Behind the shoe rack is an emergency exit.88 Fullsize weighted key Kurzweil, wired into vintage Bose speakers.


Entire home/flat

2 Guests

Studio

1 Bed


Entire home/flat

2 Guests

Studio

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Beautiful cozy studio apt with full kitchen and bathroom (clawfoot tub) on the top floor of an historic craftsman home in Pasadena. Authentic Pasadena experience just feet from Route 66. Near train/bus/caltech/PCC. Full size bed w couch. 2 adlt/sm child.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: Studio
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £4 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £40
Security Deposit: £76
Weekend Price: £55 / night

Description

The space

Come get the true historic Pasadena Arts and Crafts experience. This Craftsman home was built in 1913, including the studio apartments on the top floor. My studio apartment has a separate full kitchen and bathroom, with original 1913 charming clawfoot bathtub (shower attachment included).
The main room has a full size posturepedic mattress, and a small 1950's leather sofa. It is great for a couple, and possible a small child (some toddler toys in the book shelf too). UPDATE 3/28/15 NEW MEMORY FOAM PAD ON BED! One wall is all windows for lots of light (all have blinds installed). Vintage record player and speakers with aux in, and full 88 key weighted keyboard make this a cozy stay for audiophiles and musicians. Wifi included as well.
The kitchen has a fridge, microwave, and a full stove. Coffee machine w/grinder, blender, kitchen aid mixer, and sodastream machine. Most dishes are antique heirlooms, but most are available for use.
Bathroom has a large antique original bath tub with standing shower conversion and adorable lace curtains. Alponse Mucha prints complete the charming asthetic.

You will have your own entrance with adorable porch with beautiful plants and lights to enjoy your view with. If inside is prefered, there is heat and AC as well. If staying in Winter, enjoy the electric heated mattress pad.

You will have the whole place to yourselves. There might be a few dishes I request not to be used, as they are family heirlooms.

The home is three houses from the Starbucks. The same corner features a 99cents store, a thrift store, a belgian brew pub, 7-11, Z-pizza, and the bus stop to get to old towne in minutes. The train stop is just a block away, and old towne is just a 15 minute walk.

Since this is an old home, there are only a few outlets in each room. Plenty for charging all your devices, and the plugs will be easily found and accessible.

Not much storage space, but a drawer or two can be made available, and some hanging space if needed.

Parking: There is no overnight parking permit needed to park on the street, however daytime parking is only 2 hours without a permit. Fedex/Kinko's is feet away if you need it for work.

This is a studio above a families home, so no loud parties. This is great to come home to on a trip, or as your temporary home while on a work trip.

I will probably be here when you arrive. Check is is at 3pm, and check out is noon. I can be flexible most of the time, within reason.. I will usually stay downstairs with neighbors, or with boyfriend. If you stay for more than a few days, I might need to grab some clothes, etc. I am a performer and sometimes get called for last second gigs and might need to grab an outfit. I would never come by unnanounced.


No need for a car. You are near everything you need. Bus, train, nightlife, Arts, Pub, Museums, you name it. Just far enough away from Old Towne to be quiet when you get home, but again NO CAR NEEDED!

Everywhere! Old Towne is a 15 minute walk, or a cheap cab ride.

Near MTA, Foothill Transit, ARTS bus, and Gold Line.

No pets. Downstairs family has lots of cats. Cat lovers heaven, but none inside my apartment.

Guest access

You will have the whole place to yourselves. It is small but cozy.

The home is three houses from the Starbucks. The same corner features a 99cents store, a thrift store, a belgian brew pub, 7-11, Z-pizza, and the bus stop to get to old towne in minutes. The train stop is just a block away, and old towne is just a 15 minute walk.

Since this is an old home, there are only a few outlets in each room. Plenty for charging all your devices, and the plugs will be easily found and accessible.

Not much storage space, but a drawer or two can be made available, and some hanging space if needed.

Parking: There is no overnight parking permit needed to park on the street, however daytime parking is only 2 hours without a permit. Fedex/Kinko's is feet away if you need it for work.

This is a studio above a families home, so no loud parties. This is great to come home to on a trip, or as your temporary home while on a work trip.

Interaction with guests

I will probably be here when you arrive. Check is is at 3pm, and check out is noon. I can be flexible most of the time, within reason.. I will usually stay downstairs with neighbors, or with boyfriend. If you stay for more than a few days, I might need to grab some clothes, etc. I am a performer and sometimes get called for last second gigs and might need to grab an outfit. I would never come by unnanounced.

The neighbourhood

No need for a car. You are near everything you need. Bus, train, nightlife, Arts, Pub, Museums, you name it. Just far enough away from Old Towne to be quiet when you get home, but again NO CAR NEEDED!

Getting around

Everywhere! Old Towne is a 15 minute walk, or a cheap cab ride.

