JJ the giant ginger tom cat says 'Come on in, you're very welcome. Especially if you give me a cuddle!'The 'Guest Pod' from the living area.
Comfortable, cool, funky private double
Comfortable, cool, funky private double


Private room

2 guests

1 Bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

An etched-glass sleep-and-chill pod in an amazing loft apartment in Harlesden, NW London, close to Willesden Junction Station. This is the light-filled,creative space of an artistic polymath and a very stimulating environment for discerning visitors. It also boasts super-fast fibre-optic Wifi. Sadly, JJ the ginger tom cat (see photo) passed away in January 2017, aged 19.

The space

This is the fabulously funky, stylish, relaxed and creative space of a cool, gay artistic polymath in his early 60s who's had an amazing life. A huge space with three sofas for chilling and a large dining table with your host's artworks on the walls. There's also a small dining table in the guest pod for intimate, romantic meals.

Guest access

A wonderfully quirky-yet-cosy, etched-glass sleep-and-chill pod (OK, cool double room), Wifi (super-fast fibre-optic), Shared TV, kitchen, washing machine, fridge, freezer and bathroom. There's also a small fridge and strong box available exclusively for guests.

Interaction with guests

I'm very sociable and happy to cook a two-course (starter and main) dinner for my Airbnb guests for a fixed rate of £10 per person. Bring your own wine!
If that should run out, there's a huge international supermarket open 24/7 around the corner. However, if I'm busy and have some sort of deadline, I'll have to get on with my work in my studio/office in the main living space. Dinner is generally my social time. I don't do breakfast or early mornings. Obviously, I supply a set of keys (2 if necessary) for guests.

Other things to note

I've lived in London since 1973 and know everything there is to know and where to go. I'll give you advice on everything if this is your first visit to this wonderful city - or if you need an update, having been before. Notting Hill, Portobello Road Market, Wembley Stadium, Camden Market, Hampstead, Wimbledon, The West End, Kew Gardens and Richmond are all within easy reach - around 30 minutes from Willesden Junction Station.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11PM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: £10
Security Deposit: £100
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: £45 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

I work at home so I really don't like my concentration to be compromised during the day or early evening. I respectfully ask guests to use headphones if they're listening to music or watching TV/stuff on laptop whilst I'm working. I'm very clean and tidy and ask my guests to be similarly inclined. However, having said that, after dinner is generally time to communally chill and chat with a glass or three of wine. Smoking is only permitted in my jungly outside space - which has two seats and a table - and a 'light seat' (a light that you can sit on!). No pets allowed.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

35 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
James User Profile
June 2017
Fantastic host, very accommodating and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

Adam User Profile
June 2017
Steve is very welcoming and his apartment is really cool!

Maitreyee User Profile
May 2017
Amazing host... Steve helped us immensely in finding right places to visit..would love to come back ...
Steve User ProfileSteve is a superhost.
Response from Steve:
What a lovely couple - you're most welcome. It would be a pleasure to host you again!.
May 2017

Michael User Profile
May 2017
Steve was a fantastic host, he was very communicative from time of booking with helpful tips on how to get there best. On arrival he had even prepared some extra dinner in case I wanted to join him and some friends. I felt very genuinely welcomed and had a great evening. You'll enjoy this airbnb if you are in any way musically or artistic lily inclined. Steve's got a wealth of knowledge and some really cool stories in his repertoire. He's also an avid gardener and cook and managed to create a lovely oasis in the middle of a buzzing suburb. I definitely learned more about different styles of music, recording, composing etc than I've ever known.
Steve User ProfileSteve is a superhost.
Response from Steve:
It was a pleasure to meet you Michael! All the best with the upcoming birth of you and your husband's first child. Thanks for the lovely bottle of Malbec. Love Steve (the artistic lily LOL). X
May 2017

Sara User Profile
December 2016
My partner and I stayed with Steve, Will and JJ for 7 weeks while we got our footing in London. Our stay was excellent. Steve and Will are wonderfully friendly and helpful, and JJ is a lovely cat. The apartment looks amazing (the pictures very much do it justice) and is very well located for food and trains to central London. Steve himself is a bright, creative polymath, an excellent cook and a pun factory (the kind you groan at but secretly love to bits). I would recommend a stay here a thousand times over. Thanks so much Steve, 'till we next meet again!
Steve User ProfileSteve is a superhost.
Response from Steve:
Thanks you so much Sara - looking forward to hooking up for dinner soon! X
December 2016

Misha User Profile
August 2016
Very pleasant stay. Great location, easily getting to the right places in different parts of the city. On the first day Steve showed shops and cafes (Personally, this very nice). Sometimes not so easy to find a good shop and cafe nearby, here it's all there. For me it was an important moment. Especially this street may like to fans of vegetarianism, a very large variety of, more than meat assortment). For myself, allocated 3 things: 1. Convenient location. 2. Comfortable room. 3. Quiet street and good sleep. Steve very friendly and helped with all my questions. Despite the fact that I do not speak English, it was not a problem. 5/5. I'm enjoyed stay. This location and room - is excellent, after my long walks :). Thank you Steve.
Steve User ProfileSteve is a superhost.
Response from Steve:
Many thanks Misha - it was a pleasure to host you.
August 2016

Kris User Profile
August 2016
Steve is a wonderful host and his apartment is lovely. Harlesden is a vibrant neighborhood not far from central London. I stayed with Steve for an entire month which I was nervous about, but he's very easy to get along with and is very queer friendly! I look forward to staying there again!
Steve User ProfileSteve is a superhost.
Response from Steve:
It was a pleasure Kris, hope to see you again one day!
August 2016

London, United Kingdom · Joined in November 2014
Steve User ProfileSteve is a superhost.

I've a creative polymath in my early 60s. I live in an amazing, massive loft-style apartment in Harlesden, NW London, which is a culturally diverse area about half an hour from Central London, by Tube (Underground).
My comfortable, well-appointed, funky apartment is a five-minute walk from Willesden Junction Station, which is a fantastic transport hub. I have a very friendly cat, JJ, who is an enormous ginger tom.
Apart from my work, I'm a wannabe interior designer, which the apartment is testament to. I'm also love cooking. I'm a night-person and don't do early mornings unless absolutely necessary. I've had an amazing life, having been a rock star, a pop star, a club promoter and celebrity party organiser and a freelance journalist. So there are plenty of stories to share over a glass or three of wine.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.