Back garden with children's swing set.Tormore Distillery a short walk away with lovely gardens.

Entire home/flat

6 guests

3 bedrooms

5 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Spey Cottage is our family holiday home and we also offer it on a self-catering basis for holidaymakers. Maximum of 4 adults. Ideal for families - we have fabulous holiday memories and hope you will too!

The space

Charming, former distillery workers cottage at the start of the Speyside whisky trail.

Ground floor - lounge with multi-fuel stove, TV and DVD player. Fully equipped kitchen with utility room off. Back hall for jackets shoes etc and toilet.

First floor - kingsize bedroom, twin bedroom and smaller bunk bedroom suitable for children. Family bathroom with shower over the bath.

Beautiful views in all directions.

Outdoor swing and slide set. Various toys and books within the cottage.

Guest access

Bed linen and towels provided.

Interaction with guests

We stay in Edinburgh so it unlikely that our paths will cross. We have a local housekeeper that looks after the cottage for us.

Other things to note

Note that this cottage is suitable for a maximum of 4 adults.

The space
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 5
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat


Extra people: 8 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee: 50
Security Deposit: 75
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price: 110 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
1 bunk bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM

Minimum 3 nights.

No smoking. Pets allowed downstairs only by prior arrangement.

There are both permanent residents and holidaymakers staying on the crescent.
Please respect others and treat the cottage as you would your own home.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

Safety features
Smoke detector

3 nights minimum stay

18 Reviews

Check In
Kelly User Profile
April 2017
Wow, what a location. Torero distillery is one of the most striking we have seen. Absolutely lovely walks and lots to do in the areas for adults and children. The cottage was great, really clean and well equipped.
Diane User Profile
Response from Diane:
Glad to hear you had a nice stay - we think it is a beautiful part of the Highlands too!
April 2017

Ashley User Profile
December 2016
We visited over the Christmas period and had a fantastic time with our children. Snow on Boxing Day made it perfect. Safe environment for kids to play. Lovely family kitchen for Christmas Day, good location for attractions. In all a great stay and would recommend.

Jake User Profile
October 2016
We had a lovely time and the cottage was perfect. Great sized rooms, well equipped and the log fire was a delight. Would definitely come back.
Diane User Profile
Response from Diane:
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Spey Cottage and the evenings were chilly enough to make the most of the fire.
October 2016

Steven User Profile
October 2016
The location of Spey Cottage is fantastic for exploring the Aviemore and Moray areas. Very peaceful and safe for kids. On the surface this should be a dream holiday cottage for a family. However the first couple of hours of our stay was spent cleaning the house just enough to make it habitable for us and our young children. The kids had to wait for their tea as the kitchen was in dire need of a wipe down. There were coffee stains on units, remnants of somebody's meal in the oven, and the fridge looked like it had not been cleaned since new. The floors had not been mopped, or even hoovered, for our arrival. There was old jam and crumbs on the dining table. The dining table chairs turned the cloth black when they were wiped. The kitchen bin was disgusting, and an old bag of potatoes was lying rotting in a kitchen cupboard. This was smelly and the potatoes were leaking onto the shelf below. We found a tooth (yes, seriously) lying the drum of the washing machine. The hoover had not been emptied for us. I had to empty other people's muck before I could use the hoover first time. Then empty other people's muck once more after hoovering the whole house. We had only been in the door a matter of hours. Behind beds had never beed hoovered and not one skirting had been damp-dusted. Or even hoovered. To add insult to injury there is a lot of damp in the upstairs, rendering one of the bedrooms potentially unusable depending on health conditions. This is in no way stated in the AirBnB listing. Thankfully our kids enjoyed sleeping in the bunk-bed. Apparently there is a cleaner, but we saw no signs of this other than bleach down the toilets and fresh smelling bedding. The owners have so far shown a couldn't care less attitude towards us. Hence this review. Due to the lack of alternative accommodation available during the school holidays we had no option but to stick it out at Spey Cottage for our holiday. We will never return though. And will recommend all others stay away. I feel that Spey Cottage should be taken off the rental market until the house is deep-cleaned and the necessary repairs are carried out to eradicate the damp. For a realistic idea of the condition of this house please see (URL HIDDEN) and read the captions at the bottom of each photo.
Diane User Profile
Response from Diane:
We have marketed our cottage through AirBnB for a number of years and, as shown by other reviews, no other guests have raised issues on cleanliness. Steven did not alert us to any issues until late in the evening after the day they arrived so we did not receive this until the following morning. If he had contacted us earlier our housekeeper would have been more than happy to rectify any issues raised. We were disappointed to hear of their concerns and responded to them on the morning we received their e-mail. As we did not want this to overshadow their holiday we offered them a goodwill gesture. To state that we have shown a "couldn't care less attitude" is insulting. Our housekeeper has looked after the house for a number of years and also looks after others in the vicinity. Whilst it is unfortunate that some things may have been missed on this occasion (eg potatoes left behind by previous guest, coffee stains, some dust on skirtings), as part of the changeover the house is hoovered and mopped along with the bathrooms cleaned. Our housekeeper has her own hoover and did not check the contents of the house hoover. We would not expect a cleaner to check the washing machine and have no idea how a tooth could have ended up in there. We have already responded to Steven about his comments on the bedroom and bathroom. We use the cottage ourselves and know that behind the beds have been hoovered and the fridge cleaned on a regular basis. As mentioned, we offered what we felt was a generous goodwill gesture to Steven. They have clearly decided otherwise as shortly after returning they submitted a request to have the full cost of their stay refunded having stayed at the cottage for a full week, using all the amenities. Personally, if we had let a cottage and felt the way that Steven feels about our cottage, we would have packed up and headed home. We do hope that others continue to enjoy our cottage like many people have before and, if you are considering staying at Spey Cottage and are reading this review, we would be happy to answer any queries you may have.
October 2016

Kristin User Profile
September 2016
We loved this place. Great location for exploring Speyside with everything you need as described and shown in the accurate photos. It was especially well equipped for kids with a travel cot, toys, movies, and outdoor play structure. Plus communication with Diane before hand was extremely helpful.
Diane User Profile
Response from Diane:
Thanks Kristin and glad to hear you had an enjoyable short break. Diane.
September 2016

Valerie User Profile
July 2016
Spey cottage is a convenient house next to a beautiful designed whiskey distillery. The children loved the playground and the Wii. We visited Ballindalloch castle. The visit is worthwhile, you can make nice walks on the property ground an they serve a great lunch. Furthermore we went to discover one of the best pic nic spots in Scotland, near Loch an Eileen in Rothiemurchus Forest. The kids could climb in Treezone there. The garden was visited by lots of rabbits, a deer and a fox while we were there!
Diane User Profile
Response from Diane:
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Highlands. Thanks for choosing to stay at Spey cottage. Diane.
July 2016

Amy User Profile
June 2016
We had a lovely stay at Spey Cottage. We used the house mostly as a base as we went out to do day trips, the house is very well equipped and easy to use, so did the job as 'base' perfectly. Our children were very well catered for, our toddler loved the climbing frame outside (she called it 'my park') and there was really good children's bedroom and travel cot set up for us on arrival. Having little children I inevitably had to do some washing whilst I was there, all the appliances like washing machine, dishwasher, central heating were a doddle to use. The surrounding cottages and distillery are very quaint, although there's no little shop in the immediate area so you can't pop to get milk. But it's a very pleasant 15minute drive into Grantown which was the epicentre of our holiday, so it worked a treat. The Tormore distillery doesn't do tours , which is a shame, but my husband and brother went on a tour just down the road at Ballindalloch, which was superb! All in all, we had a great stay!
Diane User Profile
Response from Diane:
Thanks for your kind words and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay - you had some of the best weather in the UK!
June 2016

Edinburgh, United KingdomJoined in November 2013
Diane User Profile

I stay in Edinburgh with my husband and three young boys (pictured above). As a family we love cycling and walking and Spey Cottage has provided a wonderful base for exploring the outdoors.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings