Skip to content
Guest roomGuest room
Huge room, arty eclectic home +cats
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Very large room with queen bed, desk and sitting area overlooking a balcony of plants and herbs bathed in morning sun. Sharing an artist's warehouse-style townhouse in a dynamic, central neighbourhood full of restaurants, cafés, bars and unique local shops. Public transport literally on the doorstep.

The space

Guests have their own private room with a comfortable queen bed, work space/desk and small sitting area. The large window looks north-east over a small sunny, balcony filled with river stones and fresh herbs. The room also has a walk-in wardrobe with a chest of drawers, great for getting suitcases/packs out of the way.

The room has a large television and DVD player, as well as a selection of DVDs, games, magazines and books. Fresh linen and towels are provided, as well as a heater and a fan for your comfort. We have decorated the room with the works of local Australian printmakers and retro Melbournalia.

The guest room and your hosts' bedroom are located at either end of the second floor (upstairs), which has a beautiful parquetry wood floor. The shared bathroom is located between the bedrooms, and has a shower over the bath. Also on this floor are the balcony, a small laundry and a relaxed living space with a very comfortable couch.

The polished concrete, downstairs floor of our townhouse is open plan, with glass along one entire wall. It contains the kitchen, a large dining table, another living area and your hosts' workshop/artist's studio, plus an additional toilet.

Our home is full of books, music and the works of local artists, as well as various mementos from our travels.

Guest access

Guests will share our kitchen, bathroom and two living rooms with us and our two friendly cats, Aiko and Flux.

Guests are welcome to cook in the kitchen and can use our pots/pans/utensils, crockery and cutlery, and can also store food in our pantry and fridge. You are also welcome to use the washing machine.

Guests will be provided with their own keys, so you can come and go as you please during your stay.

Interaction with guests

The room is in our home so we will be living together throughout your stay. However, there is plenty of space for guests who value their privacy as our home is split over two floors, with two separate living rooms plus a third sitting area within your own private room. We are more than happy to chat with guests and advise them on all that Melbourne has to offer - just ask!

As Julian works from home most days, he is able to meet you at the station and/or greet you when you arrive.

Other things to note

As this is our home, it's important to us that we feel comfortable with you as well as you with us. We are LGBTI friendly and welcome guests from any background. We also welcome children, however our house is not baby/toddler-proof and your children's safety is your responsibility.

Also, please note that:
- The TV in the guest room has unreliable reception and is better for playing DVDs (we have many in the room for you to watch).
- The window in the guest room does not open, so the room can get a bit stuffy during prolonged hot weather if you don't open the door and/or use the fan to ventilate it.
- The air conditioner is located in the upstairs lounge room adjacent to the guest room, not actually in the guest room itself (so it will only cool your room if you leave the door open).
- If you wish to keep your room cat-free, you will need to shut the door or you may well find yourself a feline companion!

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Hangers
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £12
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Standard house etiquette applies, and we expect guests to clean up after themselves when using the kitchen.

This is a no-smoking house, although guests may smoke on the balcony.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door
Availability
1 night minimum stay

50 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mary User Profile
March 2016
There were some difficulties with the original booking but Julian and Eleanore acted quickly to sort out a solution by giving up a private room. They are very generous people. The room was clean and comfortable.

Mischa User Profile
March 2016
Julian And Eleanore were kind and welcoming, we had some good conversations and I appreciated their creative and engaged personalities. Unfortunately the lack of ventilation/aircon in the (beautiful but stuffy) room combined with the warm and humid weather caused me to leave early, the huge window (that doesn't open) heating up the room very efficiently. In cooler weather or with some modifications to the air flow I could recommend staying with this host, all else was to a high standard

Charlie User Profile
December 2014
Nice big room to stay. Helpful hosts when needed. Great location just outside the main city, tram stop right outside apartment.

Lewis & Rhiannon User Profile
October 2014
Julian greeted us and showed is to our room! We were then left to our own devices safe knowing that if we needed anything we could ask! A good stopover in a unique place!

Paul And Zoe User Profile
October 2014
We had a good time staying with Julian and Eleanore. The room we had was nice and big and Northcote is a well located area, about 25 mins from the cbd. Northcote itself has plenty of shops and restaurants and had plenty to explore. Both Julian and Eleanore were nice and they gave us information about the local area. Thanks!

Lisa User Profile
September 2014
Great little find. Julian and Eleanore are lovely hosts wuth lots of knowledge of the local area and beyond. The room was perfect, and the shared bathroom not a problem given the extra toilet downstairs. Easy to get into town ... we actually walked but got the tram back which was easy to navigate. I'd definitely recommend this page and would stay again if I'm ever back in Melbourne. Thanks guys :)

Nga Sze Anna User Profile
November 2017
Julian and Eleanore are great host, place is comfortable and clean. It is near to the tram station and shopping store.

Melbourne, AustraliaJoined in October 2011
Julian And Eleanore User Profile

We are a couple in our early/mid 30s. Eleanore works in social justice and Julian has been many things including an artist, gallery manager and primary school teacher. We love travelling and exploring new cities on foot, especially the more authentic parts off the well-travelled tourist trail. In Melbourne, we are bike riders rather than car drivers. We have used airbnb when we travel for many years and decided a few years ago to open our home to airbnb guests.

Languages: English
Response rate: 75%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings