Cosy Double Cabin Bed En Suite WC & Shower Room - Shower Gel, Shampoo & Conditioner
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Located in the South Downs National Park in Sussex, in the South of England, Hut Therapy offers therapeutic accommodation in a bespoke recycled hut in the owner's garden. Guests enjoy whole food cuisine - natural and macrobiotic quality with special diets catered for naturally. We have access to London, Brighton, Lewes & Gatwick Airport by train, and are a short distance from the Seven Sisters Coast & Newhaven Ferry Port.

The space

The Space is a bespoke, therapeutic hut which sits in the corner of a private garden. It has a double cabin bed, an en-suite wc/shower room and small sitting area. There is a fridge, facilities for making hot drinks (including complementary herbal teas, grain coffee, grain milk, natural sweetener) as well as everything you need to prepare a cold meal - chopping board, plates, cups, cutlery etc, as well as an electric kettle & toaster. It also has a washing machine, and there is a rotary dryer in the garden. There is no microwave as these do not sit with our macrobiotic ethos of slow, mindful living.

Guest access

Guests have access to the gardens: there is a dining area on our sun-deck and additional benches to sit in our front and back gardens. You have the choice of eating breakfast and other meals in the Hut, our conservatory (April-October), and on the deck if sunny. In the winter, we invite you in to the house to share meals with us in our lounge.

Interaction with guests

I am a Macrobiotic Association accredited Macrobiotic Cook and Health Adviser and hold a Gold Eat Out Eat Well Award. There are macrobiotic quality and other whole food options for breakfast and I discuss these with you, on arrival. I am happy to talk about macrobiotics and can provide evening meals & packed lunches with advanced notice. For guests who want to explore macrobiotics further you are welcome to come and cook with me in the kitchen. I can send menus in advance of your stay, if required, but if you have specific dietary requirements please let me know these in advance of your visit. I am also available to help you plan days out, walks and sightseeing if needed.

Other things to note

We do not offer one night stays as they are not in keeping with our ethos of whole foods & slow living.

There is a no smoking, vaping policy in the Hut, communal areas inside and outside in the garden. We ask visitors not to burn candles or have other naked flames in the Hut.

As we are situated in a rural area, Wifi availability is dependant on your mobile provider - Vodaphone & 3i provide the best reception. Wifi is unavailable in the sleeping area and shower-room or at a table or desk in the Hut as this is a therapeutic space, not a study or office. Wifi reception is available next to and in the house where you will also find tables and chairs to sit - but please respect that it is a small house and there is also a family living there.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 15
Weekly Discount: 12%
Weekend Price: 58 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

House Rules

As this is a therapeutic space we have a no smoking policy - including outside areas.

The hut is wooden so on balance we feel it is safer not to burn candles inside.

We love animals and would welcome one small, well behaved dog. Please feed & water outside the Hut where you will find shelter. If you are returning from a muddy walk, please wash your furry friend with our garden hose (bring your own towels to dry down). We have our own furry friend - a Lab/Collie cross, uncastrated, male dog.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

28 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Liz User Profile
July 2017
The cabin was beautiful, with lovely finishing touches (like the slippers and the gorgeous complimentary cosmetics) that meant I felt pampered as well as keeping life simple for a few days. Gilly's cooking was delicious and I really started to feel the difference macrobiotics can make in just a few days. Gilly made me feel incredible welcome and had excellent advice about food - and about walks in the area. The countryside around is idyllic and I really felt like I's gotten away from it all even though I was only a short train ride from Brighton.

Sam User Profile
May 2017
Thank you for a lovely weekend stay. The food was delicious and the setting was beautiful. Would gladly stay again!

Liz User Profile
May 2017
We had a very relaxing short stay here. Walks nearby are stunning with plenty of pubs (one just a couple of minute's walk away) and Gilly and her family are very welcoming. We were allergic to feathers and forgot to mention this when booking but Gilly was accommodating at the last moment! A lovely breakfast was included and the cabin was cosy :)

Aidan User Profile
April 2017
Gilly's hut is magical. The hut is a true gem, tucked away in the corner of a lovely garden, which is tucked away in a quaint small village in the insanely beautiful South Downs countryside of southern England. I cycled the region for the weekend and came back to lovely hot showers, a cosy hut with a great bed and a hot water bottle! Not having my wife and little boy with me was tough but there was enough wifi to have a conversation and then disconnect back into a good book. Previously I didn't know much about macrobiotic food, but now thanks to Gilly's generosity i know enough to make a couple of informed decisions about what and how I cook and eat in the future. Not sure I will go the whole macrobiotic way but I'm delighted I met Gilly and Mike and learned lots. Highly recommend if you're looking for a relaxing weekend. Check out the telephone box on the street outside!
Gilly User ProfileGilly is a superhost.
Response from Gilly:
So glad you managed to relax and gleaned just a little of the macrobiotic way. Big kiss and hug for wife and baby when you return home.....x
April 2017

Thea User Profile
April 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Gilly and Mike. The Hut was warm, clean and comfortable. The location is great for local walkways or driving a short distance to explore nearby towns, coastline, and greenery. The food was my favourite part - Gilly is very talented in the kitchen! Gilly, Mike, and their dog Ossie were great hosts. I would definitely recommend.

Judith User Profile
April 2017
Gilly was a great host, and the breakfast was awesome. She made sure that everyone of us (incl. our 2 small kids) were served something we liked for breakfast. She also was very helpful indicating some sights and routes. Thank you again, Gilly! Gilly's and Duncan's dog Ozzy is very well-behaved and great with kids. Our eldest daughter (5) was delighted being able to play with him after breakfast. Check-in was wonderfully flexible - arranged per e-Mail one day before our arrival and phone on our way to the hut, which we appreciated very much. The hut is small but very cozy, decorated with love. The description given fits the hut very well! The only thing that might be added is that wireless lan is not really available (only in certain corners of the hut, also depending on the wlan card of the device your using, weater...) as it's simply a broadcast from the house. This was fine for us but may be a problem if you counted on it as the list of haves jsut says wlan on airbnb.s The heating consists of an electronic heater. As the space is limited it's a bit difficult to place it in a way that it doesn't stand too close to any fabric and also not in your way. Especially for people traveling with children or a dog that might pose a challenge. However, as you don't need it always when you are discovering the area or snuggling up in the great&comfy bed, that's perfectly fine. Just may be worth an extra line in the description :)
Gilly User ProfileGilly is a superhost.
Response from Gilly:
Thank you for your helpful feedback. To clarify - we are situated in the countryside so WiFi is variable according to your network provider - Vodaphone & o2 gets best reception (I believe Judith's provider was 3i). However reception is not available at the back of the Hut - in the bed and bathroom. We believe this is a positive as the Hut is run as a therapeutic space and therefore most guests are encouraged to switch off their mobile phones. We recommend guests finding themselves without reception to use computers/phones in the house where there is super fast broadband and also a good sized table to sit at. The Hut is marketed as suitable for 2 adults + 1 small child. Judith was made aware of this at the time of booking that there would be space issues in the Hut: 4 persons came up on the booking. Judith somehow over-rided Airbnb filters and wanted to go ahead with the booking regardless.
April 2017

Jitka User Profile
August 2016
Gilly was an excellent host, she even came to meet us at a gate with a torch as we arrived later then expected on our bikes! The food offered was amazing experience and we have never head such a colorful, varied and balanced breakfast before (complimented with great chat)! Gilly's dog is also a brilliant addition to fun, relaxing and home atmosphere and such a delight to be around with! We would thoroughly recommend and much hope to return back again!

Lewes, United KingdomJoined in April 2014
Gilly User ProfileGilly is a superhost.

Accredited Macrobiotic Cook & Health Advisor

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings