Entrance to OverlakeBreathtaking sunsets from right outside your windows or from the Adirondack chairs out front
The Cottage at Overlake
The Cottage at Overlake
4 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome to Malletts Bay! Adorable 1 BR, 1 bath cottage w/beach access; clean & quaint. Overlooking Lake Champlain with incredible sunset views. The Cottage makes a great base to explore Burlington & the area. The Cottage is a non-smoking / no pets property.

The space

Your accommodation is a fully furnished 1 bedroom cottage. Living room including a double size futon, 32" TV, WIFI, dining area, galley kitchen with gas stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee-maker and dishes. 1 bedroom (queen bed), ensuite bath with linens & towels provided.

The Cottage has been recently re-decorated but maintains its historic charm. You will have outdoor space to enjoy al-fresco dining as a gas grill is provided along with a picnic table, fire-pit and Adirondack chairs to relax & enjoy the view.

We've installed a small, electric, mounted space heater in the living room. This is sufficient to 'take the chill out' for early/late season bookings. A ceiling fan in the bedroom has been added for the hot summer nights.

Just across the street is the private beach, shared with hosts.

Guest access

The Cottage grounds are clearly marked by a cedar hedge for privacy with parking area for two vehicles.
Guests have beach access across the street. A gas grill is provided along with a picnic table plus fire-pit and Adirondack chairs.

Interaction with guests

The Cottage sits on the family property, owners are apt to be on the grounds however, The Cottage is for your private use during your stay. There is no planned interaction with guests - a host will be made available should you need one.

Other things to note

THIS IS A NON SMOKING / NO PETS PROPERTY

We've installed a small, electric, mounted space heater in the living room. This is sufficient to 'take the chill out' - but should not not be considered equivalent to central heat.

Rental contract required upon booking - cancellation fees apply.

Priority/discount is given to full week rentals.

Cancellation Policy:
Your payment will be refunded, less $25 administrative charge, for cancellations occurring more than 60 days before your check-in date.
For cancellations occurring under 60 days before your check-in date, 50% of your reservation fee will be forfeited.
For cancellations less than 30 days before your check-in date, your full payment will be forfeited.
No refunds for any reason will be given for cancellations occurring on or after your check-in date.
No credit will be given for shortened stays due to late arrival or early departure for any reason.
No refunds due to weather.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee £78
Security Deposit £157
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

No smoking.
Illegal substances are strictly prohibited.
No pets.
Parking for 2 cars.
You must be 21 years of age.
Maximum 4 guests.
Rental agreement required. To be forwarded upon reservation confirmation.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

40 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Heather User Profile
September 2017
My husband and I had a great stay at The Cottage. The location is great for exploring the Burlington area and not too far from the Green Mountains. The Cottage was clean and was just the right size for us. Great suggestions provided for nearby restaurants and local activities. There was a TV with a few stations (including HBO) and Wi-Fi, which worked great. The chipmunks were actively chirping in the morning, which provided some entertainment. The Cottage is a short walk to the beach area. All three nights we saw amazing sunsets down on the beach. There is a road that separates The Cottage from the beach, which is fairly busy. There also isn't a shoulder or sidewalk, so walking (or going for a run) on the road would not be a good idea. However, one night we walked down along the beach to a nearby restaurant for dinner. Would definitely recommend The Cottage and would be interested in staying again.

Amanda User Profile
September 2017
Great location and views of Lake Champlain! Although the cottage is in Colchester, the drive to downtown Burlington is easy and short. The cottage was impeccably clean and full of amenities to anticipate your needs (lots of fluffy towels, wood for the fire pit, toiletries, etc). Keep in mind this is a cottage, and although efficiently laid out can be a little tight for taller people as far as light fixture heights and shower size. But my 6'5 husband still loved it! Would definitely stay here again.

Kyle User Profile
August 2017
This place is truly remarkable. The view of the lake (and sunsets, every night) is unparalleled, the house itself is incredibly cozy and inviting, and the family who run the property are so genuine and kind. Our family of three (including an 11-month old) loved our stay so much, and we truly found it to be the perfect, peaceful escape from city life. The lake is just a short walk away, and all of the great beer, food, and vibrancy of Burlington is just a short bike ride or drive from the house. It's a fairly small house, mind you, but it has a lot of history, and makes for the perfect escape for a couple or small group. Don't stay here if you're expecting the Ritz Carlton. Do stay here if you're hoping for a somewhat rustic, simple, and comfortable time in nature. There's no air conditioning, but the breeze off the lake (and a key ceiling fan) will make for cozy nights of sleep. Grab a beer, sit by the chiminea at night, and just quietly enjoy one of the best parts of the country, right at your doorstep. We'll be back for sure!

Sara User Profile
July 2017
Very relaxing cabin with great private beach!
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again!
July 2017

Kevin User Profile
May 2017
We loved the Cottage at Overlake! Situated on a family property in a secluded section, we felt safe and had lots of room. The cabin is quite old yet very cozy and comfortable. Everything you need for a nice seasonal stay is there - functional kitchen, simple living area, odd but usable en suite (bathroom part of bedroom) and wonderful outdoor space. The views and beach access are wonderful. The grounds are more dirt than grass so we needed shoes all the time. The chiminea nightly fire was enjoyable with all we needed to start/build a fire provided, including s'mores ingredients!!! We were 2 adults and 2 teen/pre-teen. The one issue we had of shower not working was resolved in an hour, excellent response to maintenance!
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
We are glad you all enjoyed yourselves and appreciated your patience while we resolved the shower issue! The dirt area has been reseeded - new grass should be sprouting up in no time! Please come back when you're in the area again. ~Susan
May 2017

Kate User Profile
September 2016
We had a wonderful long weekend at The Cottage at Overlake. Everything was perfect from start to finish. Susan was easy to communicate with prior to arrival. The Cottage was very well stocked and had everything we could possibly need during our stay. The location was wonderful, and was just what we were looking for. Thank you to Susan and her family, and we look forward to coming back!

Stephanie User Profile
August 2016
Very cute cottage! We had a great, relaxing stay. The hosts were very thoughtful providing everything you might need (including building a fire for our first night).
Susan User Profile
Response from Susan:
We are glad you had time to relax!
August 2016

Nashua, New Hampshire, United StatesJoined in July 2014
Susan User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings