Double Room in Modern Cottage (#1)
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A bright, light, modern cottage in a vibrant, eclectic neighbourhood. In a great location, it's close to shops, pubs, restaurants and transport, and only 7 km's from CT's city center. A perfect place from which to explore all that CT has to offer!

The space

My house is in a quiet street situated one block from the hub of the suburb of Observatory, Lower Main rd, and 3 blocks from the Main Road.
It is very small and unassuming on the outside, but on stepping in you enter a world of light with a magical flow throughout between inside and out.
It has a spacious open plan lounge dining and kitchen area.
With enormous glass sliding doors one can open the entire house up onto the inner courtyard. On warm summers evenings it’s a perfect place to make a braai (barbecue)….and then you can wander off to any one of the nearby restaurants for dessert & coffee!
There are two guest rooms upstairs, where there is also a bathroom and small kitchenette. This gives you some privacy if you desire, but at the same time you are more than welcome to spend as much time in the house and patio as you like just relaxing, cooking, braaing etc.
Having 2 rooms means that one can make a booking for 4 people travelling together. The other room is listed as: Double Room in Modern Cottage (#2)

Guest access

Guests will have access to the whole house.

Interaction with guests

Interaction with guests will be according to what we all feel happy with, but mainly based on what the guests prefer.
My month is split between either working from or away from home.
I am friendly and sociable and have a quiet and relaxed lifestyle. I'm pretty clued up on what to do and where to go in Cape Town so I am more than happy to give advice and suggestions as to how to make the most of your stay.

Other things to note

For those that have a cat allergy, I have a cat.

Unfortunately no under 5's. Children above the age of 5 are very welcome.

And by the way...this is a 100% every colour of the rainbow, gay-bi-lesbian etc etc friendly home :-)


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

Amenities

Prices
Extra people £6 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £9
Security Deposit £114
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
Check in time is 10AM - 7PM
Check out by 10AM

House rules? Well I don't really have any...except for my guests to relax and enjoy their stay :-)
The only hard and fast rule I can think of is no smoking inside the house, but feel free to puff away in the courtyard.
Please notify me if you are wanting to check in after 7 p.m.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

54 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kim User Profile
September 2017
Helen's place is well located near restaurants and shops in the bohemian neighborhood of Observatory, which reminds me of the French Quarter. My room was spacious and had a large window with lots of light. Helen's space is homey. I appreciated her decorative touches. Her son was very helpful with getting my bags up the stairs but he may not always be around. I'd love to stay here again in the future.

Julie User Profile
August 2017
Wonderfully accommodating with our schedule! Kind family and beautiful house.

Shashika User Profile
August 2017
This is a very well located residence. Helen also has a great knowledge of the local area which can be helpful. Nearby restaurants easy Uber rides to mountains and museums. There is a high demand so booking early may help.

Julie User Profile
April 2017
Helen's place is in a great suberb of Cape Town and she is very accommodating! The internet is very fast too :)

Charlotte User Profile
March 2017
Helen was a very nice hostess and easy to communicate with. She gave us good tips regarding what to do and see around Cape Town.

Josie User Profile
March 2017
This is the second time that I've stayed with Helen and there's a good reason that there will definitely be a third! The room is super comfy, her place is clean and tidy and at the same time homey and cosy. Helen is an amazing host, she will really make you feel at home and give you some great tips on what to do in the greatest city ever ;) Her place is within walking distance from some great restaurants and pretty much in between the prettiest sights. 10/10 would recommend!

Julia User Profile
February 2017
The days at Helen´s cottage were great and we already miss it! Helen is such a lovely and great and interesting woman, we felt warm welcomed from the first day on - like we already know each other for a long period of time. Whenever we needed tips or any other help, Helen was always there for us and spent a lot of her time to recommend us all beautiful places in CT. The cottage is beautiful and cosy, as well are the two rooms with all their furnishing. Helen never minded, when we had breakfast outside or when we decided to rest in the wonderful courtyard in the evening. Anyway, we had never had the feeling to be in the way and felt very "free" and welcomed. There is a lot more to say, but I think a beautiful cottage, owned by a lovely woman, says everything :-) If we visit CT again, we know where to go!

This host has 25 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Cape Town, South AfricaJoined in October 2013
Helen User Profile

I'm a 'born and bred' Capetonian, and I feel extremely privileged to live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
I have been in the tourist industry for over 17 years so know my city backwards...whatever help/advice u need when here I'll be happy to give.
I have been in my new home since the beginning of 2013 and love it more and more each day as I slowly make it my own.
I hope whoever stays in it enjoys it as much as I do!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings