This room overlooks the garden.Lots of light and skylight above if you like, but I like it closed in summer to keep the room cool.  Next time I redo the roof, they will be replaced with an energy efficient sky tube.
EcoHome Retreat - Guest Room #2

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Walk 25" Cornell (or bus); walk 10-15" Aldi's/GreenStar/downtown, farmer's markets, waterfalls/lake/trails! Rooms for grad students/scholars in quiet home of artist/birder/educator. Non-smoking, clean, fragrance-free home (e.g. no colognes, no perfumed lotions, no detergents like Tide, ...), vegetarian kitchen (no meat/fish, eggs/dairy ok), patio/garden. Preference for LONG-STAYS (prices vary by season). Loaner-bike by reservation. Please read HOUSE RULES to ensure compatibility.

The space

Well maintained 5BR/2BA, owner-occupied, 1890's home under mature maple trees on quiet street. Permaculture garden/patio/sitting porch, bird feeders,.... GUEST ROOM #2 is on second floor with comfy futon bed, strong wifi, desk, large closet. View of surrounding treetops and garden (much bird activity, you may even see deer, raccoon, possum, rabbit, chipmunk, squirrel....). Shower on first floor unless otherwise discussed. Well-maintained 5BR/2BA 1890's home under mature maple trees in quiet family neighborhood. Eco-practices (compost, recycle, cooperative, conserve water/energy, brief showers).

Guest access

• SHORT-STAYS: toaster/microwave/fridge, coffee/tea 24/7
• LONG-STAYS (7+ days): above plus cooking/washer/dryer (one load/week)
• SHARED SPACES: kitchen, dining/living room, garden patio
• Carbon-filtered water, ice-maker
• Shared loaner bike half-day, use at your own risk (24-hour-notice reservation)

Interaction with guests

I like to socialize if we share a connection and there is time, but I know your time may be short and your work-load heavy, so I am fine if we don't socialize too. I am very busy with projects myself; and since I work from home most days, I appreciate it if you save questions for check-in or before or after my work-day starts when possible. Even better, if you could read the detailed orientation book I made for you. Also, please note: this is a home-stay with shared spaces, not a hotel and not a hostel. I am sharing my home with you. So please be extra tidy in shared spaces, ask before borrowing something; and if you break something, please let me know ASAP. Thank you, and I look forward to meeting you!

Other things to note

--Please read House Rules and ask questions to ensure compatibility.
--This is an ecohouse, which means we conserve water, turn lights off when leaving a room, cool house with night air, compost/recycle, wear a sweater and socks when cold.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 2 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 4PM - 11PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Free parking on premise
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

Prices
Cleaning Fee £15
Security Deposit £76
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM

--Vegetarian kitchen (dairy/eggs ok, no meat/fish)
--No eating snacks or food in bedrooms (tea ok)
--No perfumed products (good hygiene and deodorant necessary)
--No visitors dropping by or waiting inside, no quick tours
--No street shoes in house (indoor slippers with tread recommended)
--Quiet hours 9PM-8AM (no cooking/washer/dryer after 9PM)
--Lock main door 24/7, coming and going
--Dry and put dishes away before leaving kitchen
--Keep showers brief (5 minutes), tidy and vent shared bathroom
--Long-stays help with chores and may be asked to sign a lease (fall only)


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

41 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kay User Profile
July 2017
Sandy's house is comfortable and peaceful, with a lovely garden that attracts birds. The house rules work very well to ensure that all of the guests enjoy their stay. Sandy is very interesting, friendly and helpful, but she doesn't intrude if a guest prefers to be alone. This was my second visit, and I felt at home and enjoyed it just as much as the first time.

Dong User Profile
June 2017
Quiet and safe place. 30 mins talk to Cornell Campus. Very close to the Falls
Sandy User ProfileSandy is a superhost.
Response from Sandy:
Most people, and I can do the walk in 25 minutes to Central Campus.
June 2017

Michael User Profile
June 2017
I had a very good experience staying at Sandy's home. In a quiet, but interesting neighborhood of Ithaca, I found the place conveniently located, clean and very well run. I would highly recommend staying here.
Sandy User ProfileSandy is a superhost.
Response from Sandy:
Thanks, Mike, it was nice having you in my home-stay.
June 2017

Shamant User Profile
May 2017
Sandy is super helpful and sweet. Loved it.

Dian User ProfileDian is a superhost.
April 2017
I love staying at Sandy's place. The bed in room two is super comfortable. Many futons I find too hard but this one is just right. And the bathroom upstairs is very cool with hand cut tiles that Sandy made to look like water drops. I like that the place is very environmentally friendly and artsy. Sandy also has clear notes around the house about how she wants things taken care of. This is my third time staying with Sandy and will definitely be back!

Martin User Profile
February 2017
Sandy was a generous host, and very accommodating. Her place is quiet and comfortable, and just a few minutes walk from Ithaca town center. She has taken a good deal of time to pull together information and notes into a little guidebook to help orientate those guests that are new to Ithaca. She even went so far to call the bus company to ask them my easiest route to work!

Julia User ProfileJulia is a superhost.
August 2016
Sandy was a very kind and hospitable host! I was happily surprised to find that she has some food for Airbnb guests that is always available. I found it easy to talk to her and to have interesting conversations together! The room was very cozy, clean and quiet. There was also a lot of information in the room about things to look at in the area and how to get around. I can definitely recommend staying here!

This host has 111 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ithaca, New York, United StatesJoined in July 2011
Sandy User ProfileSandy is a superhost.

Welcome to the EcoHome! My name is Sandy, and I've been hosting international guests since 2009, before Airbnb started! I am a conservation educator, artist, avid birder, and author/originator of the Cayuga Basin Bioregion Map. I work part-time as a substitute teacher and part-time on writing and art projects or in the garden. I grew up in southern California and northern Florida, and I have lived in Ithaca for 25+ years now. I am a world-traveler and made an orientation booklet to make your stay in Ithaca as easy as possible. I look forward to meeting you!

Languages: Deutsch, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings