View from the water. Dock is on the left and rocky beach on the right.Breathtaking Sunsets from the covered deck.

Entire home/flat

6 Guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Located on Hardy Island- a rustic yet idyllic water access 2bdrm + cabin set on 15 acres w. 340' of waterfront. Explore surrounding islands, island trails and enjoy spectacular sunsets. Private dock and rocky beach. Access by priv boat or water taxi.

The space

This beautiful but rustic and somewhat unfinished cabin is architect designed/built. The main cabin is a large great room featuring a wall of glass and big barn doors that open up to the deck and water view on a hot summer day. Keep the cozy wood stove lit for those wild west coast days (day bed converts to king). A sleeping loft sleeps 2 over the yet to be built kitchen. A sleeping wing is accessed through a closed in breezeway (possible extra room), with 2 bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin).- note the walls i these rooms are not complete. The 2 piece bathroom has hot water at the tap and a working toilet (septic). An outdoor shower overlooks the forest and lawn-for a true nature experience.

The property is off the grid and while wired is still without power. There is a propane hot water heater. Currently cooking and dining is done in the outdoor kitchen with a camp stove, BBQ and ice box. Bring your own ice.

Water taxis are available from Egmont Bc for $175 each way or from Saltry Bay for $100 each way.

Guest access

You will have access to the cabin, the property, over 5km of trails on Hardy Island, 2 kids kayaks, 1 double kayak and one paddleboard, 3 adult bikes and 2 child bikes.

Interaction with guests

The cabin and property is yours to enjoy with respect. We enjoy a friendly relationship with our neighbors and would like to keep it that way. We ask that our guests respect our neighbors' right to the quiet enjoyment of their waterfront homes especially after dusk and in the early morning.

Other things to note

The cabin is a work in progress. There are decks without railings so it is perhaps not suitable for people with small children or adults that may stumble. The sleeping loft is likewise without railings and therefore not suitable for children. It is better to think of this experience as glamping (camping under a roof) - it is definitely NOT an all exclusive resort.

Cell service is limited with Telus. It is possible to connect but only in specific places on the property. It's a retreat so please don't expect to bring your office.

The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat


Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: £305
Weekly Discount: 9%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM

This is our special place so we expect people to respect that. It's a place to come relax and retreat- not to party hard. We are really pleased to be able to share it with you.

Pets are great- we only ask that you clean up after them and respect the wildlife. There are deer, racoons, weasels, river otters, seals, sometimes whales, possibly a cougar and occasional bear. We wise with food and garbage- see house manual for more detail.



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

5 nights minimum stay

1 Review

David User Profile
August 2015
The host canceled this reservation 5 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Penny User Profile
Response from Penny:
I am really sorry we had to cancel this reservation- especially since it was such short notice. Our well pump failed and the water tank was empty. Due to the remote nature of the cabin we are unable to get anyone out there to pull the pump before Tuesday. Even if they are able to pull the pump it would take 2 weeks if we need to order a new one. So sorry. Penny
August 2015

Bowen Island, Canada · Joined in May 2014
Penny User Profile

My husband and I are Island dwellers, we live on Bowen Island and retreat to Hardy Island for some peace and quiet. We have been working on our cabin for 6 years in our spare time. It's a labour of love. We don't have enough time to use it all summer so we've decided to share it with others who can appreciate the rustic nature of this quiet place. My husband is an architect and designed the cabin- I'm just the casual labour and marketer extraordinaire.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.