Kitchen in the morning sunTwin bedroom
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A room with 2 single beds and a shared toilet/bathroom in a self built eco house, surrounded by woods, scrap, artistic individuals, inspiration, walks, etc. This is our home where we live with Boris the cat and the accompanying chaos...

The space

What makes it unique... What doesn't!! You won't find many places like this (in England at least)... It's more like a West Coast USA house as seen in Lloyd Khans amazing books (look him up). And there's an adjacent scrapyard! And many different facets within the site - beautiful vegetable garden, craftsmen... feel free to get involved if you want.
Another part of the site is populated by friends engaged in Circus, Theatre and Prop work for places such as Glastonbury, Boomtown festivals etc.
This is separate to the house as is the scrapyard and you would never know there was so much going on around you. Our visitors often remark that what they found most noticeable, was the silence in the morning - no city noise or light pollution here!
This is our family home with a cat and the accompanying chaos of a disused quarry that is home to around 15 people living in trailers and cabins etc almost all employed in creative industries.. If you're looking for somewhere fastidiously neat and tidy or you're scared of spiders it's not for you but if you like what you see, we'd love to have you here :-)

Guest access

The room is fairly small with a shared bathroom/toilet/shower, but feel free to use our kitchen, help yourself to water, tea and coffee (although we only provide dairy free milk). The atrium is a communal space as well, criminally underused by us so we'd love to see people chilling there!
Our vegetable garden with a bench and a dining table overlooking the area welcomes visitors too :-)
We have lots of parking space, so parking a van or a caravan is not a problem.

Interaction with guests

We're open and happy to play by ear, also depending on our guests' preferences.

Other things to note

Coffee and tea and toast/cereal for breakfast is included in the price of the room.
We cook vegan in the house and offer meals at an extra cost, £4/person for a hot breakfast and £8 for dinner. Please ask for details if you're interested.
We rent out other rooms in the house, so if you're looking for a space for more people, please get in touch or check out our other listings.
Our full address:
Rockaway House
Eastcourt Rd
Temple Cloud
BS39 5BU
If you're driving you can find us via GPS/sat nav as United Vans or Cloudhill Commercials or Quarry Garage, although please note our lane has a funny angle and you can't turn into it coming on Eastcourt Rd from the A37 direction.
Coming south from the A37 from Bristol, it's better to turn left in the village of Temple Cloud into Temple Inn Lane (opposite Texaco garage). Follow the road through the houses and down the hill into the countryside and you'll come to a T junction, at which you turn right. Follow the windy lane until you see a huge industrial unit (Oakus) on your left, then take the next right into Eastcourt Rd under the bridge. Follow the road up the steep hill and sharply round to the left. After about 500 meters you'll see a right turning up a very steep hill with a hanging sign saying Cloudhill Commercials and a wooden one for Rockaway Hose. Follow the track up the hill and sharply to your right and the house will be in front if you at the end of the driveway. Park on the right hand side if possible.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 5PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £11 / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 5PM - 12AM (midnight)

Please respect the fact that we don't eat meat and we wouldn't like it cooked in our house.
No smoking.
No dogs.
Other than that, just regular social rules apply ;-)


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

112 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Anna User Profile
June 2017
The stay with Marta was utterly lovely. The place has such a unique and authentic feel to it. The whole place has such a relaxing atmosphere and the view is just stunning. It was a wonderful stay and the hosts were so welcoming.

Adam User Profile
June 2017
We stayed here so we could join the queues for Glastobury early on the Wednesday morning and it meant were parked at the festival within 30 mins of leaving! It's such a cool place with fantastic views across English countryside. RECOMMENDED

Kathy User Profile
June 2017
Chilled, laid back and full of interesting characters, stories, art and architecture. Feel like I need to go back to continue exploring this place!

Brian User Profile
June 2017
Such an interesting place, lovely shared company and a dreamy sleep.

Joran User Profile
May 2017
Marta is very kind. Lovely, original place with a great view!

Jennifer User Profile
May 2017
Mark and Martas place is full of charm and personality. There is something interesting/weird/cool to see wherever your eye falls. Would definitely stay here again if I'm back in the area!!!

Anthony User Profile
May 2017
Please use comment to Marta

This host has 279 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Temple Cloud, United Kingdom · Joined in August 2014
Marta User ProfileMarta is a superhost.

I moved from Poland to the UK in 1998 and lived in London until a couple of years ago when I met my partner Mark and ditched the city to become a country girl. I always loved the countryside and spending as much time outdoors as possible, so the only thing that could make me happier is to be able to make a living out of it! We have plenty of space to share in the house where we live with Mark's daughter Tess and her boyfriend Chris and their two cats. Up until I moved here I was always planning the next trip to somewhere, I spent nearly half of my time traveling. I loved discovering new places and going back to the familiar ones, changing the scene, the climate, the food, the people... but now I just can't get enough of staying at home!
I enjoy gardening, films (I worked in a cinema in London for 15 years), reading (many different things), live music, vegan cooking, exercising, but also just good old house keeping - cleaning and improving the space and making people feel good in it.
I try to keep a healthy lifestyle and be as self sufficient as possible.

We also rent out apartments in Morocco, Essaouira, so please get in touch if interested!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.