Me, my husband Marcus and our daughter LunaThe evening sun porch at the back of the house, great for having spring, summer and fall dinners.
Irish Countryside Living


Private room

5 guests

2 bedrooms

3 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Enjoy our cozy old Farmhouse with walks in fields, forest, flower and veg garden and enjoy self-pick berries (seasonal), pets and farm animals. Stay in our lovely and comfortable double room or double + single bed room and take in the serene silence of the countryside. My husband also does toured rock climbing, hikes and sightseeing if you are interested. You're welcome to inquire about renting the entire house, it might suit us to move out for the time you're looking for.

Guest access

Travellers are welcome to use the whole house; the kitchen, the living room, the beautiful conservatory area overlooking the garden and the outdoor spaces and seating areas.

Interaction with guests

We're here for anything you might need.


The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £23 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

10 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alison User Profile
October 2016
Great place to stay. Lovely hosts. I only overnighted ..... but the room is lovely. They were very welcoming, and offered to light the downstairs fire for me. Quiet, tranquil rural retreat !

Liam User Profile
September 2016
Fantastic hosts, very friendly and everything was arranged with no fuss. The location was beautiful, very tranquil and serene setting. It was one of those holidays where you can feel your batteries recharging. The kids loved the animals (especially the cats that followed them everywhere!). Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a quiet retreat.

Niamh User Profile
September 2016
Both Marcus and Julie were incredibly warm and easy to talk to. It was great to feel comfortable coming back to their house to stay each day. Beautiful property with lovely gardens, horses, etc. Highly recommended.

Laura User Profile
June 2016
We had a wonderful one night stay at the farm house - it was a very relaxing location. My daughters loved the cats, dog and sheep. The home itself was so interesting - we enjoyed staying in an authentic farmhouse. The views from the little porch above the front door were beautiful: it was a perfect reading nook. Julie herself was very responsive and very friendly. We would recommend a stay here to anyone looking for a quiet and serene atmosphere.

Colin User Profile
June 2016
Julie and Marcus were exceptional friendly and inviting and really did their best to make us feel welcome and at home, without being too much, we had some great conversations and fully intend on staying with them again.

Emily User Profile
June 2016
I spent a week at Julie's and her husband Marcus' little spot of paradise, and I couldn't have been more happy with my stay. Julie offered to take me there from Cavan, so I didn't have to figure out transportation, which was great. The house is lovely, clean, light and friendly and very, very cosy. I was very fortunate with the weather, and could spend almost all my time outdoors in the garden, or outdoor eating area. Marcus and Julie were the most welcoming, lovely and gracious hosts you can imagine. They offered to take me along to barbecue, took me and two other guests rock climbing and invited us along to a night out in the local pub (which was a fantastic evening!) I really, really loved my stay, it was exactly what I was looking for. A peaceful, countryside vacation :) (I gave the location five stars, because it was what I was looking for. It is quite remote though, and therefore maybe not for people who are looking for the hustle and bustle of a bigger city)

Aude User Profile
May 2016
We were 4 students that wanted to have a peaceful retreat out in the Irish country, and we find a lovely place, with adorable people. Julie helps everybody to make yourself at home, that's what we needed, thank's again.

Cavan, Ireland · Joined in August 2014
Julie User Profile

I am a 30 year old Danish lassy living in Ireland with my lovely husband Marcus. We took over Marcus' granny's homestead and have spent the last four years renovating and developing the house, fields and veg- and flower gardens (and still have a lifetime of work to do).

I work part time in a health food shop and with the rest of my time I garden for myself and others. Marcus works part time with renewable energy and in the rest of his time he's running an outdoor adventure company (URL HIDDEN) . He offers rock climbing, hiking and kayaking/canoeing day- and weekend trips in the scenic landscapes of Co Cavan and beyond.

My long term dream is to build sustainable cabins in the forest surrounding our house for people to come and stay to experience the tranquility of the country side, the captivating surrounding nature and our beautiful flower- and veg gardens.

My passions are gardening (especially the overflowing organic traditional 'cottage garden', as a haven for bees, birds and wildlife), animals (we have a beautiful kind and loving collie/springer rescue dog, two cream colored cats, 4 free range chickens, 10 sheep and two horses), outdoor activities (rock climbing, hiking, kayaking/canoeing etc.), music/singing and creative outlets such as painting and sculpturing.

We are big on traveling and have both spent several years backpacking, road tripping, working and studying the world. We love having people staying with us as we love sharing our space and giving/receiving fresh and different inputs. We are very easy going and are equally happy whether you want your own space and time or whether you want to share time with us.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.