Near MTA, Foothill Transit, ARTS bus, and Gold Line.

Other things to note

No pets. Downstairs family has lots of cats. Cat lovers heaven, but none inside my apartment.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

No smoking indoors, No parties. Very friendly neighbors. My neighbors prefer a quiet atmosphere, so noise complaints will result in the security deposit being kept.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

35 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mary User Profile
April 2017
Andrea's place was absolutely perfect! Just as described, no surprises. It was clean and comfortable. Perfect location, very private. Would have no hesitations booking with her again!

Aaron User Profile
April 2017
Our trip was amazing but staying at Andreas cute little spot was like icing on the cake. It was walking distance to a variety of restaurants and very central to many other things. The nieghbors were very friendly and there's a bunch of cute little cats roaming around the building. I highly recommend it if you're just needing a nice, cute and quiet spot to chill and sleep at. this was our first airbnb trip and I would definitely say it added more character and an amazing experience to our trip. If anyone is from the Bay Area, it has a cute Berkeley feel to the house and neighborhood. Thanks again

Gabrielle User Profile
March 2017
Exactly as promised. Thanks for the lovely hospitality, Andrea.

Sylvi User Profile
November 2016
I shared the space with a roommate. It is really too small for 2 people. It was extremely dusty/dirty. There were electrical problems, we got a shock trying to turn off a fan that was spewing dust. There was no room for our clothes & food, every drawer but 2 were stuffed to over flowing with owners belongings. She had food in fridge leaving us little space for ours.
Andrea User Profile
Response from Andrea:
Sylvi, Because I allowed you to stay an extra night with no fees, it seems you've been allowed two reviews. You took this opportunity, which makes it hard to not find you to be a malicious person. This is also because I found many notes all around the house, and they were not nice at all, in fact many were untrue. Sylvi's statements are not true. My home was professionally cleaned. I live in the apartment, but emptied two drawers for guests to use. This is in the house manual. The fridge only had condiments, and 2 empty shelves. It is not a small fridge, but not a mini. I'd say it's a 3/4 size fridge. The kind you find in most apartments. There were many new and clean towels available. The size of apartment is as described in the listing. THERE ARE NO ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER. I take this claim very seriously, as it involves safety. Your note claiming you were shocked simply can not be possible. There is a ceramic pull on a nylon cord for the ceiling fan, which can be seen in pictures. Lastly, I never had any contact from you at all when you were staying or I would have assisted in anyway possible for your 3 night stay.
November 2016

Sylvi User Profile
November 2016
Place would have been charming had it been clean & not stuffed floor to ceiling with owners belongings . No where to sit but porch fill of dead plants & cobwebs. We got strong electric shock from turning a fan off & allergic reactions to the dust. A water heater on an unsupported 2nd floor porch is a disaster waiting to happen. Even the towels were grey despite having been washed
Andrea User Profile
Response from Andrea:
It is listed as a studio apartment that is lived in. This is not a vacation rental, but where I live. It was professionally cleaned. I did not receive any contact regarding issues during your stay. I'm sorry that the cleaning crew may have put a towel for drying in the stack of bath towels, however it was washed. There were 6 towels left out to choose from that are all new. The claim about the carpet is not true. I have severe allergies and asthma myself. I am happy to provide photos. The apartment is over 100 years old. I am not the owner but a renter, however the water heater and entire building passed code check updates this Summer. I think a lot of this review is falsified because the guest may have expected a hotel, or perhaps the whole building. I take your assertions that the listing didn't match descriptions seriously, and they are absolutely false. It is a studio apartment, and there is a full size bed, and 2 drawers left open for you. There is a couch, a bed, and an extra fold out chair (as listed in the house manual) next to the fridge which was left with 2 empty shelves. The fan pull is ceramic, and attached to a nylon string. There is literally no way to get a shock. I'm happy to provide pictures. The house manual states the fan only works on lowest setting and not to change it. There is an air conditioner. The price for the whole place is significantly cheaper than any hotel for miles around. It is your first time on airbnb, so I recommend in the future that you read your description and house manuals. This is my home and where/how I live. Not a luxury hotel, which is why it is so affordable.
November 2016

Julian User Profile
October 2016
Andrea was terrific with communication and always available when I had questions. Location is great, quite close to downtown Pasadena. Fantastic Experience.

Ellen User Profile
October 2016
A cozy and clean apartment that's walking distance to many coffeehouse, restaurants, bank, and a college. Bed was very comfortable with nice pillows. Located in the back of the main building so it's very quiet. I was here for both business and visiting family and had a great time. Thanks Andrea.

Pasadena, California, United States · Joined in July 2014
Andrea User Profile

I'm a creative type person. I love antiques, vintage clothes, and love jazz. I speak a little french, but not much. Je parle un pen de Francais, mais tres mal.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.