Entrance into the apartment
In-law Apartment near NYC & Hudson Valley
Hosted by Chasya
Chasya is the host.
6 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
6 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Great, fully separate 1200 square feet in-law apartment in lowest level of private residence for a wonderful trip to New York City and beautiful Rockland County and northern NY. One queen bed, and two queen/double air beds available, and one toddler bed. See details.

The space

Beautiful in-law basement apartment in colonial near New York City in the beautiful Hudson Valley near the Threefold Community.

Separate entrance, two queen beds in private bedroom, full bath, full kitchen, dining room/living room, deck, 3-tiered garden with picnic area, large yard with play-set: all 45 minutes from Central Park in Manhattan depending on traffic, right next to the Threefold Educational Center, located in 140 wooded acres, with forest, streams, biodynamic farm, Sunbridge Institute, Green Meadow Waldorf School, the Pfeiffer Center, the Fellowship Community and the Hungry Hollow Co-op. All this beauty in a safe country-like setting.

10 minute walk to bus to Manhattan.
Train to Manhattan accessible by bus, car, taxi.

In the heart of the slow eating, slow living, slow parenting movement, enjoy the child-centered environment of the Waldorf community of Chestnut Ridge.

Come home from a fun filled day in Manhattan to your large, in-law basement apartment, full of comfort and beauty.

Let the children run around the yard and play on the play set, in a cul-de-sac, safe from traffic.

Bus, Train, Taxi all available and close by to travel to and from Manhattan.

Parking is available in driveway or on the street.

To/From Airport, car service is recommended or rent a car.

Guest access

Guests have access to only the in-law apartment.

Interaction with guests

I will be present, living upstairs in the two floors above the in-law apartment. We are a family of four with two small children under the age of 6, which means you will hear little children being children above your head. :)

They will be running overhead anytime between 7am and 8pm. If you do not like the sound of children overhead from 7am-8pm, then please choose a different host.

Quiet hours from 8pm-7am.

Other things to note

There is a gym in a private room in the basement in-law apartment that host uses from time-to-time. We will notify you before we enter the apartment to walk to the gym.


Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Heating
Free parking on premise

Prices
Extra people £8 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee £54
Security Deposit £155
Weekend Price £66 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 10AM

No parties; no smoking. No smokers as guests or as visitors please. Even if you expect to just smoke outside, we still request that you find another rental as we do not want the smell of the smoke in the apartment.

Guests must respect neighbors and residential rules.

Garbage days: Mondays and Thursdays. Please put trash bags in the bin in front of house the night before.

Recycling: paper and plastics switch every other Wednesday. Please place recycling in green and blue bins on porch in front of house the night before.

All guests must wash dishes before leaving and leave the apartment how they found it.

No strong scents, incense, or candles.

All lights, heat and/or fans must be turned off before leaving apartment.

Please take off shoes in apartment.

Bathroom window should be opened while showering.

Window near kitchen should be opened if cooking/baking heavily.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

31 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Janis User Profile
September 2017
Chasya's was the perfect mother-in-law quarters for me while I visited my daughter and granddaughter here in New York. It would also be great for a family with young children as there is lots of room to run around, a swingset and toys. The area is wooded and has magical paths in the forest. It is a lovely community with idyllic play lands for children.

Lourdes User Profile
August 2017
Chasya is a good communicator and responsive. The place is clean, has a good shower and offers the bare minimum. It's sparsely furnished and has what you need to spend the night and do some basic cooking. I personally like amenities and charm so the utilitarian feel of this place didn't work for me.
Chasya User Profile
Response from Chasya:
Lourdes, thank you for your honest feedback. We are grateful for your response. We are sorry to hear that you experienced less than five stars. Our photos on our listing depict exactly what the apartment looks like, so we are unfortunately surprised that you criticize the "sparsely" furnished apartment and utilitarian feel when you knew exactly what you have with your reservation. The apartment serves the Waldorf community, in which you participated, who value and love the spareness, the colors of the walls, the space for their children, the charm and largeness of the apartment and outdoor space for them to play and be themselves. We are sorry that you could not see the value of what we offer and offered us such a low rating, which hurts our listing and opportunity to provide to others in the Waldorf community and on Airbnb. We agree that next time, the hotel nearby would perhaps we better for your personal preferences. All the best and thank you again.
August 2017

Everything was lovely. Apartment very spacious and clean. Loved the scenic, natural neighborhood and was even able to walk to/from local restaurant that had excellent food. Chastain was accommodating to us and we appreciate it so much!

Marcia User Profile
July 2017
The place was convient, very clean, and the host was very communicative. The apartment felt very private and was very close to nearby stores/restaurants. However, a $100 cleaning fee seems excessive and waking up at 7am to children running in the top floor was not ideal. Overall it was a good stay.
Chasya User Profile
Response from Chasya:
Marcia, thank you for your honest and helpful feedback. We value this very much because it enables us to be better hosts. We will review our cleaning fee, which is based on what our cleaner charges to clean the apartment; and although I hear you about the running children overhead, we specially state in our Airbnb listing that there are two children who will be upstairs running around from 7am to 8pm. We say this so that guests like you will not be surprised and to help potential guests know the honest set up and therefore, those who do not want to stay at a place with children will not choose our listing. Thank you again. We have you a five star rating and hope to host you again. All the best!
July 2017

John User Profile
August 2016
Great communication from the host, very accommodating with check-in time, large and clean apartment.

Roland User ProfileRoland is a superhost.
August 2016
location close to New York as the traffic between 45 min and 1h30 minutes to get to Central Park. good for sleeping, and good welcoming
Chasya User Profile
Response from Chasya:
Roland, you were welcome onto the terrace any time. It's not just for the host! I wish you would have inquired. We say on our Airbnb listing that all are welcome to any part of the property. I am sorry you missed out on this.
August 2016

Elizabeth User Profile
May 2016
Very quiet, clean and comfortable. I would stay here again.

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Spring Valley, New York, United StatesJoined in May 2014
Chasya User Profile

My family and I live outside Manhattan in a wonderful village with a beautiful yard, play set and large house. We love to travel to Israel and can be helpful in all things NYC.

We keep a kosher kitchen and are responsible, clean guests.

As hosts, we keep a quiet, clean home with many resources.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings