dresser in roomdesk area and closets
Private ROOM-Avondale near blueline


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome! My home is 1 block from the blue line - minutes to some of the best resturants/bars in Chicago - 25 minutes to Ohare and Downtown (Loop)- your room is perfect for 2-enjoy a great kitchen, a lovely yard and lots of space to feel comfortable

The space

This four bedroom /3 bath home was gutted and rehabbed in 2009- I love to cook so the kitchen was a focal point -with dishwasher -diposal and a large fridge
the house has central air and heat with a fireplace in the living room for winter chills
the rest of the house is roomy with a large living/ dining room area that could accommodate another 2 guests short term upon request and negotiation
three of the bedrooms (including yours) are on the second floor
-your room had a queen sized bed- a desk- a dresser and two small closets
-your bathroom is shared with a permanent roomate -
there is laundry on the second floor where your room is
- enjoy a lovely yard with a grill and a vegetable garden on the roof
- meet the approval of Maggie and Tyler (the true owners of the house or so they think ) and you will be showered with furr ball love- ( they are hypo- allergenic btw)
- there is one TV in the house -in the living room equipped with cable- apple TV
- there is Wi-fi available for your use
-there is street parking available with guest passes
The house is one block from the Belmont blue line stop- one train stop or lovely walk to Logan Square- where some of the best restaurants and bars in Chicago can be found- It is 25 minutes from Ohare and downtown in either direction-
Divvy is close and a great way to get to know the city in nice weather

Guest access

you will have access to laundry - wifi- living room TV- back/side yard- grill- a light breakfast (toast /cereal/oats-coffee/tea-)
negoatiable parking- secure bike storage-
Everyone in house shares laundry -kitchen/ living and dining space -
There are actually 2 rooms and an apartment availble to rent so the possibility of meeting other Airbnb guests is high- or bring your friends!
smoking is allowed only outside in the yard or front porch- rooftop smoking is a huge "no" for obvious safety reasons

Interaction with guests

I usually am here to accomodate guests- if not I have a friend who will be here to make sure you are comfortable and have your needs met-

Other things to note

I have 2 dogs - Maggie and Tyler ( fluffy hypo- allergenic 6 and 10 pound dogs)- they love you before you arrive - if you dont love them back - please let me know- they know no boundaries so I can keep them separated from you easily- if doggie love is not your thing

License or registration number

pending
Learn about this field

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 20
Security Deposit: 75
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 67 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Please clean up after yourself in the kitchen-
parties are upon request and approval
there is no smoking in the building- but allowed on the front porch or in the yard
please check with me about having guests at the house-
please take off your shoes upon arrival - thank you


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

29 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ria User Profile
July 2017
Valerie and her family are great hosts. The location makes it easy to get around and there are a lot of restaurants and bars close by. The rooms are nice and cozy and the breakfast really delicious. If you are looking for a place to stay in Chicago, I can recommend staying with Valerie and her family.

Mike User Profile
June 2017
Loved staying here - great home near the blue line and 90/94 access with chill hosts. Would definitely stay again!

Hui-Ping User Profile
June 2017
In the aspects of value, location, hospitality, and cleanliness, I enjoyed this place best so far compared to few places I’ve stayed while in Chicago.

Daniel User Profile
June 2017
Valerie was out of town the weekend we were there -- still she was very prompt about letting us know pertinent details about the location, parking and such over airbnb messages. Veronique was our hostess -- she was kind and hospitable, and a good conversationalist. The room was very spacious and clean, with a comfortable bed. It is a nice house with good air conditioning that kept us cool on a hot weekend. The immediate neighborhood is good, but the surrounding area didn't seem the best. The dogs were also quite nice to us, and not aggressive in the least. We were given parking stickers for the two days we were there. Parking can be a little difficult to find, especially on a weekend like the one we were there (with the Blues Festival). WiFi was good. In short, a very pleasant first Airbnb experience!

Zach User Profile
June 2017
My stay was amazing. Val, Veronique, and George really made me as if I were in my own home. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for anyone visiting Chicago for a short or long period to book a trip at this amazing location.

Ellyson User Profile
May 2017
Valerie was very accommodating and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. Fresh jam with croissants in the morning kick started our days so we could get into the city with lots of energy! :) It's only a block walk to the Blue Line train that can either take you to downtown or straight to O'hare as well as the 77 bus that is a straight shot down Belmont. If I can visit Chicago again, I will definitely try to stay here once more!

Rohit User Profile
April 2017
I stayed at Valerie's place for two weeks. It was exactly as described. They were very helpful and easy to reach. I would love to stay at her place again.

This host has 181 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Chicago, Illinois, United StatesJoined in April 2014
Valerie User ProfileValerie is a superhost.

I am a former professional ballet dancer in transition hopefully another exciting career-I love yoga, people,cooking,reading,movies and wines-still amateur about gardening - but like it regardless---
I lived in Germany for 3 years-long ago (my German is emarassingly bad) but can get by with a little practice- I speak fluent French and am currently learning Spanish-
I have family ties in France - hence the reason i speak French--
I moved to Chicago 14 years ago for work (dancing) and still its so far my favorite place to live- Right now my schedule is random but when Im here -Im happy to hang out - or send you off to a great restaurant or connect you with friends that might have insights on other aspects of Chicago - music-clubs- art-
If Im not here- I have a friend that will come and stay to take care of you and the house
I have 2 dogs - Maggie and Tyler- Maggie is an 11 year old Havanese that thinks she's still a young girl- she knows tricks and will do them with the clear understanding that treats are involved- SHE WILL MANIPULATE YOU - be strong...(she needs to keep her girlish figure for the next guests :))
Tyler is a 10 year old Bichon-Poo- he doesnt care about treats - he only wants love-
HE WILL MANIPULATE YOU- feel the love
THIS AREA OF CHICAGO has a couple of my favorite restaurants of all time- Im happy to give suggestions when you arrive
Chicago has so much to offer -whether spring summer or fall- and yes even winter- I hope to make your stay not only enjoyable but memorable as well

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings