Sitting roomWood burning stove in the living room
Lovely rural retreat near Wells in Somerset
Lovely rural retreat near Wells in Somerset


Private room

4 guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

4 guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Pretty, spacious cottage on the edge of a village three miles from Wells. Built mid 1800s, renovated three years ago. One en-suite double room and a second double with bathroom next door. Located at the foot of the Mendips (an area of outstanding natural beauty), in front of the Somerset Levels. Close to Glastonbury, Bath and Bristol. Perfect if you like big skies, owls hooting at night and lambs baa-ing. Bring bicycles for wonderful cycling across the Somerset Levels. Lived in by me + two cats.

The space

I have a spacious room with a queen-sized double bed and en suite bathroom. The room is big enough to accommodate a child or even two on a mattress on the floor if necessary. I have a second spacious room with a double bed, with bathroom next door. I also sometimes have a second, very small single bedroom available. The rest of the house is spacious, full of character and peaceful. You are welcome to use the sitting room or the garden.

The cottage: Originally built in the mid-1800s, the cottage was fully renovated three years ago so has all the comfort of modern living while retaining 2ft thick walls and a pretty, cottagy feel.

Downstairs, oriental rugs cover wooden or flagstone floors and colourful paintings and mementoes from my travels in Asia and Africa hang on the walls. There's a wood burning stove in the sitting room for chilly days and a light and airy sun room for reading or basking in the sun's warmth. The dining room (which also has a stove) opens to the large well equipped kitchen. There's also a downstairs loo.

I have a lodger (Conner, a pharmacist) and two cats although you probably won't see much of any of them. Re the cats, I have wooden floors throughout, so even my allergic brother is happy to visit me here.

Outside, there's a small garden and a patio area with table and chairs and hammock stand. You are welcome to borrow my BBQ if you clean it afterwards.

I offer a light breakfast: cereals, organic milk, fruit, orange juice, toast from artisan bread and free-range eggs from the smallholder down the road.

I love living here, with the Mendips at my back and the Somerset Levels stretching out in front. The owls hoot at night, wood pigeons coo in the mornings, and in the early evenings in summer, ewes call their lambs to sleep.

Guest access

The cottage, patio and the garden.

Interaction with guests

I'm happy to be available to offer recommendations for things to do or to respect your privacy.

Other things to note

There is a small but good children's play area at the bottom of the lane. Parents of small children, please note that my garden is open to the lane and farm vehicles use this track.


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 2.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 5PM - 7PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £25 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: £10
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 5PM - 7PM

No smoking and no pets, I'm afraid, as I have two cats. And please don't invite people back to my house without asking me first.

I work part-time in Bristol so booking in is generally after 5pm and departure by 10am, please, unless we've arranged differently.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card

Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

23 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ray User Profile
May 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at Susie. It was Pauline's first airbnb stay and it could not have been a better experience. We both cannot praise enough the facilities and especially the hospitality extended to us by Susie. You would have to go far to get a better experience. Many thanks Susie and all the best.

Andrew User Profile
August 2016
A pleasant helpful host who made our first stay in an air b and b a very relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful house and surroundings . Beautiful breakfast with fresh eggs from the local chickens down the road. Susies lodger was also very lovely and chatty and made us feel welcome . Thank you once again for an amazing stay . Would love to stay again sometime xx

Ruedi User Profile
August 2016
We had a great stay with Susie. On arrival she offered us a cup of tea which was very much appreciated. Lovely room and on suit. Very quiet location, but lots to see and do in nearby Wells. We would love to come back on our next visit. Thanks Susie

Edward User Profile
August 2016
My wife Rachel and I were spoiled rotten by Susie's kindness. From the word go we were made to feel very much at home. Susie's house was ideal for our needs and exactly as described. It is a stone's throw from the delightful city of Wells, but it was probably one of the quietest homes we have ever stayed in. Our visit passed all too quickly. Just perfect.

Nicola User Profile
June 2016
I had a lovely stay - double room with ensuite was great. Susie was a very helpful and welcoming host. Inclusion of breakfast was appreciated. Plus the area is fab - did a great walk through Ebbor Gorge, a run round the country lanes, visited Wells which is stunning and the pub at Westbury-sub-Mendip did a great fish and chips. I'd highly recommend.

Jenny User Profile
May 2016
Susie was a great host, she was very friendly, welcoming and relaxed and the breakfast provided each morning made a lovely start to the day. The house itself is lovely and is in a beautiful little village. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area.

Lihini User Profile
May 2016
Susie quickly made us feel at home. The room was comfortable and pleasant. We were free to have tea/coffee as we pleased. The Moorlands is only a five minute drive to Wells and also close to Glastonbury. It is a peaceful area and we felt well rested.

Easton, United Kingdom · Joined in December 2014
Susie User Profile

I'm a freelance journalist, writer and charity worker. When not doing good works, I enjoy sea kayaking, walking, gardening, red wine and reading, not necessarily in that order.

I also love travel and exploring other cultures. I was born in Malawi, lived in a mud hut in The Sudan teaching English for a year, spent six years as a journalist in Hong Kong, and have visited about 45 countries, mainly in Africa and Asia and usually on a tight budget.

One of favourite quotes is from the anthropologist Margaret Mead: "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." It's the motto I live by.

That said, I'm pretty easy going and relaxed and like nothing better than to get my hammock out in the garden on sunny days.

Response rate: 80%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.