Folly Beach Condo near Charleston
Hosted by Scott
Scott is the host.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

The home is situated directly on the Folly River and has great views of the river and marina. You can enjoy Folly Beach or downtown Charleston which is only six miles away.

The space

This vacation home is a one-level, two bedroom, two-bath condominium in the gated Mariner's Cay complex in Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA. The home is situated directly on the Folly River and has great views of the river, the sunsets and the activity at the Mariner's Cay Marina. The screened porch overlooking the back yard and the marina is a great place for dining, reading and relaxing. The master bedroom opens to the porch as does the main living area. The entire condominium has just undergone complete redecorating and refurbishment with new floors inside, ceramic tile on the porch and new furnishings, including twin beds in the guest room.

The home is all on one level with only a short set of stairs from the parking area to the front door and another set off of the porch into the back yard. We love having direct access to the back yard and the marina area.

The home is well-maintained and nicely furnished with all of the expected conveniences including cable, Smart TV and DVD player.

The complex has two lighted tennis courts, a large pool and is a great place from which to launch your adventures -- kayaking, boating and fishing the river, riding bikes, surfing and long walks in and around Folly Beach are some of the favorite activities. The beach is less than a mile away by car, bike or walking. Historic downtown Charleston is a 15 minute drive.

You can tell by the photos that this condo is a cut above the normal rental condo in this complex. It is this way for a reason --- because we care about it and know that when it is nicely kept our guests will do the same. I have recently been in some of the other condos that are used for rentals and you get what you pay for. You can tell immediately that the owners have intended them to be rentals only and they are furnished, equipped and treated that way. This one is different and we welcome you to find out for yourself. We have owned a nice place in this complex since 1989 and see it as our home, not simply a rental. Always message me with any questions.

Cable TV

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

Absolutely no smoking and no pets. Please don't ask me about bringing your dog, even if it's, "well-trained", "well-behaved", "small" or wears a dinner jacket to the evening meals and has great table manners. Sorry, just can't do pets.

The home only accommodates 4 guests. There is no accommodation for more than four, i.e. sofa bed, sleeping on the couch, etc. Those are not options.

Mariner's Cay at Folly Beach is a wonderful community and we ask that you respect the neighbors by not slamming doors or being too loud when out on the screened porch. The owner's community dock is available for your use. Please, no sandy shoes, clothes or towels in the house or in the washing machine. You are welcome to use the beach gear in the closet (if you are facing the front door, the beach closet is on the left and your door key works the closet), as long as you rinse it and put it back neatly. ANYTHING that is sandy needs to be shaken out in the front or back yard in order to keep ALL sand outside where it belongs. To the left of the entry stairs is a hose where you can rinse the beach gear and yourself. Just be mindful of the landscaping and put the hose back on the hanger --- it belongs to the neighbor's and they are nice enough to let us use it. No towels or other wet items can be hung outside on the front or rear porches to dry. Inside the screened porch is okay, just not outside. Please be mindful of noise levels and don't disturb the neighbors. All other details/rules, including access information, will be provided at the time of booking.

And . . no pets. Any guest bringing a pet into the condo will face the loss of their entire security deposit.


79 Reviews

Check In
Philip User Profile
May 2015
My family and I had 4 nights in this condo, which proved to be an extremely enjoyable experience. It was spacious and clean and was conveniently positioned for walking to Folly Beach. In addition it was only about a 20 minute drive into Charleston. We would have no hesitation in booking here again as and when we come back to this area. Just one thing to point out, there is no Wifi, which was no problem to us however worth bearing in mind. Thanks to Scott for your hospitality. Philip, from England.

John User Profile
June 2014
We had a fantastic time staying at Scott's condo. The peaceful patio section was lovely and we even saw a dolphin in the bay at breakfast one day. The condo is very comfortable and well equipped. Scott was a very professional and easy host. Everything in the condo was as described and expected and we had no issues at all during our stay.

Jane User Profile
May 2012
Myself and my family had a truly wonderful time at Mariners Cay. We were in Charleston for my daughter's college graduation and we couldn't have picked a more peaceful place to stay. The condo was well equipped and very clean and comfortable and at a reasonable rate. I would definitely recommend and hope to return.

Brad User Profile
October 2017
We weren't thrilled with the condo unit itself. The place needs renovating. Particularly, the ceiling is in bad shape in places and there was a lot of staining on the couch and living room rug. However, it's safe, fairly inexpensive, and close/walkable to the beach and dining areas of Folly Beach, which is ultimately what we were after. We also had some roach encounters, but we know they can be hard to control in a multi-unit building. However, I don't expect to see dead ones on the floor upon arrival. The thermostat was set to 80 when we walked in and the place was really humid since the AC wasn't running often. The sheets for the bed were actually still damp from the humidity when we went to put them on the bed at night. It took some effort to get the Nest thermostat to run consistently due to all the set timers that previous guests had left...I cleared them out for the remainder of our stay once I figured out what was happening. However, this would not be feasible for anyone unfamiliar with modern thermostats. Overall, it was a positive trip, but I won't elect to stay here again. I had hoped that Scott's detailed rules, instructions, and comments on AirBnB would translate into a really well kept up place, but unfortunately that wasn't the case.
Scott User Profile
Response from Scott:
The recent hurricane and tropical storm have brought out the Palmetto Bugs. The whole area has been effected and I'm sure everything is still recovering from the flooding. Those bugs got washed out and are active any time there have been heavy rains. Sorry some showed up between the time my housekeeper was there and your arrival. I have a fix on the way for the popcorn ceiling -- the repair team was also delayed by the storm activity. I have the housekeeper reporting back to me about the couch. It was fine when I was there in July but I did notice some crayon/marker on the sisal rug. Thanks for letting me know about the thermostat. I would have been happy to handle it remotely via the Nest app if you had let me know while you were there. Given the dampness from the storms I'll be sure to have it run more often until the area has dried out. I think "renovations" seems extreme -- especially compared to the other rentals in the complex. Possibly some repairs (popcorn ceiling) and replacing some wear items, like the rug, and a good check of the couch and arranging a cleaning if someone has left it with a stain. I have the housekeeper checking on that as we speak.
October 2017

Trent User Profile
August 2017
This is a great place to stay if you're in the area. A very quick drive to Folly Beach, screened in porch for the evenings, a pool close by with a shaded pavilion, and the marina (literally in the backyard) allowed us to charter a boat to Morris Island. As prior reviews have mentioned, the upstairs neighbors are interesting - we were asked to turn down the back porch music at 4pm and to avoid letting the back screen door to close on its own. Overall, however, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we wanted a Folly Beach trip.

Coral User Profile
July 2017
Quiet, affordable condo with all the basics. Walkable to all Folly Beach restaurants. Nice, peaceful view of the marina.

Lindsay User Profile
June 2017
The house was clean and the layout is great for friends traveling together. The condo could be updated or a bit better maintained, but for our purposes it was great. Easy access to Folly Beach. If you are planning to stay here and travel into downtown, be sure to have a car or be willing to call an Uber plenty in advance as they are sometimes hard to come by. This is in a gated community so it was very safe, quiet, and the grounds were well groomed. Beautiful view of the water.

This host has 14 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Asheville, North Carolina, United StatesJoined in February 2012
Scott User Profile
Our family consists of Scott & Becky, plus our daughter and son, Emily (22) & Campbell (20). Emily graduated UNC Chapel Hill and works in Washington, DC and Campbell is at VMI in Lexington, VA. I am a director with a technology company and online retailer in the automotive indus…
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings