by old hedges , and is mainly laid down to grass. If you want to escape, there is the rest of the farm!

The bathroom (which is downstairs, and opens off the kitchen via a useful lobby for hanging coats and putting muddy boots in), contains basin, bath and W.C. It has a fan heater, but can be chilly in winter.

The stairs run up the middle of the houses (between the kitchen and sitting room) and are quite steep ; so please be careful.

The south bedroom in Billy's has a double bed, bedside tables, a large wardrobe, and a little dressing table. It has a dormer window, looking south at the Downs (you will probably see deer most mornings). In a cupboard, there is a basin & mirror and razor socket. There is a decorative fire place, which you can not use.

The north bedroom in has a huge (6ft wide) double bed. There is a basin & mirror and razor socket in a cupboard, a (decorative) fireplace, and an ancient leather trunk, which is used as a table..

Interaction with guests

I will sometimes be staying in the cottage next door however I work in London and more frequently it is my brother, who lives in the farm house just down the lane, who will conduct the hand over of keys. I will always be available by email or phone to help with any queries you may have though!


Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Heating
Washer

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £25
Weekly Discount: 22%
Weekend Price £90 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

If you are bringing a pet with you then please let me know in advance. No pets are to be allowed upstairs into the bedrooms at any time and please be sensible letting your pets into downstairs rooms if your pets are wet and muddy! Thank you!

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 1 steep flight of stairs

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Aurora, Marco & Kitty User Profile
September 2017
Hello We had a wonderful stay Kind regards

London, United KingdomJoined in January 2015
Theo User Profile

Now working in London I love to get out to the countryside and explore when possible. I am a drone fanatic and greatly enjoy cooking and hosting too!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings