Backyard fish pondBackyard Fishpond and deck/ gas grille
Very Comfy Renovated 1905 home .9 Mi to KU & DT
Very Comfy Renovated 1905 home .9 Mi to KU & DT
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1.5 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

3BR 1.5 bath in a 1905 house, oak floors throughout most of the house, state of art kitchen, quiet brick street in Old East side, sleeps 5 comfortably in 3 bedrooms & the futon couch can sleep 1-2 (not so comfy) in downstairs living room. Yard & exterior of house are works in progress. I don't use instant booking b/c I live here during the week during the school year & prefer to rent mostly weekends, but am flexible. So it's on a case/by/case basis. So just ask, I usually respond very quickly.

The space

We renovated the kitchen (Fall 2014 still ongoing with details on exterior left). Almost done! See photos. The downstairs half bath has an efficient stacked LG European-style washer and dryer and detergent provided...please ONLY HE detergent--any other kind will damage the machine. Upstairs bath has hair dryer, curling iron, and a variety of shampoos, conditioners and soaps. (I don't use the dryer or curling iron so it if it not working let me know please! Iron and ironing board always ready to use.
Free AT&T Uverse high speed wifi connection. Sorry, No Phone, very limited TV (can't even get local TV) but some channels work. We have Netflix and Amazon Prime. When requesting to stay please let us know a little about who you are and why you are coming to Lawrence...We rent it out because we believe in peer-to-peer connections and use AirBNB whenever we travel.

The House has central heat and air-conditioning. The house is fully insulated, but the windows except for the kitchen are older. The downstairs stays cool even in the extreme heat (but warm in the winter). The upstairs gets warmer in extreme heat conditions (upper F 90s in daytime). There are floor fans in the bedrooms and an additional window AC in the SW corner room and you can set the AC to 68F and the upstairs is usually fine. I've only had one complaint from guests since 2012.
Downstairs: large living/dining room and smaller adjacent sitting room, renovated kitchen, laundry and half bath (small office to left of stair is off limits). We have also allowed pets and are open to them...but they need to be supervised since pets react differently to strange contexts, so we ask that you clear it with us first and not leave them free ranging and unsupervised when you are not there unless you take full responsibility for their behavior.
As you will find if you are new to AirBNB...once you reserve a place, AirBNB will offer you the opportunity to rent out your own shared room, private room, or whole house...whatever works...that is what happened to me...in April 2012. So join the community, meet great people (be great people) and enjoy!

Guest access

The house sleeps 5 comfortably in three rooms--a queen, a double and a single. I do not charge a cleaning fee. The base fee is low so that I can accommodate reasonably singles and couples. I'd prefer to rent by the bed than by the person....but then 5-7 people can be a crowd. If you are grad students coming for a conference or research, let me know and I'll give you a special price.

The house is a little odd since the small sitting room is adjacent to the entry (where one would expect a living room) and the larger room is off the kitchen...where I have a dining set and futon couch...I mostly use this room for dinner parties and then people sit on the couch and on the dining chairs, so it's not as comfy as one would like if you want a 'clan gathering" kind of feel, maybe check out some other places.

There is also a queen futon/couch downstairs. Guests are welcome to use the house and yard except for the study to left of stairs. Yard is still a work in progress, the pond is mostly done, but the yard needs lots of grooming. Someone might be working on the exterior and in the backyard a little, but I will warn you and you can block out times as needed. There is a brand new gas grille in the back yard next to the fish pond.

Interaction with guests

I mostly leave my guests to themselves but am happy to interact, give advice etc. if desired. When I have guests, I stay at our country house. I live in town mostly during the school year when I am teaching. So I am more open to longer and weekday stays in summer than during the school year, but over time, I have become more open to longer school-time stays it really depends on my teaching schedule.

Other things to note

The stair to the second floor, where the bedrooms are, is steeper than current standards and has no handrail, so not recommended for the mobility challenged or older people (although I am both and manage). It is also too tight to allow even a double box spring up stairs...the queen is a tatami mat frame, so in two pieces, and supports quite a lot of weight. I have hired someone to install a removable handrail, but it might still be awhile before that is done--maybe spring 2018. There is a basement accessible through the house if there is a severe weather event during your stay (behing the geologic chart door)--but the stairs are VERY STEEP--although there are grab bars. There is easier access from the outside if someone opens the door from the inside.

If you need to move furniture, please lift it up to avoid scratching the floors and return it where you found it.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people £8 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

No smoking in the house.
Respect the house, furniture, and personal stuff. I clean the house before your arrival and hope you leave it more or less as you found it, but please don't make the beds you use;--). I don't like to guess where guests slept!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

131 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kelly User Profile
September 2017
Marie Alice was a perfect host, and her home was extremely comfortable. I slept so well, and the kitchen and backyard area where completely delightful to hang out in and relax. She left wonderfully clear notes, and was very responsive--the only time I wrote to her was to tell her that I'd arrived and loved the place, but she responded within minutes. There were little sticky notes to help us know where things were, and she left some basics for us in the refrigerator--including a wonderful array of coffees, which is especially nice because she doesn't even drink coffee herself! But, there were many different types of beans, a grinder, a normal coffee pot, and a french press. The location is also perfect - so close to downtown and to campus, but on a quiet and beautiful side street. Heaven! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Leigh Ann User Profile
September 2017
Marie Alice's house was fantastic! It is very homey and comfortable. She has everything we needed and more. Her newly renovated kitchen was great! She has a very nice back yard and deck for relaxing in the morning with coffee. The location was perfect for visiting KU and having dinner on Massachusetts Street. We will definitely be back.

Mike User Profile
September 2017
House was very clean and in a great location. Best value I have found for the rate!

Melissa User Profile
August 2017
Marie Alice's place is conveniently located near both down town Lawrence and campus--either a quick drive or walk (prepared for some inclined walking if you're planning on going to campus pretty much no matter where you stay). The backyard is beautiful--I loved waking up in the morning and looking at the fish in the little pond. The kitchen is a dream--everything you could want is there. And there is ample places to sleep. Overall, the stay and the place were exactly what I would have wished for. Thank you!

Karin User Profile
August 2017
Marie Alice's home is lovely and comfortable! It is located in an older neighborhood very near the campus. We found it an easy walk to a lovely park, lots of restaurants and other activities. There is also a large grocery store within 5 min drive which has a great produce section! The house, is just roomy enough to be comfy, we were 5. The kitchen is great! There is everything one could possibly need to prepare meals during your stay. The bathroom is modern, lovely and very clean. Marie Alice is very generous with her collection of travel toiletries. The house has a very comfortable feel and a wonderful back garden to enjoy. Marie Alice has been very accessible through text and email. I highly recommend this host and home without any qualifications!

Jeffrey User Profile
August 2017
Well-located home in quiet neighborhood a short drive from Mass St. shops and restaurants. The updated kitchen and bathrooms were great. And the darling little goldfish pond in the backyard was very entertaining. Lots of birds and squirrels came daily to drink and bathe (the birds anyhow!). The host was exceptionally responsive, generous and helpful. This was our first airbnb stay and she made it so easy! A great place to stay for a weekend or, in our case, an extended stay.

Maria User Profile
July 2017
Lovely home convenient to KU, downtown Lawrence and Rock Chalk Park! It was perfect for our family of four! Thanks Marie Alice!

Lawrence, Kansas, United StatesJoined in April 2012
Marie Alice User ProfileMarie Alice is a superhost.

I teach architecture and urban studies. I am a Maine native, married to a 5th generation Lawrencian but we both received our doctorates from UC Berkeley. He in invertebrate biology in 1972 and me 30 years later in architecture. I/we use airbnb when we travel (from Moscow, Russia, to Canada and all over the US) and want to accommodate people like us.

Languages: English, Français, Suomi, Русский
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings