1 of 2 living areasdeck leading from the dining room
Private room in nice home and quiet neighborhood
Private room in nice home and quiet neighborhood


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

furnished rooms with comfortable queen bed and private bath. Share kitchen and other living areas. Newly remodeled ranch on 1.7 acres in quiet tree lined street. Just minutes from downtown Durham, Duke and UNC Hospitals and Universities. Additional comfort items available; comforters, air mattress, baby crib, highchair . Your small pet is negotiable

The space

private room with own bath available in newly remodeled ranch home situated on 1.7 wooded acres. Just minutes from downtown Durham and both Duke campuses within easy walking distances of well known eateries. Amenities include WiFi internet, TV in main living rooms, semi shared refrigerator and food prep area in addition to full service kitchen. Open living floor plans with ability to divide rooms for privacy. Enjoy complimentary coffee supplies along with bathroom essentials

private bathroom with shower, bath towels, wooded yard and decks, kitchen and eating facilities, living areas, laundry room/pantry area

quiet one way street where everyone knows and cares about each other. We are nice people!!

bus route moderate walking distance. Downtown Durham is 6 minutes and Duke University is 10 mins. (about 5 miles to either East or West campus). Lots of fine eating establishments within walking distance. UNC is 20 minutes by car

kitchen is remodeled with easy large living spaces connecting kitchen, pantry, living room(s) and dining spaces

Guest access

own bathroom with shower, bath towels, private yard and decks, kitchen and eating facilities, living areas, shared pantry with potential other renters include refrigerator, sink and prep area and kitchen cabinets. All house guests share the main kitchen space for cooking and socializing

Interaction with guests

as much or as little as they prefer

Other things to note

kitchen is remodeled with large living spaces connecting kitchen, pantry, living room(s) and dining spaces. Lots of windows overlooking wooded lot


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: £24
Security Deposit: £162
Weekly Discount: 8%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in time is flexible

there are 2 living areas which can be separated by french doors so there is privacy other than the bedroom. No smoking in house but there is lots of outdoor space. Restrict eating in the common areas and not in bedrooms.
Events and parties are most welcome as long as planned with notice and agreement


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

16 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Katrina User Profile
June 2016
Thalea's place was lovely and comfortable. Nice spacious house with very comfortable quiet bedroom. The house is on a 2 acre wooded property with beautiful trees and birds. Very peaceful environment. Thalia provided all the comforts and amenities necessary. Overall, highly recommend if you need a place to stay in Durham.

Kevin User Profile
June 2016
My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Thalea's home. She was accommodating on our arrival and departure times given our very early and very late flights. The house is really comfortable and the property is beautiful- essentially a suburban nature preserve. I travel to Durham semi-regularly and would be very glad to stay with Thalea again.

Caitlin User Profile
May 2016
Thalea was a wonderful host! She was helpful and hospitable. We felt right at home. The location was nice and quiet. It's an easy drive around Raleigh-Durham/Chapel Hill.

George User Profile
May 2016
Thalea was kind enough to take my reservation at the last minute…the very last minute. This was my first experience with Airbnb and because of Thalea's concern for my comfort and the overall experience, it will not be my last. She was so genuinely hospitable and greeted me as soon as I drove into the drive, much like family or a friend would do. Her home was very warm and comfortable. The place was spotless with a great deal of 50's sprawling ranch charm. The bedroom and private bath were large and quite comfortable. Thalea made me feel comfortable in her home as well as allowed me to catch up on some work. She was a great hostess and I would recommend her home for someone on a short or long stay in Durham. It is not only very quiet and peaceful but it is very convenient to Durham, Duke, Chapel Hill and UNC and some great restaurants.

Taylor User Profile
May 2016
Thalea was a fantastic host! She was understanding of us coming in pretty late every night (generally after 2am) and had great recommendations on local hangs. Her house was extremely clean and welcoming, with a location that made it extremely easy to get to and from downtown. We hope to stay with her when we go to Moogfest again next year!

Danielle User Profile
May 2016
Thalia was a very friendly and welcoming host. She had a lovely home on a quiet street that was very conveniently located for all of our activities. We look forward to staying with her if we find ourselves in Durham in the future. Thank you!

10/10 would stay again. I've stayed with Thalea for two months with my wife and son (1.5 yrs old). She is a very warm and helpful host, and really goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. There are many things that I've enjoyed about our stay, and made for an excellent experience overall (e.g., occasional dinner parties, the nice neighborhood, relaxing outside on the deck, watching birds and deers in the garden). Thalea is also great with children, and I really enjoyed how she quickly became good friends with my son. Furthermore, I was surprised that the listing is actually quite large, and also includes a private living area and kitchenette (i.e., freezer, cabinets, workspace).

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

Durham, North Carolina, United States · Joined in April 2014
Thalea User Profile

Hi everyone. I hope you will enjoy your stay in my home. I work full time as a nurse and part time in the yachting industry. I enjoy yard work, home projects and love to cook. There is so much to do in Durham which is 6 minutes away. I would love to show you around and have you as my guest in my home!

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.