Skip to content
The queen bed in the Master bedroom with doors to the deckThese doors to the kitchen open completely.
Entire house

Peaceful View Mountain Retreat

Peaceful View Mountain Retreat

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

This has been our retreat for several years. It is situated so that it is very private and has fantastic, unobstructed views of a beautiful valley. To have this means you have to walk down a fairly steep set of steps. You need to be fit.

Amenities
Gym
Kitchen
Free parking on premise
Dryer
Essentials
Lockbox
House Rules
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox
Cancellations

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Marcela User Profile
May 2017
House was as expected, could use some maintenance but ok value for money if you need to be fully disconnected
John User Profile
Response from John:
What we offer is a very private moutain retreat. Very quiet. Great View. Since we are so isolated, we can't maintain it continually. We do have new managers and think we'll be able to satisfy our visitors.
May 2017

Soufiane User Profile
April 2017
Wonderful spot, we were looking for calm, fresh air and to get close to nature...... John's place allowed that and more. Highly recommended if you wish to get away.

Sergio User Profile
March 2016
This was one of our worst travel experiences so far, and we have traveled all over the world and been in many jungles and some extreme situations. The house is cute, but the host's attitude made our stay really unpleasant. I'll try to explain: - Cleaning: John warned us before o…
John User Profile
Response from John:
If you check our other reviews, you will see that this review is an aberration. We rented to Sergio on very short ( a few days) notice before the Easter Holiday. We informed him that because of the Holiday (which is a big deal in Panama, a long weekend plus many take vacation days), we would not be able to find someone to clean the house again before his arrival. He was very persuasive about wanting a cozy weekend getaway. Our last tenant had been one month before. And the cottage had been cleaned after that renter. Altos is a mountain community in a rain forrest/jungle area with beautiful flora and fauna, and insects and their debris can be very severe, or not. It just depends on the time of year and precipitation. We are not in Panama, and could not assure him that things would suit him. In this case, the house was not clean to his standards. Sergio and I had agreed in advance that if he did not think the house was clean we would refund the cleaning fee. Upon arrival, Sergio let us know he was not happy. I had my local manager drop by to check. She offered him another rental for about the same price, but he declined. Instead he wanted to stay, but demanded a full refund of all the rental costs. He had other complaints about things we do not control and which do not match up with the experience our many other guests have had or the statements of our manager. Our Altos casita is what it is: a simple, cozy cottage among the trees in a mountain rain forest, designed to take advantage of the light and view, with sunsets across the valley behind Mount Picachu, clouds moving down the magnificent valley, birds of every type (including humming birds) soaring in the winds aloft and nesting near our home, and breezes that are just right. We, and all our guests except Sergio, have enjoyed this retreat. It is a gated mixed community for security, but by no means for just rich people. It also has an indigenous village located inside it. If you are interested in staying in our peaceful casita, please give us enough notice so that we can insure that it has been cleaned to our normal high standards for you.
March 2016

Sara User Profile
November 2015
Such a wonderful place and house! We spent a really good time there! Thank you very much John!:)

Susan User Profile
August 2015
This was such a good place to stay. The view out across the valley is spectacular, and you really feel you have it to yourself. Others have remarked how delightful it is to open up the kitchen above the counter to the outside world. The bed is comfortable, and there are window…

Guillaume User Profile
May 2015
Super nice place the area itself very tranquil ,calm, with beautiful waterfall soooo close by!! When staying its worth doing the mountain drive down to el vallee . The house was nice windows all over just DO NOT forget to open outdoor lights at night to keep the thousands of beet…

Michael User Profile
April 2015
Altos Del Maria is a community built into the side of a mountain--John's place looks over a beautiful valley that was lovely to enjoy over coffee each morning. Stop at one of the several grocery stores along the way closer to Panama City, as there aren't many stores in the immed…

Hosted by John

Seattle, Washington, United StatesJoined in June 2014
John User Profile
41 Reviews
Verified
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is John’s place.
John
Linda Diane helps host.
Linda Diane

The neighbourhood

Similar listings