17th Century restored Farm house
Hosted by Bayje
Bayje is the host.
7 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
2.5 baths
7 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
2.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

The space

We welcome travelers looking for a quiet vacation. Relax ,sleep deeply in our warm stone house.Please note my rate is per room .There are 3 rooms 2.5 bathes all on top leval of house,. The rooms have no personal belongings in them. They are for my guests.
I stay in the small house next to the house .

Our 17th century farm house is located in the south west of France, in the foothills of the central massif mountain range at 1800 feet.The house is in the hamlet of Paillargues, an active farming community of 6 farms. Our nearest Village is Teyssieu, an 18 minute walk. The house is 4.5 hours by train from Paris , below Limoge and above Toulouse. Stop at Brive and rent a car , then 1 hour drive too the house.
We are close to many historical sites, Rocadmador, Peche Mele original cave paintings, Gouffre de Padirac, Chateau Castelnaux plus some of Frances most beautiful villages. The house is completely restored with all the convinces of modern life, yet still has all the charm of another era.
There are 3 levels.
The first floor is the great room, kitchen, plus half bath. The great room has sofa and easy chairs facing the 5' high by 8' long fire place, In the corner is the dining table (seats 8-to 10). The kitchen will include use of spices ,sugar,flour. If used everything must be cleaned and put away at the end of the meal. The kitchen is furnished with every tool a cook could want. The stove is a gastronomic piano, with 2 ovens and 5 burners. A farm table is the island with a small copper sink . A large farm sink is next to the dishwasher. Two under the counter refrigerators are tucked under the stone counters.
There is a half bath on this floor. . Upstairs there are 3 bed rooms and 2 bathrooms . The first bedroom has a king bed . The bath room is connected to the bed room: All the bed rooms have down beds with high quality cotton linens. The middle bedroom has 2 twins beds. .All rooms have velum windows. The last bed room has a queen and a small twin bed. There is also a sink and mirror in this room.
All guests will be provided bathrobes and slippers. Upstairs is a no shoes zone. Our bath rooms are complete with large cotton towels and French bath products The Dordogone river is 20 minutes away for kayaking or swimming. There is hiking to a swimming hole just out the front door. Fairs are held weekly for produce and regional food. Our area is know for these specialties, veal, fois gras, duck, walnuts, and goat cheese. Our regional wine grape is the inky black malbec of Cahor. Weekend antique fairs are held often in the summer. This is the region the French people visit for vacation, deeply in France where life is a step back in time.
The house has wireless internet and free calls to the USA. The property has the barn(now an ceramic art studio) Classes for working in clay or cooking can be planned ahead, price determined by how many people. Property also has original well, and a small stone house with a a wood fired bread oven. We always have hens for fresh eggs a seasonl vegetable garden. Our most recent addition is a stone terrace with outdoor dining and lounge chairs.I hope to give my geusts a comfortable, relaxed stay.

Guest access

the whole house , except owners bedroom and bath on the first floor,

Interaction with guests

I can cook for my guests if they want .

Other things to note

I stay in the small house next to the house and use the bathroom not included in the discription of the house, this bathroom has an outside entrance , so I do not disturb my guests. The house has 4 bedrooms and 3.5 baths but the owners rooms are not included.


Extra people £32 / night after 6 guests
Cleaning Fee £69
Security Deposit £276
Weekend Price £161 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 1PM

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - there are steps into the house and stairs to get to the bedrooms
Pet(s) live on property - I have a pet goose Lucy, she is gentle and will beg for food if you are eating outside, but can be put away if she bothers you and 4 chickens


3 nights minimum stay

2 Reviews

Rebecca User Profile
September 2012
This is a very beautiful place to stay and Bayje is a remarkable host, guide and cook.

Serge User Profile
August 2017
Un logement vraiment typique dans un hameau au milieu de la nature. Bayje nous a alimenté avec des superbes légumes de son jardin. Idéal si vous avez besoin d'une mise au vert. A 15 minute d'une petite ville où vous trouverez toutes les commodités. 30 min de Padirac

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Santa Cruz, California, United StatesJoined in March 2012
Bayje User Profile

I live in Santa Cruz Ca and spend time in North Carolina near my grandchildren. The home in NC has been fun to find treasures and furnish with furniture the age of the home. Our NC house was built in the 40S but completely gutted and rebuilt last yr. All is new but done in the style of the house, except for a large master bath and a walk in closet.
The rest of the year I am in France. My house in France has been a canvas for me, It never had been updated or modernized .I did much of the work my self from plastering to tile work. I love to garden, always have a potager. I am passionate about French wine and cooking. I am married to Dave for almost 23 yrs. I have 2 adult children,and 4 grandchildren. I was a clothing designer for 25 yrs and now I am a ceramic artist and sell my work and exhibit. I run and do distance bicycling for pleasure. I did 3 long rides to raise money for aids totaling 15,000.. I also organized a fund raiser for Japan after the earth quake in 2011. I enjoy meeting new people and love to travel. Lastly, I am easy going and flexible.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 80%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings