Queen-sized double bed with large window to let in lots of natural light. Dwarf fruit trees in our backyard
Budget-friendly double room w/ wifi

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Great northside location. Bedroom with double bed, high ceilings in older character-filled home. Free wifi. Very close to public transport & nearest supermarket. Good coffee just a few blocks away. Two friendly miniature dachshunds. Great budget option if you are tired of hostel accommodation. Please note we do not provide additional storage: the room is set up for one or a couple of tourists/travellers, with 1 suitcase or two. If you have a carload of stuff please book elsewhere.

The space

PRICE OF ROOM CURRENTLY REDUCED AS I AM USING IT FOR STORAGE FOR MY FASHION LABEL AND WILL REQUIRE SOME (LIMITED) ACCESS DURING YOUR STAY.

Our home is a long, narrow, older-style house, it was built in 1920, with double brick plastered walls and high ceilings. Close to three trams, a supermarket, train station and bus stop.

Your guest room contains a comfortable queen-sized double bed, with free wifi included.

PLEASE NOTE that we only offer the *one* guest room in our home, available to one booking at a time, so you will not be staying in a house with any other guests! We get this particular inquiry often, I'm assuming it happens a bit out there in Airbnb land, so hopefully this makes if very clear. You will be sharing our home with us as we go about our normal lives.
This, in case it is unclear, does mean exactly that: we very much enjoy having laid-back guests in our home, but we will continue to go about life as normal while you are here. This is not a 5-star hotel, it is our home. We love it here and we hope you do too.
Our home is a character-filled old house with wooden floors in the shared areas, carpet in bedrooms, and central heating.
Our lovely sunny backyard has a herb garden, BBQ, outdoor setting & outdoor firepit. We love sitting on the back deck enjoying the sunshine to eat breakfast and our evening meals, and encourage you to do the same.
The kitchen has every appliance you could imagine! At your request, we can make some space available in the kitchen fridge if you wish, and you are welcome to use the crockery, cutlery & all kitchen appliances.

Our home is located on the Brunswick/Coburg border, close to both Lygon St & Sydney Rd. The nearest tram stop is an easy 3 min stroll from the door (both the No 6 / No 1 trams). We are a 15 minute drive to city, or 30 min on tram.

The East Brunswick Project, which serves some of the best coffee in Melbourne, is two stops away on our tram line (or a leisurely 15min morning stroll if you prefer to walk), straight down Lygon Street. Moreland Train Station also within walking distance. Unrestricted on-street parking is available directly in front of the house.

We have a nice relaxing fishtank which is great to just sit & watch, plus two small, quiet but friendly dogs (miniature dachshunds: Molly and Spike). Please note that the dogs are not allowed in the bedrooms, even though Molly will try to convince you otherwise!

If you are a smoker, we request that all smoking is done outside (ashtrays are provided outside the back door).
We are very happy to offer a safe & welcoming space to members of the LGBTQ+ community.

Guest access

Guests have access to most rooms in the house, including the shared bathroom, laundry, toilet & kitchen. Every room in the house, in fact, except for my home office, and our bedroom. You are welcome to make yourselves at home! During the warmer months we enjoy dining and relaxing on the back deck, enjoying the sun. You are most welcome to do the same.

Interaction with guests

It is up to you how much interaction you have with us. Some guests like to retreat to the privacy of their room, or spend all their time out and about exploring Melbourne. Other guests like to spend time chatting around the kitchen table with us. Either is welcome, however please keep in mind that as I work from home, a lot of the time I do need to actually get work done rather than socialise.

Other things to note

Sometimes I must admit to being very absorbed in my work which can mean I stay up very late working in the home office, however I am very quiet when I do this!
It can also mean that sometimes if I am absorbed in planning a photoshoot or some such thing, the house is not tidied for a couple of days.
If neither of these things would bother you then I am sure you will enjoy staying with us.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Host greets you

Amenities

Prices
Extra people £6 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price £22 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

No smoking indoors.
No extra pets, please (two dogs and some fish is quite enough).
If you use the kitchen, please clean up after yourself.
You are welcome to use the washing machine but please do ask first.
The bathroom is a shared facility - please leave it in the same state you found it.
Please remember to close & lock your window and the front door when going out. Our security depends on you!
Please show consideration with regards to noise eg loud talking/music/tv/slamming doors/etc early in the morning (before 8am) and late at night (after 10pm). Please don't turn on the central heating without asking first.
If you wish to eat in your room, feel free to do so, but please clean up after yourselves. Leaving food & crumbs on shelves and grease in the bed is not the way for a preferred guest to behave, and encourages pests.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

161 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Filip User Profile
September 2017
I had a wonderful stay at Airdrie. She and her husband are really kind and helpful people. The room and the house was really nice, cozy and clean. Would definitely stay again!

Anna User Profile
July 2017
Airdrie is a lovely host making rather tired traveler very welcome. She is full of information and good ideas. Her place is very well positioned for transport and with no difficulties for car parking. Shops, cafes and restaurant within walking distance.

Cecilia User Profile
June 2017
Audrie and partner were polite and quiet people. Place was clean and shared areas never became crowded. A bit cold in the winter time but there is some central heating

Kenneth User Profile
May 2017
Airdrie's place was exactly as described. It had a nice large double room with easy transport options to the city. Communication with Airdrie was always prompt and quick. I would certainly stay there again.

Tayler User Profile
May 2017
Had a great time here! Didn't see much of Airdrie or husband (my own choice) but they seemed very friendly and helpful when I did speak to them. Their dogs are precious, good value for Melbourne. Really wasn't fond of the neighbourhood though (no fault of theirs) and there are more interesting locations to stay in for sure south of the city. Overall would recommend as long as you plan to head to the city everyday (or the Coburg lake park, beautiful and nearby!)

Nilanjan User Profile
May 2017
Nice suburban location. I easily got to and from the city using trams. I also managed to visit a Kmart using trams. There seem to be many ethnic restaurants closeby (I did not have the chance to try them). The room is comfortable. Bathrooms are clean. No hassle access to the house. Airdrie seems quite accommodating. I appreciate that Airdrie agreed to change my reservation close to arriving. Good communication before arriving. Although I left early for a event, she checked later if I needed anything. House has pets which are very well behaved and almost invisible. As mentioned in the description, don't bring large luggage. Overall, nice location to explore Melbourne.

Yi User Profile
May 2017
Comfortable room and bed, great privacy. Dogs were friendly and cute. A little distance to the city centre but easy to get to.

Melbourne, AustraliaJoined in May 2012
Airdrie User Profile

Hey there! I'm a creative, fun-loving, travel-loving, cocktail-drinking, chocolate-eating person. My husband Mick and I love to travel. And when we are not travelling ourselves, we love hosting other travellers in our home. We are pretty independent people, and are happy to leave you alone if you are too - but also very happy to share our expertise if there's anything you would like to know. I'm very often at home, and always available to share all our tips & tricks for getting the very best out of your visit to Melbourne.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings