Your bedroom.Your bedroom.
Lovely room in central, historic flat.
Hosted by Maia
Maia is the host.Maia is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

My flat is a spacious and homely ground floor flat located in the historic, residential neighbourhood of Marchmont. There are lots of great little shops and cafes on the doorstep. It is a 20 minute walk into the centre of town and the main train and bus stations, through The Meadows. The location of the flat is perfect for getting to all the central Edinburgh Festival venues and for the University of Edinburgh campus in George Square.

The space

Your bedroom has a lovely, comfortable king size bed, a desk, a walk-in cupboard and a garden view. The flat is attractively decorated and has wooden floors and original Victorian features throughout. There is a pretty little garden in front of your bedroom window and a peaceful private patio to the back of the flat, where you can sit in the sun.

Guest access

You will have private use of your room and will share the rest of the apartment with me and my partner. You will have full access to all amenities in the apartment. The kitchen is equipped with a gas cooker, fridge-freezer and washing machine. The living room has a television and there is super fast wifi.

Interaction with guests

I live in the apartment and would like to welcome you into my home. I enjoy sharing a cup of coffee with my guests and getting to know them a little. I am always delighted to help my guests get the most out of their visit to the city of Edinburgh and the rest of Scotland too.

Other things to note

Please note that my flat is strictly no smoking.
It would be appreciated if you could take off your shoes when in the flat.
Thanks.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
TV

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £5
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 6PM - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

Smoking is strictly not allowed.
Please take off outdoor shoes when in the house.
Please respect my neighbours and keep noise to a minimum, especially after 10pm. Thank you.

You must also acknowledge
No parking on property - Roadside parking near the flat is metered Monday to Friday 8.30 to 17.30. Spaces are limited and for a maximum of 4 hours. Weekend parking is free.
Some spaces are shared - The kitchen, bathroom and living room are shared with me and my partner.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay.
From Oct 1 - Nov 3, 2017 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

20 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Roman User ProfileRoman is a superhost.
October 2017
We did have an amazing stay at Maia and Brian house. We got a real local experince, this a great sample of Airbnb. Maia is very reliable host, everything organized perfectly. Lots of local info and very valuable advices. We had very interesting conversations during morning coffee and evening tea time. The area is very convenient for easy access to all central places. Some nice coffee shops and amazing Organic shop nearby. I must mention how nice the bed was. We enjoyed great night rest.
Maia User ProfileMaia is a superhost.
Response from Maia:
Thank you for such a lovely review Roman. It was fun meeting you too and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay - and the coffee shops! :)
October 2017

Lulu User Profile
October 2017
Lovely house, near the meadows, and the city center. Maia is more than a great host, do not hesitate in asking her any recommendations you might need she is happy to help and know the city very well!!!
Maia User ProfileMaia is a superhost.
Response from Maia:
Thank you for such a lovely review Lulu. It was a real pleasure to have you to stay. :)
October 2017

Jan User Profile
October 2017
The flat is in a great location, with a lovely walk over the Meadows into the centre of town. It's very comfortable (and quiet), and Maia made me feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend!

Boyanna User Profile
September 2017
The location is very good for exploring the centre and the round abouts of Edinburgh, about a 15-20 mins lovely walk into town through the park. The flat is lovely, spacious and light, a large bedroom with a really comfortable bed and all the facilities you need for a stay. Maia offered good suggestions on places to see, have coffee etc and provided maps and local information all really useful. We have a lovely stay.

Rachel User Profile
August 2017
It was lovely to stay in Maia's flat for our stay during The Fringe. Hosts were friendly and informative giving us ideas of what to do and how to get to places. The location was great and we were able to walk to all the main attractions. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Would definitely stay again if we came back to Edinburgh.

Samantha User Profile
July 2017
Maia was a fantastic host. She was friendly and welcoming soon as she opened the door. She was very helpful with good local knowledge which was very useful for planning our short visit. We really noticed her attention to detail and it was clear how much thought and effort she'd put into her guests comfort. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean, as was the rest of the house. The location is ideal, situated right by the Meadows and within walking distance of central Edinburgh. Very good value for money. Three days just wasn't enough!
Maia User ProfileMaia is a superhost.
Response from Maia:
What a really lovely review - thanks Samantha! It was great meeting you and Cameron and I'm so pleased you had a good stay here. Come back any time! :)
July 2017

Teysha User Profile
July 2017
Maia was an absolute delightful host. The room and house were gorgeous and in an excellent location to walk to the city centre. She was very helpful with tips for the area. Would definitely recommend and stay here again! Thanks for everything!!
Maia User ProfileMaia is a superhost.
Response from Maia:
Thank you for being such wonderful guests for my first Airbnb hosting experience! :)
July 2017

Edinburgh, United KingdomJoined in April 2014
Maia User ProfileMaia is a superhost.

I'm 46, and after leaving school in Dundee, I moved to Edinburgh to go to university, and I've stayed here ever since! Edinburgh is a wonderful city to call home and Marchmont is a lovely little community. There is nothing I like better on a sunny day than spending time pottering about in the shared garden or out in the neighbourhood.

In my free time, I love being outdoors. That includes walking in the mountains enjoying the peace but also getting some adrenaline on my road bike! I am a member of a walking group and we often spend weekends up in the Highlands, (until the midges force us back!). When I have the chance, I also love trekking in Europe and Asia and it is great to have these opportunities to experience different cultures and meet lots of new people too.

I have two jobs, one in healthcare and one in higher education: I work part-time as a child and adolescent psychiatrist with NHS Lothian, and part-time in a medical education role with The University of Edinburgh. I am really interested in the relationships between how we learn and how our minds and brains develop, so having these two jobs helps me combine all these interests.

So, that's a bit about me! I have just started Airbnb hosting this year and I am really looking forward to joining the community and to meeting you. :)

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings