A Victorian terraced house on a leafy streetWith a big sitting room and working fires throughout

Entire home/flat

6 guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Gorgeous 3 bedroomed maisonette arranged over three floors with balcony and spiral stairs to garden. All original features, working fireplaces, huge bathroom, wonderful neighbourhood with restaurants, bars, theatres, cinemas, pubs and parks galore.

The space

A beautiful, bright, three-bedroom maisonette over top three floors in aVictorian terraced house, with wrought iron balcony, spiral staircase descending into shared garden and all the original features such as working open fireplaces and wooden shutters. Sitting room, dining room, eat-in kitchen overlooking the garden, one enormous bathroom, three double bedrooms. Fully furnished, with superkingsize bed (=American kingsize) in the master bedroom, full bed (four-poster American double) in the second bedroom, and kingsize bed (American queen) in the attic (guest) bedroom. If you have small children, just ask and we can supply cots, high chairs and all the necessary bits and bobs.

This is our family home, which we occasionally rent out when we are away – chiefly in August or during school holidays. Please see the calendar.

Guest access

Everything in the house and garden. The garden is shared with our basement flat and has a BBQ and plenty of room for an outdoor supper or just lying about with a drink. Only the studio at the end of the garden is off-limits. It's where we put our own stuff, but there's a hammock strung across it to swing in.

Interaction with guests

Email and phone. We'll be here to let you in, and to answer any questions you have about the neighbourhood. We'll also give you the details of friends who live close by in case of emergency!

Other things to note

We have two cats who need feeding daily. We can arrange for somebody to do this if you're away, and our cats are discreet and friendly. Their names are Bear and Weasel.


The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Pet Owner: Cat(s) and other pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 60
Security Deposit: 300
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed, 1 bunk bed
Bedroom 3
1 queen bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Smoking outside only, please.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Colleen User Profile
August 2017
We had an excellent stay. Lovely airy house with a garden and French doors and balcony off the kitchen. Perfect for London's heat . Ten minutes leisurely walk into Hackney. Two minutes walk to Violet's for morning coffee and excellent scones and cakes. Must be cat lovers, which we were.

Susan User Profile
July 2017
Dear Susan & Roly - Thanks for being great hosts! Your home is lovely, in a great location & has everything you need. Thanks for getting back with any queries so quickly - we'll definately be back!

Juan User Profile
July 2017
Nice house with all the necessary including central heating!

Nathalie User Profile
June 2017
The host canceled this reservation 65 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Simon User Profile
April 2017
Susan and Rolands place is altogether wonderful. One of the most beautiful houses we've ever stayed in with beautiful wooden floors, gorgeous kitchen and a very neat little shared garden. The area is very peaceful and family-friendly but close to transports, restaurants and cafes. We would strongly recommend this to anyone travelling to London and we will be sure to come back. Top marks!

Joelle User Profile
April 2017
I spent 5 nights at Dudab and Roland's place in Dalston with my mother and 5 year old. Although the house is quite far from all the main tourist attractions, it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of London proper. The house had everything that one would need for a stay including bedding, towels, and a multitude of kitchen aids for cooking. If you don't feel like cooking, there are many restaurants nearby including some great suggestions from Susan and Roland. Susan and Roland were really accessible to answer any questions that we might have had. There were no major problems with our stay. The only complaint that we had is that there is a new pub only two doors down and it is quite loud on many nights, especially on the weekends. The cats are lovely and quite friendly, although never bothersome. They are out a lot. Overall, a nice stay.
Susan And Roland User Profile
Response from Susan And Roland:
Thanks Joelle, great to hear you had a good stay. Just to clarify, said pub is a small wine bar and is only open on Friday and Saturday nights. The rest of the time it's a hair salon, although there's only room for one customer at a time because it's so tiny. Serves coffee through a hatch in the morning. Nice place.
April 2017

Mattia User Profile
January 2016
We were a group of 7, so a extra mattress was added, and we stayed in Susan and Roland' house for 5 nights. The position is great, only 3 minutes walk to the overground and less than 10 minutes train to Liverpool Street station. The house was modern, with beautiful forniture and well equipped. Towels and sheet available were very clean. The house was clean even if the floor is made by old wood and cannot be well cleaned. The two cats might be a problem but they only stay on the ground floor (in the kitchen or in the dining room). The third floor is a loft and it does not have heating therefore is quite cold but an electronic heater is provided. Even if we have not seen Susan she was very fine and hospitable. We suggest the house and the host!

This host has 194 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
London, United KingdomJoined in March 2012
Susan And Roland User Profile

Roly and Susan Chambers live in Hackney, London with their 7 year old daughter, Nelly, 4 year old son, Benjamin, and 1 year old son, Samuel. Roly is an author and illustrator and Susan runs an after school club.

Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings