Large spacious roomKing Size bed with duvet
Luxury King Size bed, large bright quiet rooms
Luxury King Size bed, large bright quiet rooms


6 guests

2 rooms

5 beds

2 private baths


6 guests

2 rooms

5 beds

2 private baths

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Luxury King Size bed in south-facing large room en-suite with double sofa bed (max 4 persons), also use of extra adjacent bedroom (3 single beds). Secure driveway PARKING. Large detached house in family-safe upmarket area, in quiet no-through road. Whole floor for your privacy. BREAKFAST INCLUDED. Only 100m from the bus stop (runs every 3 minutes) to UNIVERSITY, also the bus stop to BICESTER VILLAGE OUTLET. Extreme fast WiFi, TV/DVD. Toiletries. Use of bikes. Allergy free (no pets indoors).


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £29 / night after 3 guests
Cleaning Fee: £10
Weekend Price: £94 / night

Description

The space

Main room with King Size bed plus double sofa bed is spacious and bright with open south-facing view and triple aspect. Luxury pure cotton bed linen on all beds. En-suite bathroom & toilet. It can accommodate 1-4 persons. Also comes with adjacent spare room with 3 single beds giving maximum total accommodation of 7. High level of privacy since you will have the whole 2nd floor to yourself together with an additional second shower/bathroom and second toilet for your exclusive use. Not suitable for "Infants", but is suitable for Children.
The adjacent spare room has 3 single beds, is bright with open garden view and also triple aspect.
House has large garden for your use. It is at the far end of a quiet wide leafy no-through road in the residential area just north of Summertown shopping parade and only 100 metres to main route bus stop that can take you direct in 10 minutes to the university, language schools and town centre. The "Summertown" shopping parade is walking distance and has a multitude of good restaurants, cafes, delicatessens, chemists, supermarkets, pub, etc.. Oxford is a great place for adult cycling with quite a few bicycle lanes and lots of cyclists, but these lanes are not contiguous so bicycling is not very safe for children.
Comprehensive continental breakfast with organic options and freshly squeezed orange juice is included downstairs from 7:30 am onwards (at weekends from 8:30 am onwards).
The accommodation is not self-catering. Free laundry facilities are included.

Guest access

TV/DVD (2014 Toshiba HD Smart TV ) , Extreme High Speed Wi-Fi, tea/coffee in room, comprehensive continental breakfast includes organic and fresh produce.
Safe Off-Street PARKING in our driveway.
Use of Washing Machine, dryer and ironing room.
Use of our 2 bicycles.
Use of gardens with trampoline & table tennis.
Hosts will do the carrying of any heavy luggage up the stairs.
Use of large library of dvd's.
If you are travelling with a dog, with notice we can help arrange a good local (within 2 miles) kennels who charge £18 per night. No pets allowed inside the house.

Interaction with guests

The en-suite bedroom occupies the 2nd floor along with a spare bedroom which can be exclusively at your disposal, being for guests with a larger family or group. The spare bedroom has its own private shower/bathroom and toilet (but not en-suite). The house is a large detached family house with family members occupying the 1st floor. We enjoy meeting and chatting with guests and hope we will make you feel at home.

The neighbourhood

North Oxford/Summertown is a family-safe leafy residential area with MANY GOOD RESTAURANTS. It is close to the UNIVERSITY and language schools, with excellent transport links by bus, road and bicycle. This house also has excellent access to the bus stop to go to the BICESTER RETAIL OUTLET (Gucci, Prada etc)The number of famous private schools in North Oxford attracts affluent families and there are plenty of small local cafes and restaurants eager to service them! It is also very convenient as a base for visiting the Cotswolds, Blenheim Palace, Stratford-Upon-Avon, etc by car on account of the speed of access to the roads going West and North West.

Getting around

Very convenient for all types of transport, especially buses to/from the university and language schools and town centre. Also at our bus stop (only 100 metres) you can get the bus to the famous Bicester Village Outlet ( 20 mins) which has ALL the top brands (Gucci, Prada, Burberry, Uggs, Tods, etc ) discounted and also good restaurants. Summertown parade is a short walk and offers nice cafes and restaurants as well as pharmacists, grocery stores, wine bars and delicatessens.
For the (within-Oxford) bus, not only can you get a 24 hour day pass for £4 (worth it if you will ride the bus more than twice in 24 hours), but if you have kids, you can get a family pass for only £7.20 (up to 2 adults and 3 kids or teens)! You can buy them right on the bus, and they are good for 24 hours, so you can use them one afternoon and then the next morning. Prices are as of January 2015.

Other things to note

Use of large garden and trampoline.
Use of outdoor table tennis (Cornilleau).
Use of BBQ in garden (you supply your own charcoal).
For those guests staying more than one night, fresh bed linen will be supplied after every four nights.
For those groups requiring more than 2 bicycles, there is a local rental shop at £18 per first day and £6 for additional days.
For those staying minimum of 3 nights, free drop-off at the railway station can be provided if not busy (but can only carry 4 persons in car)


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 11PM
Check out by 11AM

Reentry in evening to be before midnight 12:00 pm unless agreed at time of booking.
Price is based on the total number of persons including children regardless of age.
No bringing visitors back.
Person making booking must themselves be one of the guests arriving.
Guests to message us of their expected check-in time (which is after 3 pm) the day before the start of their stay.
No shoes upstairs.
Use of kitchen facilities for cooking is NOT offered.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

224 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Henny User Profile
April 2017
Beautiful place in a beautiful location with a very helpful host who is prompt to answer.

Vich User Profile
April 2017
The location is about 2miles far away from the citycenter which is quiet and suitable for rest. I recommend this house for anyone who want to rest.

Deryk User Profile
April 2017
An ideal place to stay . Quite location on the outskirts of Oxford

Elsa User Profile
April 2017
The room is very spacious, light and pretty and is situated on the top floor of Joyce's beautiful house. It is extremely quiet as the street is a dead end and look over beautiful other houses and gardens. Special mention to the breakfast that is truly amazing with homemade bread, freshly squeezed orange juice and loads of spreads and preserves.

Robin User Profile
April 2017
We loved Joyce's home/upstairs apartment. It is wonderfully bright and was a great space for our family of 5. Exactly as described! Also it was a good spot for seeing not only Oxford but to see a bit of the countryside outside of Oxford as well. We enjoyed the breakfast Joyce served in the morning. A very friendly and gracious host.

Marga User Profile
April 2017
Lovely house and lovely host. A perfect stay in oxford! Thank you both!!

Arjun User Profile
April 2017
Joyce and her husband were very friendly and welcoming. They have a lovely home and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Oxford, United Kingdom · Joined in August 2014
Joyce User Profile

I have lived in Oxford for almost 14 years now, am married with three children the youngest of whom is 18 and the oldest is 27! My hobbies are sewing, baking, travelling, skiing and sometimes playing tennis. We moved here from London for the good schools. My husband's hobby is sailing so we do a bit of that as well.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour