The rented bedroom - with mirrored built-in wardrobe, and direct access to the outdoor terrace.

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

It's a quirky little inner city house - tucked away in a quiet street, but close to everything you'll want to see. The room on offer is air-conditioned, with a smart TV, iPod connected alarm clock, and opens onto an outdoor terrace area.

The space

Welcome to Sydney!

This quirky terrace house has been recently renovated from its old corner shop origins to be a bright and airy open-plan designer residence with quality inclusions throughout. The house has two bedrooms and two bathrooms (one of each occupied by the owner). The rented bedroom has a mirrored built-in wardrobe, and private access to the outdoor raised terrace area - perfect for catching a bit of Sydney sun. The room also comes with a double bed, an LCD TV with Entertainment channels from Foxtel/cable TV, and a radio/alarm clock that also acts as an iPod/iPhone charger and music player. It is also fully air-conditioned (as is the remainder of the house).

Guests have their own bathroom (on the ground floor), and use of the new kitchen (gas cook top and electric oven, dishwasher and fridge) along with use of the front-loading washing machine.

The lounge and main TV area is also available for use by guests. The house is situated in a quite street in Darlinghurst. The great thing is, it's just a minute from all the action. If you're not familiar with Sydney, Darlinghurst is right near the CBD, and is known for its vibrant night-life, shops and eateries. Maps of the area and walking tours will be made available to all guests.

Taylor Square (just one minute walk away) is a transport hub, with buses running into the city centre (just a couple stops away), as well as to Bondi Junction / Bondi Beach and Coogee.

A minimum three night stay is required.

* The guest bathroom is on the ground floor, while the bedroom is on the first floor of the house, so there are stairs involved.
* The Street View feature on this site seems to depict the house in Flinders Street - not the much quieter Chisholm Street where the house is actually located.

Thanks for checking out my listing, and I look forward to meeting you!

PS.... after hosting for around 2 years I had to cancel my first booking in May 2014, as the guest used an instant booking feature without first contacting me. PLEASE make contact before booking in case I have last minute work travel myself that may impact on bookings.

Guest access

Guests have full access to the living area and kitchen. They have their own bathroom (on different level to the bedroom), bedroom, and direct access to the outdoor terrace area.

Interaction with guests

I'm happy to socialise with guests, but just as happy to give them their own space if that is what they're after.

I generally work weekdays, but I'm just a phone call away if needed.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 6PM
Check Out: 1PM
Room type: Private room


Extra people: 22 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 76 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 6PM

No smoking inside.

As I work full time I can only guarantee a late check-in (after 6pm) on weekdays. However, there is some flexibility with this, depending on your arrival day and time (any time on weekends is fine for example, and I can sometimes get away during lunch breaks if my workload permits).

So if you have your travel details and would like an earlier check-in..... please ask and it may be possible.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Lock on bedroom door

2 nights minimum stay

91 Reviews

Check In
Darius User Profile
May 2017
David's place is awesome, amazing location and I loved my little morning routine of doing yoga in the sun on the patio outside my room. David was lovely and very easy going, he is a gentlemen.

Alex User Profile
May 2017
David's place was great. It's a super cool place with some very fun artwork and it's right around the corner from Oxford Street which has a ton of bars and restaurants. The place was incredibly clean. The bedroom has a door directly out to a terrace which was great as well. David was very responsive and a great host. He had a great booklet of suggestions on things to do, places to eat, etc., and even joined in on a trip to the bar. Very respectful of space and very pleasant to be around! Definitely will recommend this place to friends and family that visit.

Stanislava User Profile
May 2017
David is such a lovely host - and was really kind and accomodating. The house is lovely, and the room has the most beautiful terrace roof. The location is brilliant, and so easy to walk from. Everything is set up great, and I'd be so happy to stay again any time!

Wouter User Profile
April 2017
Private balcony, aircon, Fox, Apple TV Quality linen and lush towels Very close to Oxford Street and public transport David is friendly and a very food host.

Matt User Profile
April 2017
I had a wonderful stay at David's home. What an incredible location literally on the doorstep of Flinders St and Oxford St (including many of the most well-known gay bars/clubs), and yet so quiet. From there you can also pretty much get yourself anywhere in Sydney really easily and quickly. The property is exactly as described, and if anything, had a few pleasant surprises in terms of the various things he provided. Oh, and the bed is super comfy. I didn't have much opportunity to interact with David (as I was mainly seeing friends and attending a wedding), but he provided everything I needed and was really nice and flexible. I would very happily stay with David again the next time I'm in Sydney.

Chandrashekhar User Profile
March 2017
Stayed here for 2 weeks. The place is as the pictures depict. Overall a comfortable stay with all the amenities a business or casual traveller would need.David is a nice and accomodative host. Would stay here again.

Don User Profile
March 2017
Thank you David for being such a wonderful host. Got me settled in pretty quick and was helpful in answering my queries promptly

Darlinghurst, AustraliaJoined in January 2012
David User ProfileDavid is a superhost.

Inner city Sydney guy, loves to travel, but has mostly only explored Europe and the US so far! Favourite destinations are Berlin, New York, Chicago, and Barcelona. Looking forward to exploring more, and hosting visitors from all around the globe!

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings