Cozy up with a book before bed. Spacious desk, wifi access, and plenty of guides and maps.


Private room

3 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

3 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
90 travellers saved this place

About this listing

Bright and airy room in our Midcentury ranch in a quiet neighborhood. Start your day with a nourishing organic breakfast featuring produce from our garden and eggs from our hens. Great access to inner PDX, Mt Hood, and the Columbia River Gorge.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £8 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: £12
Security Deposit: £123
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The space

The guest room is on the main floor of our Midcentury ranch situated on a half-acre lot in a quiet, residential neighborhood. The full bed has an organic futon mattress with a foam pad and Egyptian cotton sheets. The room doubles as an office and has a large desk, with a wireless printer, telephone, and office supplies for your use, as well as an ergonomic chair and wooden spindle foot massager. We can also add a twin mattress to accommodate a third person.

Outside we have a large organic garden in our side lot, bordered with roses and dotted with sunflowers, and a few chickens out back. The private backyard includes a patio seating area where you can listen to the sound of birds singing from the dozens of surrounding trees.

As home base for the traveler who enjoys both country and city life, we have two Trimet bus lines nearby that will take you into town or to a MAX light rail station, as well as easy access to I-84 and I-205. Bike routes are plentiful, naturally.

Guest access

Guests enter the house through the main entrance and will receive a key to the house.

Guests are welcome to relax in the living and dining room, make coffee or tea in the kitchen, and wander the yard and garden. We have a second fridge available in the carport, though guests can store a few items in our kitchen fridge.

Interaction with guests

We enjoy meeting people from around the world and sharing our lovely city with them, but are happy to respect our guest's desire for privacy as well.

The neighbourhood

We are in the tree-filled, quiet neighborhood of Russell, made up of homes built in the 1950s and 60s. Located in outer Northeast Portland, we're ideally situated for those eager to get out of town and explore the Columbia River Gorge, Mt Hood, Mt St Helens, and u-pick farms and go in town and enjoy Powell's Book, Mt Tabor, food carts, microbrews, bikes and bridges.

There is a large supermarket about ten blocks away, plus Thai, Mexican, and Middle Eastern markets nearby. During the local growing season on Wednesdays and Saturdays, we have a farmers market about 10 blocks away as well.

There's a fancy steak house and good casual Indian, Thai, and Mexican restaurants within 1-2 miles.

Glendoveer Golf & Tennis is a 36 hole daily fee golf range with 4 indoor tennis courts and a covered, heated and lit driving range located a short 1.4 miles away. Visitors are welcome at two local high school swimming pools. Great neighborhood for biking, with local access to the Gateway Green, I-205 and I-84 bike paths.

Getting around

From the airport by public transport on weekdays between 7am and 7pm, you can take the MAX light rail to the Gateway Transit Center and take #23 Trimet bus to stop 6714. Evenings and weekends, take the MAX to 82nd Avenue TC and the #77 bus to stop 2374. Visit the Trimet web site to plan your public transit travels.

A taxi from the airport takes about 12 minutes and costs about $22-25.

Bicyclists welcome! We can stow your bike for you during your stay.

Ample street parking available.

Other things to note

Your host is a personal chef and happy to provide breakfast, packed lunches, and other meals as requested for a small fee. Gluten-free? Dairy-free? Paleo? Guest with special dietary needs gladly accommodated...just ask!

Our children, ages 10 and 13, may or may not be here when guests stay. They enjoy meeting new people and visiting with our guests.

We share our home with a friendly young Lab and a two cats.

Bike, walk, and public transport maps available.

House full o'books to enjoy during your stay.


House Rules
Check-in is after 4PM

Cannabis and tobacco smoking is permitted outdoors only, at least 20 feet from entrances.


Safety features
Safety card
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

39 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Portland, Oregon, United States · Joined in December 2013
Chris User Profile

My husband Mike and I most recently traveled to Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark and Germany. We loved getting to know our AirBnB hosts and appreciated their advice on local attractions from and having a delicious home-prepped breakfast everyday! We look forward to meeting people from around the US and the world who stay with us in Portland.

I am a personal chef, my husband is a technical writer. We have two children, ages 8 and 11. They may be here during your visit, though often they stay with their grandparents or friends when we have guests.

I have traveled the US and Canada, Mike attended grade school in Ireland and university in Germany and traveled throughout Europe.

We enjoy traveling light and by rail as much as possible, staying in quiet neighborhoods with a nearby grocery or market for picking up food for picnic lunches and restaurants/cafes frequented by locals.

Five things I cannot live without, especially when traveling: good food, comfortable shoes, quiet time alone, wi-fi, something interesting to read.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet