Futon and tableSeating area
CanadaOntarioKingston
Private, fully equipped 1 BR Apt

Entire home/flat

4 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds
CanadaOntarioKingston
Private, fully equipped 1 BR Apt


Entire home/flat

4 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Entire home/flat

4 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
116 travellers saved this place

About this listing

Conveniently located one bedroom apartment with separate entrance in a sought-after neighborhood in central Kingston. Fully equipped kitchen. Backyard seating area with BBQ and gardens. Laundry and WiFi internet included. 24 hour check in.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/flat
Self check-in: Keypad

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: £6 / night after 2 guests
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The space

Fully furnished one bedroom, one bathroom private basement apartment with separate entrance. In addition to a queen bed in the bedroom, there is a futon (double) in the living room and an inflatable queen bed. Extra sheets, pillows, towels, a duvet, and blankets are available. Hair dryer as well as iron and ironing board are provided along with shampoo, conditioner, and a basket of hotel amenities such as soaps, toothpaste, etc.

The kitchen is fully equipped. This includes utensils, glasses, mugs, dishes, pots and pan, kettle, coffee maker, tea pot, Keurig, etc. There is always a selection of teas and coffees and basic breakfast foods: oatmeal, cereal, jam, peanut butter, milk, bread (often frozen), etc. The cupboard is stocked with food: salt, pepper, olive oil, pasta and sauce, soups, etc. We recommend taking a trip to the Giant Tiger grocery store two minutes away for perishables (such as dairy and eggs).

Guest access

Unlimited access to washer and dryer with complimentary laundry detergent. Fiber optic WIFI internet included!

While there is no TV, we have fast fiber optic WiFi and we can provide a Netflix account login if you don't already have one. There is a piano in the apartment and a good selection of board games, foot bath with salts!, paints, and toys in the common area for you to enjoy.

The backyard has a propane BBQ grill and herb and flower gardens which are available for your enjoyment. Cushions for the outback patio chairs are located in the laundry room common area outside the apartment. Please use the herbs in the garden for your cooking.

Interaction with guests

Interaction is usually minimal. You will be given a unique pin for a electronic keypad on the morning of your arrival that controls access to the apartment. This means you can arrive anytime and can come and go as you wish at any time. Due to this, I often don't get a chance to meet many of the quests unless I happen to see then if we are coming or going at the same time. That said, I am always near by, quick to respond, and appreciate meeting you.

The neighbourhood

This is a sought after neighborhood, south of Princess street, in central Kingston. The downtown waterfront by city hall is a 30 minutes walk, 15 min bus, or five minute drive. The apartment is close to Queen's University (20 minutes walk), but is out of the student ghetto. The apartment is located in a quiet residential neighborhood.

The apartment is conveniently located close to amenities including groceries, the LCBO and beer store. There is a Giant Tiger grocery store (very inexpensive) and an excellent diner (Star Diner) across the street (both are a 2 minute walk), and large shopping center with a Loblaws (more expensive but extensive) 10 minute walk.

Getting around

5 min drive to city hall and the waterfront. For those without a car, it is fastest to get around with public transit. There are several bus routes within a few blocks. Bus 12 is very reliable and runs every half hour in front of the house (Regent and Dunlop stop) and will take you downtown (at 17 or 47 min past, via Queen's University, City hall, and CFB Kingston) or 7 or 37 min past to the Kingston center (food and shops and the main transfer for all buses). Transit maps with schedules are provided in the apartment.

Other things to note

Free street parking available. You can park directly in front of the house anytime on the weekends but not Monday to Friday from 10-11am and 2-3 pm. There is free parking anytime on the street around the corner. A map on the fridge shows all available parking spots close by. During the winter (Dec-March), the city prohibits street parking between 1-7am in all of Kingston. In this case, we coordinate parking in the driveway.

The floor between the apartment and upstairs has sound proofing. That said, there is often dull noise from foot traffic, 7am to 7pm ish. We provide ear plugs if you sleep in past 7am.

While the apartment can host up to four people there, it is most comfortable if only two beds are used (queen bed plus the futon or air mattress). Hence it is best for groups of three or four where people are sharing one or both of the beds.

The bedroom is large and has a closet and dresser with a queen bed. For larger parties, the futon is most comfortable but is a bit short so persons over 5'10" may prefer the blow-up mattress. The queen blow-up mattress can be used with the futon and queen bed (for three beds in total). Feel free to move the coffee table to the common area if you want extra floor space.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is after 2PM

A reasonable level of noise after 10 pm. Children 12 and under are free. Before you leave please ensure that dishes and furniture are where they were when you came. This is a smoke free and pet free house to respect those with allergies.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
6 nights minimum stay

61 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kingston, Canada · Joined in June 2014
Stephen User Profile

I get a travel and gardening bug every spring. I enjoy horticulture, meditation, hiking, nature, life. I am a certified Yoga teacher and have my advanced open water scuba diving certification. I enjoy trying new foods, and cooking. I do not drink, but love to go out. I love to learn, and hope to meet people like you.

I hosted and surfed many times using couchsurfing while I was living in Europe. My wife Julia, daughter Joanna and I are currently in Kingston while I complete a PhD in economics (expected 2018). We rented our apartment to Queen's graduate students for a few years, but now host on Airbnb for flexibility since we have family that visits for a week every month. We hope you stay with us in our cozy apartment.

Response rate: 86%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet