Loft Room.A second view of the Loft Room.

Private room

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Enjoy spacious private room on forested property steps from Wheaton Metro and Mall. Share our kitchen, back deck and acre of woods. Easy parking, transit to D.C.

The space

We have a large guest room in our 4-bedroom home on a lovely, private, forested property featuring azalea, rhododendron and dogwood. The Loft Room has views of our terraced grounds, magnolia and spectacular sunsets beyond the sloping, canopied drive and neighboring rooftops. Deer frequent the grounds, geese reside nearby and an occasional red fox will scamper through the environs—all observable from this elevated perch. Complete with Verizon FIOS Wi-Fi/cable, fireplace and a washer-dryer. Three cats also share the house.

Guests travel quickly to Washington D.C. via Wheaton Metro Red line, located within a half mile. Alternatively, the No. 34 bus travels Connecticut Avenue for an easy ride to NIH and downtown DC. Westfield Mall is a 5-minute walk and hosts a movie theater, supermarkets, LA Fitness, Macys, Chipotle, CVS, UPS, phone stores and other retail.

Nearby Wheaton boasts an array of excellent ethnic restaurants with Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Indian, Vietnamese, Italian and all manner of Latin American cuisine. Your host (moi) is also a world traveler herself and can help your navigating metro D.C.

Kensington is known for its 'Antique Row,' a relaxing neighborhood walk away that also gains access to the MARC train. The station hosts a Saturday farmers' market with an array of local veggies, artisan cheeses, breads, free-range chicken, and ready-to-eat breakfast and lunch foods (including coffee!).

This is also a great location for those needing to commute Route 270 or the 495 Beltway for meetings.

Guest access

Kitchen, bathroom, washer/dryer, internet, easy parking, back deck, and fridge. Note that the house does not have Central Air Conditioning at this time but does have a window unit in the room.

Interaction with guests

This is my home so I am always present with guests. I also work from a home office on some days.

Other things to note

I do have three cats so if you are allergic that's important to know!


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 12 / night after the first guest
Weekend Price: 56 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 air mattress

House Rules
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM

No smoking in the house please, 420 or otherwise. Feel free to smoke on the back deck!

Pets are on a case by case basis. Let's discuss.

Air Conditioner should only be used when it is at least 80 degrees. The Earth appreciates it!

Please remember to leave your key.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

35 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sarah User Profile
May 2017
I am now a "regular" at Linda's house as I find a space very comfortable, the location ideally situated in relation to my nearby family, and the atmosphere relaxed and accommodating. I particularly enjoy sharing ideas with other members of the house. And if you're interested, there is even a resident chiropractor/physical therapist for at home sessions!

Sarah User Profile
January 2017
I enjoyed a private room with plenty of space, and shared access to the bathroom, kitchen, living room, terrace etc. Linda was very welcoming and thoughtful, and I was immediately comfortable with her. I also enjoyed exchanging ideas with the other guests in the house.

Shauna User Profile
June 2016
Linda was extremely accommodating. She allowed us in ahead of check-in time, made us feel welcome, and took time to orient us to her home and to the area. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The setting for the home was gorgeous and it was convenient to shopping and dining. Pretty good wifi speed. Off-street parking. Friendly felines. Fireflies in the backyard at night. What's not to like?

Shari User Profile
June 2016
I felt at home. Linda is fun. Beautiful neighborhood and wonderful cats. Close to shopping, restaurants and Metro.

Olga User Profile
April 2016
Linda is a wonderful host who made me feel home at her place. Her house is just a short stroll from a metro stop and a great variety of shopping and dining options are nearby. The area felt safe day and night. Quiet neighborhood and excellent base location for exploring DC area!

Shawnna User Profile
December 2015
Linda had soup ready for me upon my arrival which was very nice and it helped to warm me up. The bed was comfy and I had my own bathroom. She was very inviting and friendly. Enjoyed my short stay with her.

Cheryl User Profile
November 2015
I booked last minute with Linda and she was soooo accommodating for me. Sweet and well traveled lady we struck up very interesting conversations. I feel I've made a good friend in such a short time! Perfect location to Walter Reed and nice and cozy home!!

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews
Kensington, Maryland, United StatesJoined in August 2011
Linda User Profile

I worked for most of my career in the non-profit sector in Washington, D.C. on environmental and other public interest issues. I am now an eco-oriented real estate agent. You'll find me gardening and cooking up organic goodies to eat. I am an avid hiker and wild mushroom hunter and can tell you good places to get out in the woods. I enjoy hosting people!

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings