Sunny 1 BR, West 80s & Central Park
Hosted by Brian
Brian is the host.
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

CURRENTLY SEEKING A BOOKING between NOVEMBER 27 and DECEMBER 15 - if your dates are later than December 15 please message before trying to book. If the booking starts December 9-15 we will be installing a new floor before your booking - pricing reflects this. Nicely appointed apartment, fully furnished and equipped. Has a queen sized bed, couch, TV, etc. read full description for more. Neighborhood is very nice, and close to Central Park.

The space

Great one bedroom in the West 80s, just off Central Park West on the Upper West Side.

The apartment is located on West 82nd Street between Columbus and Central Park West, one block from the Museum of Natural History, a one minute walk to Central Park and one block from the subway (A/B/C/D and 1/2/3 lines). It was just completely painted.

The apartment features:

* The ENTIRE one-bedroom apartment. It is all private.
* Queen sized bed, nightstand, alarm clock, dresser and closet in bedroom.
* New couch that can be used as a bed, end table, large closet, and 2 person table in living room.
* Full Bathroom with tub - strong water pressure and hot water all day.
* Fully equipped kitchen with oven and refrigerator. Has plates, cups, cutlery and basic cooking equipment.
* Basic Cable TV
* wireless Internet
* Coffee maker.
* NO SMOKING apartment.
* Bedding, linens and towels are provided.
* DECORATIVE FIREPLACE - you can light candles in it but not a fire!
* Walking distance to Central Park, Lincoln Center, American Museum of Natural History, Broadway Theaters, Columbus Circle, Fifth Avenue, Tiffany's, Saks, MoMA, Sony AMC theatre, Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, Trump Tower and more.
* Ten minutes to Columbia University and Midtown, 20 minutes to Downtown.

Please note that this is a four flight walkup.

Guest access

You will have access to the entire apartment.

Interaction with guests

I will meet you for check in, am available for any problems, and I live in the building, so I will probably see you a few times in the hallway, but outside of that, its your apartment when you rent it, I resect your privacy.

Other things to note

Electric and Gas is included, up to $200 per month. If you go over this, we reserve the right to charge you the difference. This could only happen during the summer if you leave the air conditioner continuously running at an unreasonable temperature (under 65F/18C for example). The electric company bills us at the end of the month, so it may take a few weeks to find this out.

Wireless Internet

Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £78
Security Deposit £234
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM

BUILDING: You are staying as a guest in the apartment of the tenant of a residential apartment building. Please be considerate of the other tenants in the building, all of whom reside here full time. DO NOT loiter in the halls of the building – especially when you are arriving or departing.

ACCESS: We may access the apartment between 10:30 am and 6 pm any day of the week for the purpose of showing the apartment to potential guests. We will give you prior day's notice in the Air BnB messaging center (no later than 9 pm the night before).

EXTERMINATOR: As a preventative measure, the building provides an exterminator once a month. The exterminator comes between 8:30am and 11:30 am the first Thursday of the month. Please allow the exterminator access to the apartment.

LOCKOUTS AND KEYS: There is a $25 charge for a lockout. Should guests lose a set of keys there is an $80 charge for re-keying the lock(s).

BEDDING/TOWELS: We supply two sets of bedding. We also supply at least two sets of towels per person specified on the booking. It is the guest's responsibility to have these cleaned during their stay. If you are going to use the aerobed, please let me know when you book so we can leave two sets of bedding out for that too.

SMOKING: Smoking is not permitted inside the apartment or in the building.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - This is a four flight walkup.
Pet(s) live on property - Pets live in the building and pets have lived in this apartment before.
No parking on property - There is street parking available but no designated parking, as this is New York City.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

30 nights minimum stay

13 Reviews

Check In
Jamie User ProfileJamie is a superhost.
September 2017
I stayed here for a month for work, and was amazed at how convenient the entire neighborhood was! The kitchen had a bunch of tools which was great for making dinner on the nights we didn't want to explore the numerous delicious options in the surrounding blocks. A very nice stay!

Joely User Profile
August 2017
I lived with one roommate while we were both interning in the city. We had a phenomenal stay and loved our experience. It was a block away from the ACE line which super convenient. The UWS was amazing!!!!

Alex User Profile
March 2017
This is a perfect little apartment in one of the best neighborhoods in NYC. You are half a block to Central Park, one block from the subway, and there is an endless choice of restaurants, bars, and shops nearby. And the Natural History Museum! The Met is a short stroll across the park. And for long-distance runners, the Hudson Riverside is a few blocks away. I stayed here with my young daughter and our dogs for several months while looking for a permanent place in NYC and could not have been happier. The local public school (PS9) is AMAZING, the neighborhood is quiet and super safe, and the building itself is small and friendly. Brian lives two floors down so is always there if needed. I couldn't recommend this place more for your first long-term experience in NYC. It's like living in a Woody Allen movie, except everyone is happy.

Husain User Profile
October 2016
Good place to stay in.

Lee User Profile
November 2014
We were relocating back to NYC and used this apartment for a couple of months as a temporary place whilst looking for something more permanent. The location is excellent: beside Central Park, near Museum of Nat History and close to subway, bus line, restaurants and bars. The apt itself and furniture are old and run down. There is not much that one can do on the apt but 'new' furniture might help (change the carpets, couch, dining set, etc). The place is convenient for 1 person staying for a short period...two might be a bit tight. Brian is a lovely host - he is customer oriented, responsive and professional.

Jon User Profile
July 2014
We are a couple of teachers on summer break who stayed here a month just for vacation and we had a great time at this apartment. The place was clean and had most items one would need to spend a month or two. Still some pet hair on the rugs but nothing major. The AC units worked great as did the internet. We wished the TV was upgraded to a smart TV but we were rarely there so it wasn't missed much. The area is amazing and we had a very enjoyable time. Brian was very quick to fix a frig issue we had and also to reply to our questions. Good guy. The building is over 100 years old so there are some creaks here and there but knowing what we know now, we would have still stayed there for our month trip. Jon

Cristina User Profile
May 2014
My daughter and I stayed in this apartment for 1 month. It couldn't have been worse! First, the place was so dirty, dusty, w/ cat fur ALL OVER the place, specially the rugs, we did not dare to touch our feet on the ground. I can't even begin to describe the smell: even though the weather was cold, we just left the window opened (w/ a support as it wouldn't stay opened on its own). The bathtub and bathroom curtains were so filthy they left the water a black-brown color when we tried to wash them. The kitchen utensils were extremely greasy, and we didn't even dare to use the appliances as they were covered in a black mass, whatever it was. The shower was either too cold or too hot! Don't stay here if you have children, are elderly, disabled in any way, or carrying any baggage as the 4 flights of insanely steep and narrow stairs are to die for!!! The landlord will take prospective tenants to the apartment (so annoying!). The aerobed would deflate completely during the night, which left me w/ severe back pain. On our first day Brian (the host) was really rude! He apologized later, but his actions were, at least, unprofessional. As you can see, there were so many problems we decided not to complain to Brian about any, he obviously knew about them... We just decided to warn the AirBnB community not to make the same mistake we did and book this place. Everything was so grossly dirty we felt disrespected! The ONLY good thing was the location: 4-5 min to the B and C lines and 10 min to the 1 line. We loved the Upper West Side and our beautiful trip to NYC! Everything was perfect except for the awful accommodation. Please, do yourself a favor and come to this wonderful city, just stay someplace else!!! Or book it at your own risk...
Brian User Profile
Response from Brian:
Regardless of where you stay, if you ANY problem with the apartment BE A RESPONSIBLE GUEST AND TELL YOUR HOST – we are not psychic, we cannot know if you are not happy if you don't say anything! As Christina says above, she didn’t complain once about the problems she said she had; had she done this I would have immediately addressed them. Of particular concern is her issue with cleaning; we used Air BnB’s cleaning service to do this and they would have come back to clean the place to her satisfaction. Regardless, I have had Air BnB refund her the cleaning fee they charged us. When Christina arrived, I was sick with the flu and had a 101-degree fever. I expanded this to her but she didn’t care and wasn’t happy that I was physically unable to help her with her luggage. This is the source of her comment that I was rude to her. Apparently, being sick is also unprofessional. The walk up and the potential showings of the apartment are all disclosed in the listing and rules. I didn’t show the apartment once during her stay, and by the way, EVERY NYC Air BnB host has the right to show their apartment during your reservation
May 2014

Joined in November 2011
Brian User Profile

We provide furnished housing for a minimum stay of 30 days.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings