LoungeDining area


2 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 private bath


2 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 private bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests..


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £4 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 17%

Description

The space

A place hosting many long term guests, LGBTQ Friendly, Your hosts running a charitable institution for a decade to help vulnerable women and children. Delicious food, beautiful home, spacious rooms.

Guest access

Washing machine, iron board, refrigerator, water refill, cooking facilities or and learn how to cook, access to common areas, courtyard, rooftop etc.

Interaction with guests

We are happy to host guests at our home, we wish them to take good memories from Jodhpur. When required we are more than happy to interacting with our guests for informing them about the town, culture, traditions, customs.

The neighbourhood

A quiet and very green suburb of the old town, next to a park, safe parking outside the house, family run place, home cooked food, few different sitting areas in the house (Courtyard, lounge, rooftop), books for exchange, free wireless.
It is very calm and quiet, the greenest quarter of the town and centrally located..

Getting around

Well connected with public transport ( Umaid Bhawan Palace- 2 km, Mehrangarh Fort - 5km, Clock Tower 2km, Old town 1 km, Railway station 2km, Bus station 1 km, Airport 5km)

Other things to note

-We can arrange you to visit the Bishnoi people around the town (Half a day Bishnoi village Cultural Excursion)

-We can arrange you out to our ancestral village of Setrawa in the Thar Desert for an overnight village life excursion

-You are welcome to visit the women and children empowerment programms run by our family through Sambhali Trust


House Rules
Check out by 12PM (noon)

- Help with conservation of electricity and water
- Outside people not allowed for an overnight
- Refill your water bottles from the water filter
- Food not served in the rooms

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

27 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Scott User Profile
March 2017
Govind is great. We only had a quick stopover that had us leaving very early in the morning but really enjoyed meeting him and having a quick chat.

Diana User Profile
March 2017
We stayed 4 nights at Govind and Mukta's guesthouse. The room was just as described with the bathroom attached and everything was clean and comfortable. They even changed our room once the AC broke up (it was new year and no one could come and repair it). We had great dinners and the breakfast and coffee were also good (but not included). Mukta is very kind and helpful. Thank you for having us.

Rakesh User Profile
March 2017
It's away from the bustle and din of the city in a quiet residential neighborhood of jodhpur. Costs about 60-80 rupees to the chandpol gate or the meherangarh by uber. Much better than the auto chaps who are out to fleece the unwary tourist. Govind is helpful and friendly.

Ashish User Profile
March 2017
Lovely, well decorated, and clean place. And a friendly and responsive host. There was a problem which was not because of the host (or others on the property) and Govind Singh was quick to help with resolving it.

Kunal User Profile
February 2017
Awesome is the word for the host and the place. Govind is a very helpful guy and his staff is even more helpful. He has a fantastic place that he has offered to guests and he takes good care of them. His wife even made us breakfast to carry early in the morning the next day we were going to leave. Overall a fantastic place with awesome people. Must stay if you visit Jodhpur. Our friends were visiting us and they decided to stay so he also gave us an additional room at a short notice. P. S. Govinds taste in interiors is just fantastic. He has done up his house in a fabulous way.
Govind Singh User Profile
Response from Govind Singh:
Thank you very much for your stay with us. You are doing this wonderful job of adopting the stray animals and making them part of your family. You are wonderful people.
February 2017

Gary User Profile
January 2017
I stayed here for two nights, Govind and his staff were very friendly from the start . The room was comfortable for my needs and Govind went out of his way to make me feel comfortable. It has a very good and happy atmosphere and only a short ride from the attractions. Can recommend a stay here, Thank you Govind.
Govind Singh User Profile
Response from Govind Singh:
Dear Mr. Pracy, We hope you are well. Thank you very much for your kind message. Feedback is very important to us. It was pleasure to host you at our home for the two nights. We hope to host you again for longer. We wish you all the very best and safe travel back home. Warm Regards Govind
January 2017

Thomas User Profile
January 2017
The room given to us was very different from the picture. Govind upgraded us to a nicer decorated and big room. So we can't really comment on this room because ours was completely different. We had a few issues with the Internet connection which was a little frustrating. The staff is very friendly and respectful. This is definitely a great place to stay, it's well decorated, quiet and the food is very affordable and delicious. On the last day we had a bit of an issue with the bill, they overcharged us rs1200 and that is a lot. We obviously didn't pay that. So my suggestion is to make a note of everything you eat, so no confusion in the end of your stay.
Govind Singh User Profile
Response from Govind Singh:
Hello Thomas and Telma, Thank you very much for your feedback. It is very important for us to hear from our guests, it has always been of great benefit to our hospitality and has given us chance to do even better. I am sure you have seen the picture of the room where you were meant to stay when you reserved with us and the room we offered for your stay. Our policy is that if the nicer room of our home have no reservation then we upgrade it to our guests from Airbnb instd of keeping the room empty. On your stay you might have noticed that the house was full of guests and celebrations happening for the 10th Anniversary of our charity. The dining area staff at our home-stay do all the tabs manually. I am sure my wife Mukta mentioned to you that it was a human error with the additional cost on your manual bill and after you mentioned that you did not eat these meals with us we happily removed them from your invoice. We are sorry that you felt cheated and that you had inconvenience. I hope you enjoyed the upgraded nice, big and beautiful room, the complimentary drinking water, broadband internet (had some technical problems while you were here from the company) transportation service on your arrival and also the laundry washing machine. In the end of our message, we can only wish you both all the best and a pleasant travel in India.
January 2017

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

Jodhpur, India · Joined in April 2012
Govind Singh User Profile

Our household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations.

Our Grand Father built our residence in Jodhpur in 1961. Since 1991 we have been hosting foreign guests in our family.

Grandfathers of my both my families (mum's and dad's side) had been Police and Army officials.

A little about myself, I like to hear real life stories, like to shop, cook, meeting people, hosting guests. I love anything periodic and everything vintage.

I love to hangout with my family and friends. I like meeting new people.

Our family has founded a non-profit charitable organisation helping to empower women and children. The office, base empowerment centre for women and a graduates sewing centre is based within the property.

We can provide you a complimentary picking up service on arrival.

We hope to host you on your stay in Jodhpur..

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour