The window looks over the leafy back garden.Dining
Walk to the city/ANU. Women & couples only
Walk to the city/ANU. Women & couples only
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Our inner city home is in the leafy older suburb of O'Connor, Canberra, with unparalleled access to the city or the Australian National University by bus, walking or riding. We will accept single women or couples, or single parent with one child but sorry, no single men. To fit in with your travel needs, we have very flexible check in check out time.

The space

Our home is a 2 story older style built in the 1950's but it is warm (or cool) and comfortable with quality furnishings in the room. The bed is double with quality linens and a heater or a fan in summer. There is a reading lamp on the bedside table. There is a desk and chair if you would like to sit and work on your laptop, or you can do this in bed of course. You are also welcome to take your breakfast tray up to your room to enjoy a warm relaxing breakfast.

Guest access

You will have access to a shared bathroom that was totally renovated January 2017 used by myself and my daughter. The house has 2 toilets. We have a leafy front and back yard with nice spots to sit and read or study. There is an old iron bed we use as a day bed on the front balcony. Its nice to sit and sip tea there and watch the birds - even in winter this can be pleasant but not until about 11am!
You are welcome to use the kitchen if you would like to cook for yourself but you must also clean up after yourself.

Interaction with guests

A simple breakfast of tea, coffee, toast, spreads and cereals is included in the nightly fee - or, feel free to cook an egg. We can provide you with a home cooked evening meal if we are cooking that night, at a small cost of $10. Ask me if I am cooking or busy. If you are with us for several days you are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare your own food but also clean up after yourself. We have a quiet home and I tend to watch ABC TV in the evening and you are welcome to do that too. Otherwise, come and go as you please and pat the dogs as much as you want ... you can even take them for a walk if you are a dog lover and missing your own pet!

Other things to note

We have WiFi at home and so do the local cafes. Its lovely to sit sipping coffee and use the WiFi at O'Connor or Lyneham.
Please be respectful of our WiFi and don't use it for huge downloads.
There are stairs in the house and the bedrooms and bathroom are upstairs.
We have a big driveway so if you are driving you can park off street.


Amenities
Breakfast
Internet

Prices
Extra people £12 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 14%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)

There is strictly no smoking inside the house. If you smoke outside you must not ash or put butts out on the ground. Please don't invite friends over without checking with us first - we see this accommodation as a quiet comfortable place to come and go relax and sleep while you visit or study in Canberra but at such a low cost it is not a party opportunity.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

86 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sara User Profile
December 2016
I felt a bit like Goldilocks - after a long haul flight, I could let myself in and get some rest on a very comfortable bed with lovely linen sheets. Without much energy to rummage for food, having the option of a home-cooked meal was very much appreciated. Breakfast gets a special mention as it was exactly as I would have chosen - healthy and wholesome with quality ingredients. Above all, Lorese was a wonderful, generous and caring host, and her daughters were lovely too. Thanks to you all for making me feel at home in Canberra!

Paul User Profile
June 2014
Lorese was very welcoming, room was very comfortable, and her property is an easy walk to the city and ANU.

Sara User Profile
October 2017
Comfortable room very clean, and quiet. Louise is a welcoming host and she has two friendly dogs and a very sweet bunny rabbit.

Alice User Profile
October 2017
Lovely quiet homely place. Easy to get around and into the city. Friendly host, friendly doggies.

Renee User Profile
October 2017
Louise is a great host, and the place is very convenient to ANU. The walk to the city is pleasant and winds through a park. Louise was very helpful with anything I needed, especially tips about good local spots for coffee etc., and generally made the stay fantastic!

Charlie User Profile
September 2017
Louise is a great host! Very welcoming and warm. She even turned the heater on in my room in the evening so it was lovely and warm when I got back. The bedroom is lovely and the bed super comfy and warm! Overall a highly recommended place to stay in Canberra.

Michelle User Profile
September 2017
Small but nice place. Heater works well for those cold days and nights. Louise is very friendly and welcoming. Always asking if i needed anything and offering suggestions of things to make my stay more comfortable.

Canberra, AustraliaJoined in April 2014
Louise User Profile

I am a teacher writer and editor. I am a contented soul who likes her own space but also likes to meet people. I love people when they are sensitive and not too noisy! (Geez that sounds cranky old womanish doesn't it?) I love reading, writing, philosophizing, drinking nice wine, swimming, walking, camping. I am a bit of a hippy at heart. I've traveled to the UK and Italy and I love that part of the world. As I teach English as a Second Language I want to travel again soon and teach English along the way.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings