Other area of sitting room.Bedroom, big closet, brand-new full-size bed.
Great Locale-Private, Charming Unit


Entire home/flat

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Entire home/flat

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Sunny-private-clean-lower-level ground-floor 1-bedroom suite in lush metro Kalihi Valley- covered parking-all the conveniences needed for a memorable stay on Oahu and Honolulu. Location is a convenient base for enjoying all the island has to offer the visitor.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/flat

Amenities

Prices
Security Deposit: £201
Weekly Discount: 7%

Description

The space

The entire apartment is clean, bright and sunny. Private entrance. We even have an ocean view (from kinda far away). Adjoining living room and bedroom with brand-new full-sized bed is comfortably furnished and "top quality". You have your own bathroom and separate roomy eating area that gets lovely gentle breezes throughout the day. Off-street covered carport driveway parking with plenty of room.

Guest access

New washer/ dryer. New refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, hot plate and microwave. Clean towels and bed linens all the time. Everything is provided for you to prepare coffee & tea, simple meals and snacks. TV with premium channels (HBO, Cinemax, Showtime) and wi-fi access. Clock radio.

Interaction with guests

My husband and I live in the main house on the property and my daughter and son-in-law and their young children live in the back house. If you need anything, just ask. We will do our best to accommodate you. Beach gear, miscellaneous household stuff, no problem!

The neighbourhood

Kalihi Valley is a lively, family-oriented neighborhood that exemplifies the aloha spirit of Hawaii. Kalihi Valley was carved out of the Kalihi Stream and was settled and developed by the ancient Hawaiian people. it is one of the oldest "suburbs" in modern-day Honolulu. The temperatures up here are considerably cooler than in downtown Honolulu and Waikiki, even though we are so near geographically. We experience the cool and refreshing tradewinds on a regular basis. We are a 5-minute car ride from the Kamehameha Shopping Center and the world-famous Bishop Museum. There are many delicious, ethnic and affordable restaurants nearby AND a great "easy" jungle hike close by.

Getting around

Public transit on Oahu is one of the best bus systems in the country. "The Bus" will efficiently get you anywhere on this beautiful island.

Other things to note

Our place is not a 5-star resort or smack in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. However, our location is a perfect spot to base your visit to Oahu, whether you want to experience the excitement of Honolulu or the natural beauty of the North Shore. There is a great deal of interesting history, entertainment, great farmer's markets and farm-to-table experiences to be had on Oahu. We can steer you towards those experiences if you so choose. Or you can spend all your time at the beach. Either way, our place is a great and affordable alternative to a hotel.


House Rules

We believe in the Golden Rule. We live here, too. Since we are locals, we're happy to give you the "lay of the land" and suggestions on what to see and do during your visit if you so desire. We totally respect your privacy. We expect you to keep the space tidy. We've put a lot of effort into pleasantly decorating it and we aren't charging a cleaning fee for when you leave so we don't feel it's too much to ask. Smoking is ok-but outside only.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

124 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Victoria User Profile
April 2017
Great location in a quieter neighbourhood. Ila left lots of goodies for us (of course we ate them all.) She was incredibly accommodating with our schedule. There can be some noise from upstairs but only during the day time so it's not a big deal. The space was clean, cool, and relaxing. Would highly recommend!
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
Thanks! Enjoy the rest of your Hawaii vacation!
April 2017

Megan User Profile
April 2017
My partner and I really enjoyed our stopover at Ila's. She and her family were wonderful hosts; very generous, friendly and accommodating. The space is great, very clean and cosy. It is however, in a residential area away from the city centre, which meant a little background noise and effort to get downtown if thats what you want.
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
Everything is very close if you have a car. Thanks, Megan!
April 2017

Jessica User Profile
March 2017
Thank you so much for your hospitality in opening your home to us. It made our quick trip to Oahu feel special. Everything was very clean and anything we could think of needing was all there!
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
Thank YOU!
March 2017

Leslie User Profile
March 2017
I just needed a place to crash for a night while in Honolulu and Ila's place was as described. The bed was comfortable and it had all the basic necessities. Only about a 10 to 15 minute drive from the airport and was easy to find.
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
Thanks.
March 2017

Barbara User Profile
March 2017
This listing is an unfinished basement that smells musty. No bathroom sink-just the washing machine tub. Cooking is basically a hot plate. Owners have their stuff in part of the basement separated by a drape. No light in shower. Cooking utensils on a shelf covered with a towel.
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
I must respond to this! I have been hosting here for nearly 2 1/2 years and NEVER received a review like this. My place has a 4 1/2 star rating, 122 reviews on line and I've probably hosted 150 couples and single people during this time. I've had people who've stayed for more than a month at a time, happily. I would urge any potential guest to read as many reviews of my place as they can. The FIRST SENTENCE of my listing states that it is a lower level ground-floor apartment. The bedroom and sitting room are COMPLETELY finished. There are pictures of everything in the listing. Of course, no one is perfect, but NEVER has ANYONE complained of any musty smells. Actually, if you know anything about Hawaii, you know that the tradewinds blow nearly all the time, and the place is quite fresh smelling and sunny. The listing also states clearly that the basics are provided to prepare snacks and simple meals, there is no full kitchen. Having a hotplate is part of this process. It works great! The cooking utensils and pots are IN DRAWERS and in a covered box. There are a few dishes on a table that are covered with tea towels to insure that no dust gets on them when the breeze is blowing through the apartment (gently most of the time). My personal storage area of the basement is separated off with a nice white wicker standard room divider, I don't know what this woman is talking about with a drape. The sink is right next to the bathroom, clean and convenient. There is more than sufficient light (from the overhead light IN the bathroom) for anyone who is showering; again, this is a complaint I never heard of before in 2 1/2 years of hosting. Finally, I must say this. You will note that I did not review this couple, which is the only time in all the years of hosting that I haven't. I didn't review them because they came to my place for 5 minutes, drove away in their car and were never seen again by me. I tried contacting them BEFORE their arrival date and they never responded (telephone and texting). They just randomly showed up. After they "disappeared" I AGAIN tried texting and telephoning and had no response until today when this review showed up. I don't know what these people were actually looking for, but I hope they found accommodations that suited them and I'm sure they paid more than $85/night for them. If you want a clean, safe & friendly place to sleep and shower while visiting our beautiful island I welcome you to stay with me.
March 2017

George User Profile
March 2017
Ila was a fantastic host who went out of her way to accommodate our small family at her cheap and cheerful pad. Right near the airport, it was the perfect transit accommodation for the night. Really appreciated her helping out to make life easier for us!
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
Best regards!
March 2017

Kannyka User Profile
March 2017
Overall, it was a great place to stay during my brief visit - all I needed was a comfortable place to sleep & wash up. The extra amenities (washer, refrigerator, microwave, plates, etc.) were greatly appreciated. Ila was also a pleasant host. For light sleepers or any one sensitive to noise, the walls are thin & you do hear a lot (roosters, footsteps, conversations, water running, etc.). The house is about 20 minutes from Waikiki & 15 minutes from the airport. I used Uber for transportation.
Ila User Profile
Response from Ila:
Can't do much about the sounds of everyday life during the day and early evening, and certainly nothing about the roosters!
March 2017

Honolulu, Hawaii, United States · Joined in October 2014
Ila User Profile

I am a retired grandmother enjoying the good life with my extended family in Hawaii. We enjoy going to the beach and swimming in the warm ocean water. There's nothing like it anywhere else in the US! I also enjoy listening to music, gardening, TV dramas, taking long walks and trying new restaurants and meeting new people. We've hosted guests before at our previous home and I know we'll do our best to make your stay at our place a great one.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.