Skip to content
the mainhouse as seen from the beachCaribbean beach free of vendors and beggars
8 guests
1 bedroom
8 beds
3 baths
8 guests
1 bedroom
8 beds
3 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Spring Garden is located in St. Margaret´s Bay, Portland, without any doubt the most lush and green Parish in Jamaica, about 6 miles east of Port Antonio. We operate the guesthouse in an Ecotourism style, our energy is produced 100 %
by solarpanels.

The space

At Spring Garden we can guarantee you a hustle free vacation directly on a deserted beach without any vendors around to harass you! You also can be sure you are spending a environmental friendly vacation because we produce our energy with solarpanels ( Jamaica produces most of its energy with diesel generators!). All around the house is lush and green tropical vegetation, the famous Somerset Falls are just 5 km away. We are proud to be the first guesthouse in Jamaica that is 100% supported by renewable energies, we installed our solarsystem in 1998.

Family/Kid Friendly
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premise
Extra people £19 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 8%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules

We provide breakfast and dinner for you on request, chilled drinks like sodas and beer are available.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house
Safety features
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
1 night minimum stay

8 Reviews

Check In
Neha-Tamara User Profile
July 2016
On arrival at Spring Garden B&B, the rooms, whilst spacious, were not particularly clean and there was no soap provided, no hot water and not enough towels. Miss B was not hugely welcoming and refused to allow us to put 3 beers we had bought in her fridge for a few hours. The beach outside was as pictured, very secluded and peaceful but, at the time we were there, there was quite a lot of rubbish and the sea was too rough to be able to swim. The wifi barely worked throughout the whole stay. The rooms were uncomfortably hot (you could barely feel the fan on the ceiling of the room) and there were mosquitoes everywhere. The net provided had a hole in the top and so we had hundreds of bites (and no sleep) after one night. Because of this, we decided not to stay the full length of our trip, despite having prepaid an extra 3 days, and sought alternative accommodation. Although there is nothing overtly ‘misadvertised’ about this B&B, we would not recommend staying there.

Nico User Profile
February 2016
We had a great stay at Lothar's, which is perfect for groups hoping to be close to Port Antonio but with the added bonus of having direct access to the beach.

Daniel User Profile
January 2016
The Spring Garden guest house is a very nice place on a peaceful and beautiful beach in St. Margaret Bay, just 10 minutes by car to Port Antonio. Lothar and his family are very nice people that made everything for us to feel at home. Bevena, Lothar's wife, cooked very delicious food for us every night and also for the breakfast. We also made a couple of bonfires by the beach with good talks with Lothar and other guests.

Steffanie User Profile
December 2015
Wonderful place. Private beach. Yummy breakfast! We will be back!

Alexis User Profile
August 2015
Loved meeting Ms B! She is the auntie that everyone loves, very helpful and she made sure our stay was pleasant. Secluded spot with private beach, close to the road. In the summer, it is very hot, expect no AC; with minimal breeze from the ocean, this is challenging..

Nancy User Profile
February 2015
Lothar was kind enough to allow us to book with less than 24 hours, as we were traveling from Kingston along the southern coast and just needed an overnight rest. To his credit, he waited for us until after 8 pm without complaint. We enjoyed the sound of the ocean just at the edge of his property. Lothar agreed to bend the rules a bit and let us prepare our coffee and toast in their kitchen. The room was basic, with king size bed, sheets and towels provided, and a private bath and shower, cold water but we don't mind in warm Jamaica. There were no screens on windows and there were mosquitoes, but Lothar did provide a mosquito net for us over the bed when we made mention of it. He, his daughter and her mother were kind and polite with us, and we are grateful.
Lothar User Profile
Response from Lothar:
Nancy, we do have mosquito screens on our windows but they only cover the louvre blades but not n the glass windows. I have commented this to you but seems like you didn't understand, sorry for the inconvenience.
February 2015

Theresa User Profile
January 2015
the house is way if the road in a small village a 15 minutes drive outside of PA. we went into the a little shop and the lady called lother and then he came pick us up. your room is located about 70m next to the sea. beach is nice though a little bit stony but also with a lot of sand. up the road there is a little shop with mostly beverages and cans of food, to buy real food you have to go into town. breakfast is great and diverse.

Unlingen, GermanyJoined in October 2011
Lothar User Profile

The neighbourhood

Similar listings