Divan/single bed in 2nd room to sleep a guest if required. Large writing desk for computer. Door to courtyard visible.Bedroom leads on to second room with writing desk, bathroom and kitchenette. The room has a door on either side -own front door and a door to the courtyard.
Private flatlet in leafy Westene opposite park
Private flatlet in leafy Westene opposite park
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Private sunny 2 roomed flatlet with own bathroom, kitchenette and shared courtyard. Wireless uncapped ADSL. Centrally located close to 2 universities with shopping at Campus Square, bars and restaurants in Melville. Attached to home with 2 caring and helpful adults -one a photographer and the other a film editor. Interesting old area with dam in walking distance, plus botanical gardens, Newtown precinct a short Uber away. Friendly neighbourhood.
Good security and safe off road parking.

The space

Close to the University of Johannesburg and the University of the Witwatersrand, with lots of interesting tourist areas close by - Newtown, Constitution Hill, trendy Melville, 44 Stanley for cafes and trendy shops, Westdene Dam and the Emmarentia Botanical Gardens for quiet walks.

Guests will have exclusive use of the two rooms and communal use (shared with 2 owners) of the courtyard and garden.

I am happy to interact with guests or respect their privacy if they prefer. I am available for advice and suggestions about what to do,where to go and how to get there.

This is a friendly neighborhood, lots of oak trees and, many students who study at the two nearby universities keeping the suburb young and energetic.

The number of Tuk Tuks seems to grow daily (3 wheeled motorised taxis) and can be booked to travel as far afield as Rosebank (for a nominal fee of R40). Otherwise local minibus taxis travel into the CBD and from there into the suburbs. Rea Vaya, the new bus system is a short walk away.
With Uber, transportation is a given to wherever you wish to go.

Guest access

Guests have private usage of the 2 inter-leading rooms equipped with kitchenette and bathroom/shower, plus shared access to parking, garden and courtyard

Interaction with guests

Pierre works in the film industry 6 days a week and is gone from early till late. Lisa is a photographer and works freelance so is available to assist and give advice.
Our 3 dogs are friendly and can be kept out of the rooms if you would prefer.

Other things to note

We are both extremely accommodating people and have had a range of guests from a family with one year old twins to business people who want their own space and privacy to work in.
The accommodation has it's own alarm.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 single bed

Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Free parking on premise

Prices
Extra people £8 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £4
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Tell us if you need anything extra and we will try to assist.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Christin User Profile
September 2017
I had a wonderful time there. The location is next to Melville, which is a really nice and vibrant suburb. The accomodation itself is exactly as described. Pierre and Lisa did everything to make me feel welcome. And even the Wifi is great, especially in relation to the south african standard :-)
Lisa User Profile
Response from Lisa:
Thanks so much Christin we are really happy to have hosted you. We appreciate the lovely review.
September 2017

Natasha User Profile
June 2017
The flatlet is located in a quiet neighbourhood close to the university and shops, which is really convenient. All the basics are provided and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. Noise does travel to the flatlet from the main house which can sometimes be disturbing. All and all, I think you get what you pay for and I had a pleasant stay.
Lisa User Profile
Response from Lisa:
Hi Natasha, Thank you for your feedback. We only watch TV for the length of time that it takes us to eat dinner, but will make sure we keep the volume even lower in future. I am sorry you did not mention this at the time, as we would have attended to it during your stay.
June 2017

Guilhem User Profile
March 2017
Pierre and Lisa's place is an excellent accommodation option in Westdene, a calm neighborhood at about 20min by car from the city centre. They're very welcoming and flexible, making sure everything goes fine. The bed is super comfortable, and the weekly room service perfect. Note that cooking is to be done with a micro wave, unless you chose to do it in the common area. The terrace is a shared area as well, but Pierre and Lisa are super discreet. We had a lovely dinner together at the beginning of my stay.
Lisa User Profile
Response from Lisa:
Hi Guilhem I hope you do come back soon! Thanks for the review. Enjoy your travels. Lisa and Pierre
March 2017

Ilias User Profile
December 2016
My stay at Lisa's was absolutely lovely. The cottage is very comfortable, and the charming owners, Lisa and Pierre, made me feeI at home The location of the cottage is also very convenient, close to Melville and the University of Johannesburg. Highly recommended!

Ilias User Profile
October 2016
This cottage is very nice, comfortable and well located. The owners, Lisa and Pierre, are extremely kind and helpful, and have made their best to help me settle and make myself feel at home. A great experience, and I've decided to stay two additional months!

Dan User Profile
August 2016
Lisa and Pierre really welcomed us into their home, and nothing we asked was too much trouble. The flat was clean, bright and well equipped.
Lisa User Profile
Response from Lisa:
Thanks Dan and Fabio. Hope you're sightseeing up a storm in your red racing car! If you decide to come back we have loads of shampoo with your names on it!!!!!
August 2016

Antonyos User Profile
August 2016
It was so fantastic to be wz MR.pierre and MRS.lisa I felt that I am wz my family so helpful,easygoing and funny ,, of course I will come Bk again Lisa , Pierre u r the best Thank u !

Johannesburg, South AfricaJoined in April 2011
Lisa User Profile

I have been a photographer for decades, worked for 3 national magazines, owned 2 photography businesses. I have photographed a wide range of subjects but since 2006 have concentrated mainly on real estate photography. I have written an ebook aimed at realtors to help them take better real estate photos.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings