Relax on wrap around porch.Spacious living room.
Log House (4BR,3Bath) -BEF

12 guests

4 rooms

8 beds

3 baths

12 guests

4 rooms

8 beds

3 baths

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
12 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Picturesque log house on top of a hill. Hand-hewn wood interior. Gorgeous view of lake in winter. Wrap around porch with rockers. Secluded privacy in the woods. Sorry, no pets.


Extra people: £24 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: £80
Security Deposit: £241
Weekend Price: £241 / night


The space

If you are having an EVENT you must send a message to receive details and pricing.
The hand-hewn Log House overlooks Lake Love More. Two large bedrooms with private full bathrooms are upstairs. Two bedrooms (one with queen and one with two twins) are downstairs. Living room and Kitchen/Dining room are downstairs. Gorgeous old-time wraparound porch with rockers.

Guest access

The Log House overlooks Big East Fork Retreat and its 6 acre lake. Click on hosts' face to View All Listings.

Interaction with guests

We enjoy meeting our guests and then leaving them alone unless they have questions or issues. We love to meet them at the adjacent Retreat (

The neighbourhood

There is bicycle and walking access onto the scenic Natchez Trace Parkway within a mile. This lodging is near Big East Fork Retreat, which lies at the beginning of a pristine creek within a gorgeous valley. 20 miles from downtown Nashville and 8 miles from historic Franklin and light years away from the stress of city life. The Retreat is part of a 1400-acre Conservation easement and features a 6-acre lake as well as Love More Cafe, a live music venue. Enjoy biking, hiking, canoeing, massage and more! Nearby Big East Fork Farms downstream provides organic produce.

Other things to note

The price quoted is for Lodging only. If you are having an EVENT you must send a message to receive details and pricing.

County taxes of 4% and State taxes of 9.75% are not collected by AirBNB and should be sent via PayPal or check/cash brought to the nearby Retreat Center (5375 Big East Fork Rd).

House Rules

Pets are not permitted. A lovely kennel (The Farm at Natchez Trace is located close by)
No smoking inside for any reason.
The number of guests registered for accommodations is the number of people entitled to use the house. Rental of this facility does not allow you to entertain unregistered guests UNLESS you request EVENT details and comply with policy. Entertaining others and having events at House is fine as long as you get permission first and pay any required fees. Failure to comply with house rules may result in loss of security deposit.

There is a $100 charge for use of fireplace.

4% County tax must be paid on arrival or over the phone via credit card or via PayPal prior to check in. It would be nice if AirBNB collected these fees but it is the owners responsibility.

Please note that use of the nearby Big East Fork Retreat () and its trails, lake, lodge, sauna, are hot tubs) is not included in your lodging fees. Day passes for the Retreat are available. See

At the end of your stay:

1)Remove your sheets and place on beds.
2)Hang all towels and washcloths in bathrooms.
3)In warmer months, turn thermostats up to 77 degrees; In cooler months, turn down to 50 degrees.
4)Please clean your dishes and cooking tools, (blenders, trays, pans, and dishes you have used.
5)Clean any ovens/grills you may have used.
6)Place trash bags OUTSIDE in the large green trash cans. Do not place trash outside in plastic bags outside of plastic cans or the raccoons and possums will make a horrible mess. If the large green trash cans are full, keep bagged garbage inside.

Thanks! And Enjoy your stay!
Please call me if I may be of any assistance.

Jonathan Oppenheimer




Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

1 night minimum stay

12 Reviews

Check In
Peter User Profile
November 2016
Great secluded location. About 7 min to Leipers Fork and 15-20 to downtown Franklin. A great place to get away if you're looking for some piece and quiet. Beautiful property. Would be a great place for a large family stay.

Teresa User Profile
August 2016
This is a nice house that can accommodate a large group. The location is great for running and cycling.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Yup, both Big East Fork Road and the adjacent Natchez Trace National park offer wonderful places to cycle and run. When you return, ask the Harpeth Valley Bicycling club about their biweekly outings.
August 2016

Julia User Profile
July 2016
Loved staying at Jonathan's place. Peaceful and relaxing! Quite a rural area - be prepared for spotty wifi and cell service. Totally worth it, though!
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
The Buddha House does have satellite wifi. It's not good for streaming video, but should have worked well for texting, Internet browsing, and email. Glad you thought it was worth it! enjoyed having you! Excellent cell service is available just down the road by the Nachez Trace Bridge. Most folks do just fine.
July 2016

Christopher User Profile
January 2016
The cabin in the woods was perfect for our group of 9. Jonathan's team was nice and accommodating. It was a log cabin, so we knew what to expect and we had a blast walking the nearby trails. We enjoyed the lack of television for a couple days and spending time with each other.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a television and DVD player that we could have brought you if you did want to see some movies.
January 2016

Carla User ProfileCarla is a superhost.
November 2015
The house was spacious and the beds were super comfy. It was a perfect setting for our family reunion over Thanksgiving weekend. The front slope was perfect for our family football game and the porch is very inviting. However, considering the cost, we were surprised that there were virtually no pots, pans, or bowls, limited silverware and no toaster. There was not enough toilet paper, no paper towels, and 1 dollop of dish soap. This is not like staying in someone's home. You will have more amenities in a hotel. Plus, it's remote location means you can't just run to the store or get a quick bite. This is not what we have come to expect from the Airbnb community. Beware before you book of the myriad additional charges. The charming features that sold us on this cabin; the fireplace, the hiking trails and the lake can only be used if you pay the host an additional fee. The "Retreat" he owns costs $10 per person every day you want to use it. In fairness to Jonathan, he did make an extra effort to provide us with things needed to cook meals, but seemed unconcerned with the rodent droppings on the bed and in closets and the major leak in the bathroom. When booking, we did chat about me cooking Thanksgiving dinner for all of us, so checking in at 7:30 pm and finding the bare-bones of a kitchen was unsettling.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Thank you so much for your feedback Carla. Please allow me to address your comments. While you were here, I was actually quite dismayed about the problems you encountered that are now outlined in your review. I was shocked when you indicated that there were issues with cleanliness and that you didn't have adequate supplies. I have a staff upon which I rely and they are to do a thorough walk-through prior to guests arriving. Perhaps the holiday weekend distracted them from their responsibilities. Regarding cooking supplies, I have had many people rent the unit over these last four years and have never had anyone complain so I was completely unaware that this might be an issue. Further, I have not had any guests prepare an elaborate Thanksgiving dinner so had no notion of the expansive cooking supplies needed to execute it. Finally regarding the leak, I don't understand how you might believe that I was unconcerned as upon learning of it, I immediately had a maintenance person there to fix the issue. Again, I thank you for your feedback, Jonathan
November 2015

Tracy User Profile
October 2015
We stayed at the Log House for 4 days during a training in the area. We had everything we needed and deeply appreciated the serenity of the surroundings. Jonathan checked in with us to see if we were all set. I can't say enough about the beauty of this area and how peaceful everyone felt during their stay.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Your group is a great one. Y'all brought much beauty and serenity here. Glad Big East Fork could provide you with much deserved reciprocity. Please stay here again. Tell your friends.
October 2015

Matt User Profile
July 2015
Zack did most of the work accommodating our group at the log cabin. I had interactions with Zack, William, and Masood. They were all very helpful and polite. Zack gave us some restaurant recommendations in downtown Nashville and was an all around personable guy. The lack of decent kitchen pots and pans was frustrating as we planned to cook all of our meals after our dinner out Friday night. Cooking a decent meal was difficult. Otherwise the accommodations were good. Only other complaint, I have is that the owner was not too welcoming or polite.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Matt, you were a guest in a Private House through AirBNB and I'm glad you liked your stay. The Retreat however is a separate property and entry to it requires an admission fee and signing of waivers to protect the owner (myself). Unregistered (and unsigned) Retreat guests represent a unacceptable risk to Big East Fork Retreat and so they must be considered trespassing unless legally there. I'm sorry you thought I was rude, but you apparently were unaware that the unsupervised Retreat lake may not be used unless legal forms are signed and that it is necessary that all individually present at our Private Retreat to be properly registered. This is necessary to satisfy the concerns of the insurance companies. I can't change that. Sorry.
July 2015

This host has 343 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Franklin, Tennessee, United States · Joined in September 2013
Jonathan User Profile

We are the proud owners of Big East Fork Retreat, embedded in 1200 acres of pristine valley and ridge which creates the protected watershed at the head of Big East Fork Creek. It is located 30 minutes west of Nashville and 10 minutes north of Franklin.

We have been working on the retreat for several years and enjoy entertaining people passing through or staying for a week or two.

I am a physician and my partner assists companies with trademark and intellectual property protection.

Looking forward to your stay!

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.