Skip to content
A mile from the main highway, we are close to everything but you can enjoy the quiet, rural setting.Watch the sun set over the lake region in our backyard.
Save this listing.
Entire cottage

Little Round Schoolhouse

Anita & David User Profile
Anita & David

Little Round Schoolhouse

3 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
Sparkling clean
12 recent guests have said that this home was sparkling clean.
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the lockbox.
Great check-in experience
100% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.

Peaceful, historic cottage set in the heart---locals call it the banana belt ----of the vineyards of Seneca Lake Wine Trails & Breweries. This home was a one-room schoolhouse for 130 years before becoming a private residence and one of the most unique places to stay in the Seneca Lake region.


Free parking on premises
Indoor Fireplace
Laptop friendly workspace

House Rules

No smoking, parties, or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM and check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox


Step-free access to the home’s entrance
Wide doorway to the home’s entrance


25 Reviews

Liz User Profile
December 2018
The little round schoolhouse was such a sweet, delightful, and peaceful place. Everything was clean and the space was cozy and welcoming. Close to wineries, produce stands, and amazing natural spaces, this is really great spot. And, it wasn't too far from Ithaca to catch dinner o…
Diana User Profile
December 2018
Our stay at the Little Round Schoolhouse was amazing! We loved the guest book because past guests offered great suggestions for us to go during our visit. The house was cozy and we loved the fireplace. Thank you!
Scott User Profile
November 2018
Our stay at the school house was a long weekend over black Friday (3 nights). After 3 nights this is our good and bad list and overall impression. The good: -The school house is a rustic cute little place that has everything one needs. -It is a nice location to wineries, brew…
Anita & David User Profile
Response from Anita & David:
Scott, We are appreciative that you took the time to make comments about your stay at the schoolhouse. We take every comment, good and bad, seriously as we are always striving to be the best hosts and want to offer a wonderful experience for our guests. Some of your comments were very helpful. It is clear, in our comments about the house, we do not describe the fireplace as a wood stove fireplace. We have changed that oversight. Most people feel that a wood stove is a plus as they are very efficient, burn hot and long with just a little consistent feeding of the fire. There are pictures of the fireplace in the listing. It clearly shows it has a stove and has a raised hearth, like most fireplaces do. We hear your comments about the thermostat. It is an older thermostat and is very sensitive to a small movement. We do have plans to replace it this spring. We have not had any other guests complain about it as they seemed to figure it out rather quickly. As I stated above, the wood stove is very efficient and does not need to be fed too much wood to get really hot. We feel this is a good thing on cold, snowy nights. As for the fly, we are very much against flyies. We have made this clear to the fly community with consistent visits from pest control. However, there can always be one rogue pest or two. We provide, free of charge, a flyswatter in the coat closet in the small bunk room. DISCLOSURE: the outcome greatly depends on the user's skill. It is rural wine country and critters are around. And then there is the water. When we had the floods this summer, we started having an issue with the sulfur smell. We had our water technician come out and treat the well. He told us we might need a few more treatments before the issue was totally arrested. We are really sorry you had a negative experience with it, but we are disappointed you did not contact us about the issue right away to take care of it. If we had known, we certainly would have called in the water company immediately. We feel the same about the comment about the towel. ALL TOWELS AND LINENS ARE REMOVED AND WASHED AFTER EVERY GUEST LEAVES. No exceptions. Again, if you needed clean towels, all you needed to do is call our co-hosts, Jennie and Jason. The next part of your list we feel had some unfair comments. It is not true that you have to furnish your own water. We furnish drinking water in case guests do not choose to drink the well water. As for the comment about not being lakefront property, we do not claim or advertise that we are lake front property.Our price reflects we are not lake front property. We clearly state we are a mile up the hill from the highway and lake. We do have a scenic view of the lake region from our patio and back yard. We clearly state our description that the round schoolhouse is a historic, 150 year old building that served as a school for many years. Many of our guests love staying in older places with history but they have their own quirks that is certainly different than staying in a brand new building. This type of cottage is not for everyone. We certainly hope you will return to Hector again even if you do not stay with us. We think you will agree, this area has so much to offer and want everyone to enjoy it like we do.
November 2018
Amy User Profile
November 2018
The Little Red School House was the perfect place to spend our Thanksgiving holiday while visiting family. It felt great to get away from it all. Thanks Anita and David!
Liza User Profile
November 2018
close to the seneca wine trail and only 15 minute drive to hiking in Watkins Glen!
Katherine User Profile
November 2018
My husband and I try to get to Seneca Lake a couple times a year. We have stayed in a few different rentals, and I think this rental is now our favorite for the colder weather months! The layout of the house is really unique, which we both enjoyed. Check in was beyond easy wit…
Judy User Profile
October 2018
This was the perfect weekend getaway for us! It’s location is perfect for touring the wineries. The schoolhouse is super cozy, comfortable, and cute. It was cold and rainy during our stay but the fireplace saved the day! We would definitely stay here again when we come back t…

Hosted by Anita & David

Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United StatesJoined in April 2018
Anita & David User Profile
26 Reviews
Anita & David is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
We first visited the Finger Lake area 6 years ago and fell in love with it. We have family here now and have made it our second home. We love traveling around the lakes eating ice cream, listening to local music, visiting local art shops and touring the wineries. We hike in the s…
Anita & David supports the Living Wage Pledge
People who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
About the home
When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.
This is Anita & David’s place.
Anita & David
Jennie helps host.

The neighbourhood