Gorgeous double room in central Cockermouth

4.88Superhost

Private room in residential home hosted by Lucy

2 guests, 1 bedroom, 1 bed, 1 shared bathroom
Enhanced Clean
This host has committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Great location
100% of recent guests gave the location a 5-star rating.
Great check-in experience
100% of recent guests gave the check-in process a 5-star rating.
Gorgeous small double bedroom in a terraced house near the centre of Cockermouth. Easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops, free street parking, and on the right side of town for quick access to Keswick and the fells! A warm welcome, and a true home from home with a knowledgeable local host.

The space
Ever since I moved here, I've thought how my house has that really welcoming feel to it, the way some houses do. And my aim is to ensure that my guests feel relaxed and at home here too. If you are looking for a lovely cosy space, a comfy bed, a warm welcome, a powerful shower to wake you up, and a relaxed atmosphere, then my space will suit you very well!

The room is fairly small, but comfortable and stylish, and there is both hanging space and storage in a chest of drawers / shelves. There is a smart TV in the room, with access to Netflix, Prime Video, BBC I-Player, All4 etc, and a kettle for making a morning cuppa. The bed is of the modern platform kind, with a mattress on a low slatted base, and I use a premium bamboo mattress cover for your comfort (note though that those with mobility issues may struggle getting out of bed unassisted due to its low-rise profile). There is a blackout blind to help ensure a good night's sleep.

Guests have access to the whole house, including the lounge, kitchen and bathroom, all of which are shared with myself. I just ask that you're attentive to my own shared use of these spaces... I light a cosy log burner in the living room of a chilly evening, and there are sunny outdoor spaces (in good weather!) to both the front and rear of the house. Guests are welcome to self cater, and space is available in the kitchen cupboards and fridge for food. There is a breakfast bar in the kitchen and a dining table in the lounge.

The bathroom has a large bath and a powerful shower, with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel available for guests' use. I provide bath towels, and a hand towel in the bathroom - please just let me know if you would like further towels provided. For a small charge, you are welcome to use the washing machine and drier, and there are also drying facilities for wet kit! If you have bicycles, or similar large outdoor kit, this can be stored in my garage.

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom
1 double bed

What this place offers

Kitchen
Wifi
Free on-street parking
TV
Washing machine
Dryer
Garden
Indoor fireplace
Luggage drop-off allowed
Hair dryer

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

4.88 out of 5 stars from 65 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

Cumbria, England, United Kingdom

The house is in a very quiet cul de sac, and many guests have commented on how peaceful it is, and how pleasant and green the view is from the bedroom window. The house is just off the road towards Keswick, which is a twenty minute drive away. The coast is also only twenty minutes away, and has superb views across the Solway Firth to Scotland, and a sunset to die for! The nearest beach is Allonby, and slightly further afield, there is a superb coastal cliff walk from St Bees to Whitehaven.

I love the outdoors, and am a keen fellrunner, hillwalker, cyclist, swimmer, and I know the Lake District and wider Cumbria very well, so please feel free to ask for recommendations. There are also a lovely range of walks and other things to do around Cockermouth itself, and I'm happy to help with ideas for both sunny and rainy day activities! The house is both very central, and also within a few minutes' walk of the start of a walk up the main local hill - the Hay - which has fantastic views of the Lakeland fells. Cockermouth itself is a fantastic small town, with lots of independent shops, cafes, real ale pubs, restaurants...Wordsworth House is in Cockermouth, and provides a fascinating insight into how William and Dorothy Wordsworth grew up, and there are also a number of small art galleries and vintage / antique shops. There is a Sainsburys, a Lidl, an Aldi and a Co-op for supplies, plus lots of independent shops (bakers, butchers, grocers, delis etc). The Kirkgate Arts Centre is thriving, and puts on a mix of theatre, music and films. Yet despite a good amount of tourism, the town also feels very 'lived in', in contrast to Keswick and many of the towns within the actual National Park. In other words, in my own biased view, it's the perfect place to both live and visit!

Hosted by Lucy

  1. Joined in April 2015
  • 80 Reviews
  • Identity verified
  • Superhost
I'm a forty something, freelance writer, photographer, and mountain leader. I was previously a university lecturer, but increasingly found that I was far too much of a free spirit to be tied to a large institution, so I've swapped it for an alternative lifestyle involving lots of fingers in lots of pies! The mountains are my passion: I completed the Wainwrights age 14, the Munros a couple of years ago, and I compete in fellrunning with Keswick AC. I also love travelling to off the beaten places, with a particular love for bike touring. I've loved renting a room out on Airbnb for the opportunities it provides for meeting new people, from all kinds of different walks of life, and help fund my own travels by renting out the whole house when I'm away. For details of my most recent art project about the Lake District fells check out www dot scree dot uk
I'm a forty something, freelance writer, photographer, and mountain leader. I was previously a university lecturer, but increasingly found that I was far too much of a free spirit…

During your stay

I live in the house, and frequently work from home, so I will be around and about and enjoy chatting to guests, but I also appreciate the importance of private space. I like to think I provide a nice balance of both of the above. Inevitably my ability to interact with guests during Covid is restricted, but I do still attempt to extend a friendly welcome from a social distance.

It is also important to me to communicate that I extend a welcome to people from all walks of life, no matter of nationality, gender, ethnicity, religion or belief, age, disability or sexuality. Diversity is what makes the world wonderful, and all are welcome. I apologise that the house is not wheelchair accessible, that there are stairs to navigate, and that the platform bed might not be suited to those with significant mobility issues.
I live in the house, and frequently work from home, so I will be around and about and enjoy chatting to guests, but I also appreciate the importance of private space. I like to thi…

Lucy is a Superhost

Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
  • Languages: English, Français, Español
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within a day
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: After 15:00
Check out: 11:00
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events

Health & safety

Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy