Honeymoon suite w/LunaLiving Room
Honeymoon Suite in James Bond House


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Ideal for first and last night stays is a James Bond style house with 4 bedrooms. 20 minutes from the Int Airport we can provide transport, food and a laundry service. Honeymoon suit has a double bed with an en-suit bathroom.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge

Description

The space

This is a 70s James Bond style open-plan designed mountain-top house with impressive panoramic views over the whole Central Valley from east to west including downtown San Jose, the National Stadium, the International Airport etc. You can see almost everything in the Central Valley and are perched high above the rest of San Jose on top of the world in a very quiet, private and exclusive setting. This is one of the best views and even better at night, simply stunning.

Guest access

There are two living areas on different levels, both with interesting bronze chimney stack features with gas fired fireplaces. The kitchen in the heart of the house also enjoys the impressive views and is surrounded by landscaped gardens. This combination creates a great atmosphere and a unique style which many have likened to a 70's James Bond style house, so it i is ideas an ideal place to recover from your flight and relax with plenty of space. We have a a music center and speakers throughout the house from where you can play your own music.

We have an area which can be converted into a private cinema as we have a projector and giant 150" screen, excellent for watching films or sporting events. Or this area can be used as a dancing area or even to put on a show.
There is a large terrace and balcony with a hot-tub( when the booking is for just one room we reserve the right to make an additional charge of $15 for the use of the Hottub) and exuberant gardens to enjoy during the day or in the evening, enjoy hanging out and eating and drinking outside, whilst watching the rest of the San Jose Central Valley down below. We also have the relaxing company of Luna, a beautiful, calm and affectionate Harlequin Great Dane who lives at the house and welcomes all new guests.

The neighbourhood

Vibrant and packed with Victorian mansions, Costa Rica's rowdy, bustling capital was built on the profits of the coffee trade and working "golden bean" plantations still surround the city. Try freshly roasted local beans at Mercado Central. For shinier gold, visit the Museo del Oro. Many renovated landmarks now house stylish hotels. Usually viewed as a hub, rather than a destination, nightlife is concentrated in Spanish village-inspired El Pueblo. Don't miss the elegant 1897 National Theater.

Getting around

The official addressing system in Costa Rica is slightly different then many countries. (no street names and door numbers). It is a good idea to have a map and/or GPS with you. We can send you address / GPS co-ordinates upon confirmation of your booking.


House Rules

Actually they are not house rules but small reminders, the same as in your home. Turning off the lights and locking up before going to sleep. For your security and maintenance of the house, there is a permanent member of staff in an outside garden room.
If guests have not chosen a food option during their stay, the kitchen may be unoccupied and it is the responsibility of the guests who use the kitchen to do their best to keep it clean and make their own coffee etc. if there is no coffee or tea, please kindly inform the staff.
The fridge is for shared use and we request the same observation as the rest of the kitchen in order to maintain cleanliness.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Availability
1 night minimum stay

7 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jane User Profile
April 2016
Jonathan was such a pleasure to work with. His response time was phenomenal, recommendations were the best (he really gave us ideas/set us up with all the right people to enjoy an authentic Costa Rican experience) - which is what we were truly looking for. He set us up with contacts who took us on activities that more authentic and less commercialized/touristy. This place was great - we only stayed one night, so having just the room was perfect, but the view was incredible. Jonathan was there to make us breakfast in the morning which was way better than a restaurant brunch! Additionally LuLu, the house dog, is very cute calm and friendly!

Amy User Profile
January 2016
We struggled to find the James Bond house. Which we were told was difficult. But after a long day of travel we were just looking for a comfortable place to stay. Upon arriving the place was not well lit and very dark. Felt univiting. And almost like we were walking up and not sure what to do. Jonathan greeted us and was friendly, offered us beer or tea then showed us the honeymoon sweet. It was also dimly lit, and felt a little secluded for us. We were looking for more of a quick nice place to stay before a long travel day back to the states. This was not it. It was much further away from the airport than expected. Also the pictures showed a hot tub which we found out upon arrival that it was not up and running. Minor disappointment. Overall the experience was not what I expected. But the host was still friendly. As a traveler, I wouldn't recommend staying here as its not close to much.
Jonathan User Profile
Response from Jonathan:
Thanks for your review... Many people underestimate planning their route to the house and dont even use a map...the first step is to get to Bello Horizonte ,just east of Escazu...Sorry about the lighting but you can turn on more lights... Re the Hot Tub we do not heat the tub ready it is on request and also when just renting one room we do make a charge as it is expensive to run and a bit slow to heat up... to get to the Airport in the morning early it takes about 15 minutes when not much traffic..
January 2016

Christy User Profile
January 2016
We had a wonderful stay in Jonathan's James Bond style honeymoon suit. The house and view of San Jose from the mountains was amazing! Jonathan was extremely helpful as we did not have phone service in Costa Rica. He set us up with a taxi driver that picked us up from the San Jose bus station and took us to his place. Jonathan offered us a beer when we walked in along with snacks and breakfast with coffee in the morning. We had an amazing time and highly recommend seeing the view from his house.

Kate User Profile
December 2015
Meeting Jonathan and staying in the Honeymoon suite was a true pleasure. If you would like a romantic place to stay with an absolutely incredible view, elegant and extensive decor, and friendly hosts (Johnathan and his amazing Harlequin Great Dane, Luna). I felt like a queen staying in the suite. We had our own living room with a fireplace and access to the porch where there is a hot tub. The kitchen is gorgeous and a blast to cook in. We spent the night watching Nature movies in the Cinema, which was a great capper to a great day. The facilities were clean, organized, and welcoming and the honeymoon suite is incredibly spacious. We will definitely be reaching out to Jonathan again!!!

Martin User ProfileMartin is a superhost.
October 2015
Large and confortable suite. Jonathan gave us many advise for our trip in costa Rica!

Vincent User Profile
June 2015
A really nice room with a really nice host, we realy enjoy our stays even if it was short ! Thanks

Brandon User Profile
January 2015
My fiancé and I stayed at two of Jonathan's properties on a recent trip to Costa Rica. Both were a great experience and unique in their own way. We started at the Princess de Luna ecolodge and enjoyed our evening there. The grounds were beautiful and the room was clean and tidy. The staff were pleasant and they had coffee ready for us in the morning. Best part was the sound of the rain storm and wildlife overnight and morning coffee on the deck overlooking the jungle. The place was large and looks like it could accommodate a big group. 4x4 required to access the lodge up a dirt road and the GPS coordinates and directions Jonathan gave me were accurate and easy to follow. The location was great and 15 minutes from La Fortuna and the hot springs and other Arenal area attractions. On our last night in country we stayed at the James Bond House. We arrived weary after a long drive from the coast later than expected and were greeted warmly by Jonathan with a fresh cup of coffee. The views were great from the house and the room was nice and clean. It was a great place to rest up before an early flight. Drive to the airport took about 20 minutes. Jonathan was a great host and I would recommend both places to visitors in those areas of Costa Rica. I would certainly stay with him again.

This host has 472 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Escazu, Costa Rica · Joined in May 2014
Jonathan User Profile

I left England when was 18 and hitch-hiked through Europe,Africa to India overland which was a life forming experience,. I left with about $100 and returned 2 yrs later ..I had little money I stayed with local people ,or hostels or slept rough whatever I needed to do. Later as a professional investment consultant I have lived in Hotels throughout Latin America for nearly 20 years. I can tell you the best way to travel is not always in Hotels ...experience living and sharing with the local way of life ,with real people it is a far richer more rewarding experience. I believe in the concept of integrated tourism this is what we offer it is a much better way to travel ...

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.