New kitchen fitted in 2016Sitting room with open fireplace.
5 bed village house 40 mins-London
5 bed village house 40 mins-London

Entire home/flat

7 guests

5 bedrooms

7 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
7 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A recently modernised five bedroom family home with 80ft garden and comfortable and spacious open plan living downstairs. Located 10 minutes walk from Balcombe train station which offers a direct train service to London, Brighton and Gatwick Airport. Balcombe is a characterful village with a pub, shop and tea room as well as beautiful surrounding countryside.

The space

The house is a spacious 5 bedroom family home with flexible accommodation, sleeping a maximum of 7 people (in 2 kingsize bedrooms - both ensuite and three single rooms, one of which can have a mattress on the floor and/or a cot). There is a pretty 80 foot long garden with seating for 6 around a table. The garden has swings and a playhouse for children.
Downstairs, there is an open plan sitting room with dining area, leading through double doors to a large kitchen-dining room. There is a working fireplace in the sitting room. There is a study / playroom and a downstairs cloakroom.

Upstairs there are five good sized bedrooms. The master bedroom and secondary bedroom both have king sized beds and en-suite bathrooms; there are three further bedrooms which have single beds.

We have been Airbnb hosts for three years now, but in 2016 spent the year undertaking major building and renovation works on the house (hence no hosting, or therefore reviews from 2016). The photos of the garden are from 2014 and don't reflect the current lack of patio next to the house (which should be being replaced shortly, but the bottom of the garden remains the same and is fully functioning.

Guest access

Guests are invited to use the whole house, except for the garage.

Interaction with guests

The house is available when we are away on holiday ourselves, hence the restrictions on when we let it out (and the minimum stay needed as we are not around to arrange for guests to changeover). There is one resident cat (which sleeps in the kitchen) so please be aware if you are allergic.

Other things to note

There is WiFi access throughout the house and Sky TV (with access to hundreds of channels) plus a DVD player. There is also off street parking for 3-4 cars.


The space
Bathrooms: 3.5
Bedrooms: 5
Beds: 7
Check In: 4PM - 10PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 50
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Bedroom 4
1 single bed
Bedroom 5
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 10PM

Balcombe is a friendly, tranquil village and the house is located in a quiet cul de sac. We would be grateful if our guests could refrain from being noisy after 11pm as some of our neighbours have young children.
Smoking is allowed outside only and pets may be allowed by specific arrangement.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emily User Profile
June 2017
Accommodation exactly as described, plenty of space for our party of six adults and one infant. Lovely quiet area. All communication was prompt and clear. Would definitely recommend.

Laryssa User ProfileLaryssa is a superhost.
August 2015
Claire is the perfect host - so helpful and accommodating. Her house is lovely - really comfortable and very easy to feel at home in. My 4 year old daughter never wanted to leave so much did she enjoy the wonderful play house and looking after Ruddles the cat. The area itself is lovely with the local shops and train station a 10 minute walk away. There are lovely walks for which a guidebook is helpfully provided. We walked to Ardingly and had lunch in the Gardener's Arms which was delicious. This is a lovely place to stay and we highly recommend it.

Sarah User Profile
May 2015
We had a really lovely week. We were 2 mums with children plus granny and grandad. We all loved the peace of the area and Claire's beautiful garden. She was at pains to make us feel relaxed and comfortable before we arrived and the children in our group aged 2 to 10 loved the toys and exploiting everything. My son cried saying goodbye to ruggles the cat. We had some great days out - highlights being cricket on the village green, walking to the lake locally, visiting the Mymensingh garden - stunning- and going to the triangle swimming pool in the one day it rained. Thank you Claire and family. Sarah b
Clare User Profile
Response from Clare:
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. You have been perfect guests!! It was so lovely to come home to such a tidy house and your lovely note.
May 2015

Sarah User Profile
April 2015
A lovely, spacious, cosy and comfortable house in a quiet neighbourhood. We stayed as a family group with five adults and two small children and there was plenty of space for all of us. The children loved the space and the garden and the open-plan kitchen and living space is really well designed for entertaining. We would definitely recommend this house and hope to come back and stay in the future.

Charmaine User Profile
August 2014
We had a lovely time staying at this home. The host kindly left a chocolate cake for us to enjoy when we arrived and there were fresh flowers on the table. All the instructions were clear and welcoming, inviting us to feel at home. The home was very comfortable for four adults and two children. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could ever need. We were also invited to help ourselves to the vegetables growing in the garden and there was plenty to choose from. Our children especially enjoyed playing in the playhouse in the garden. We took advantage of some pleasant country walks in the area and an easy day trip to Brighton.

Sally User Profile
August 2014
This was our first air bnb experience and would highly recommend it. Correspondence before our stay was easy. Our stay at Clare's family home was excellent, the location was fantastic just a short walk to the train station where we caught trains to london and brighton. The accommodation was great, it was clean, spacious and welcoming, with a yummy chocolate cake left for us. We felt very much at home, and my 4 year old didn't want to leave, especially after finding the play house.

Amélie User Profile
August 2017
Notre séjour a vraiment été parfait. Nous étions 2 adultes et 3 enfants (4ans, 7ans et 8ans). La maison était parfaite avec ses 5 chambres dans un quartier très calme avec un jardin très agréable ! Les enfants ont vraiment beaucoup apprécié les jouets des enfants de Clare à disposition dans la maison (pour tous les ages) et surtout Ruddles le chat :) Balcombe est idéalement placé à 40min en train de Londres et 20min en train de Brighton (ou 40min en voiture à peine). Pas loin non pus de Stonehenge, du Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Eastbourn,..... Clare a répondu toujours très vite et très précisément à toutes nos questions et sait mettre à l'aise, car c'était notre premiere expérience AirB&B. Super rapport qualité prix au vue des locations en Angleterre !!!

Balcombe, United KingdomJoined in July 2014
Clare User Profile

I am a secondary school (Geography) teacher and mum of three children aged 9 and under, so life is pretty busy. We have a dog and a cat and enjoy gardening and walking.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings