Stunning kitchen table seats 12+Front entrance with wooden hand made doors
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A peaceful room opening onto a Morrocan style indoor courtyard (atrium) in a self built eco house, surrounded by woods, scrap, artistic individuals, workshops ,walks, etc...if you are in need of creative inspiration or encouragement , or you just want a quiet couple of nights in the country.. That's us!

The space

What makes it unique... What doesn't!! You won't find many places like this (in England at least)... It's more like a West Coast USA house as seen in Lloyd Khans amazing books (look him up). And there's an adjacent scrapyard! And many different facets within the site - beautiful vegetable garden, craftsmen... feel free to get involved if you want.
Another part of the site is populated by friends engaged in Circus, Theatre and Prop work for places such as Glastonbury, Boomtown festivals etc.
This is separate to the house as is the scrapyard and you would never know there was so much going on around you. Our last visitors remarked that what they found most noticeable, was the silence in the morning - no city noise or light pollution here! We have natural beds with bamboo and all cotton bedding, which is super ecological and has multiple benefits to you health!
This is our family home with a cat and the accompanying chaos of a disused quarry that is home to around 15 people living in trailers and cabins etc almost all employed in creative industries.. If you're looking for somewhere fastidiously neat and tidy or you're scared of spiders it's not for you but if you like what you see, we'd love to have you here :-)
Please note we have another (cheaper) room available in the house, with two single beds and a shared toilet. We are able to accommodate extra people, so if you're traveling with kids or friends and think our listed rooms are too small to fit all of you, please enquire.

Guest access

The room is fairly small with an ensuite bathroom/toilet/shower, but feel free to use our kitchen, help yourself to water, tea and coffee (although we only provide dairy free milk). The atrium is a communal space as well, criminally underused by us so we'd love to see people chilling there!
Our vegetable garden with a bench and a dining table overlooking the area welcomes visitors too :-)
We have lots of parking space, so parking a van or a caravan is not a problem.

Interaction with guests

We're open and happy to play by ear, also depending on our guests' preferences.

Other things to note

Basic (vegan) breakfast included - muesli, toast, jam etc. Fell free to bring your own food and drink and store it in the fridge, as long as it's not meat.
We cook vegan in the house and offer meals at an extra cost, £4/person for a hot breakfast and £8 for dinner. Please ask for details if you're interested.
Coffee and tea included in the price of the room.

We rent out other rooms in the house, so if you're looking for a space for more people, please get in touch.

Our full address:

Rockaway House
Eastcourt Rd
Temple Cloud
BS39 5BU

If you're driving you can find us via GPS/sat nav as United Vans or Cloudhill Commercials or Quarry Garage, although please note our lane has a funny angle and you can't turn into it coming on Eastcourt Rd from the A37 direction.
Coming south from the A37 from Bristol, it's better to turn left in the village of Temple Cloud into Temple Inn Lane (opposite Texaco garage). Follow the road through the houses and down the hill into the countryside and you'll come to a T junction, at which you turn right. Follow the windy lane until you see a huge industrial unit (Oakus) on your left, then take the next right into Eastcourt Rd under the bridge. Follow the road up the steep hill and sharply round to the left. After about 500 meters you'll see a right turning up a very steep hill with a hanging sign saying Cloudhill Commercials and a wooden one for Rockaway Hose. Follow the track up the hill and sharply to your right and the house will be in front if you at the end of the driveway. Park on the right hand side if possible.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 5PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 21%
Weekend Price: £50 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 5PM - 12AM (midnight)

Please respect the fact that we don't eat meat and we wouldn't like it cooked in our house.
No smoking.
No dogs.
Other than that, just regular social rules apply ;-)

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - One friendly cat
Some spaces are shared - Kitchen is shared by us and other guests
Amenity limitations

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

194 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Fergus User Profile
June 2017
Rockaway is the temple of temple cloud. Marta and Mark are some of the friendliest people we have met. As an Architect I feel that their visionary building should be a world heritage site as it has evolved out of the rock face in extraordinary fashion. After chatting long into the night, we slept in our bed which can only be described as a cloud; it was so comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the views, our bedroom was nestled in the natural rock garden of the quarry and the dining/ kitchen had a breathtaking view of the surrounding farming landscape. Breakfast was delicious and we love our new artisanal crockery that we bought. In the morning we really enjoyed the tour of the yard and the fantastic structures that Mark and his team have built. I will let you dear reader discover them yourselves when you go to the most fantastic airbnb.

Lana User Profile
June 2017
A fantastic stay at Marta and Mark's place. Such an inspiring place and incredibly exciting to watch people doing permaculture and creating gorgeous open spaces right! (The beds are incredibly comfy too, a good nights sleep guaranteed) :-)

Melisa User Profile
June 2017
The place is gorgeous, the room was cozy, we loved the location with amazing view to the fields, in nature. The hosts were nice and friendly, very creative in all we saw around. Very inspiring! Breakfast table had many vegan treats that I loved!

懿悦 User Profile
June 2017
This was my first trip by airbnb, and I think I was so lucky to have lived in the rockaway. I love the house, the kitchen, the great view of scenery and the enormous grassland... Two days were just like a sweet dream. Thank you.

Roxanne User Profile
May 2017
What e great experience to stay in the rockaway. A wonderful and unique place that offerd a lot of stunning things to discover. Marta & Mark are great hosts, we had very interesting conversations & they provided us with great tips. A perfekt place to relax and discover the suroundings (Bristol, Bath, Cheddar, Glastonbury,...). We hope to come back soon

Loved it! Simply, beautiful!

Rubén User Profile
April 2017
The best place I have ever been!

This host has 197 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Temple Cloud, United Kingdom · Joined in August 2014
Marta User ProfileMarta is a superhost.

I moved from Poland to the UK in 1998 and lived in London until a couple of years ago when I met my partner Mark and ditched the city to become a country girl. I always loved the countryside and spending as much time outdoors as possible, so the only thing that could make me happier is to be able to make a living out of it! We have plenty of space to share in the house where we live with Mark's daughter Tess and her boyfriend Chris and their two cats. Up until I moved here I was always planning the next trip to somewhere, I spent nearly half of my time traveling. I loved discovering new places and going back to the familiar ones, changing the scene, the climate, the food, the people... but now I just can't get enough of staying at home!
I enjoy gardening, films (I worked in a cinema in London for 15 years), reading (many different things), live music, vegan cooking, exercising, but also just good old house keeping - cleaning and improving the space and making people feel good in it.
I try to keep a healthy lifestyle and be as self sufficient as possible.

We also rent out apartments in Morocco, Essaouira, so please get in touch if interested!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.